Page 9 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7891011 LastLast
Results 121 to 135 of 156
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #121
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    What are your contrast & brightness settings?
    Can you try with contrast 70 & 51 brightness?

  2. #122
    New Member
    Points: 1,083, Level: 8
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 67
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    10
    Points
    1,083
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have the philips 46PFL8606 Led tv:

    I'm very satisfied about the image quality of the tv, such as colour/contrast/response time/...

    There is only 1 issue (already mentioned in this topic):
    - Flashing backlight or large areas are lit on top or at the bottom area of the screen

    I hope Philips will find a solution for this via a firmware upgrade

  3. #123
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,734, Level: 11
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 116
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    49
    Points
    1,734
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Yes, the flash of the backlight is a big problem. One could assume that there exists a fault of the HDMI software! But I have even been tested new cable and other source devices that ruled out an error, the lightning bug occurs again and again. It is very bad!

    @ Petasis

    My attitude is the backlight Contrast 45, Brightness 50, Contrast Video 90, Localdimming standard
    Other settings are too bright and too exaggerated!

    (Google Translator)

  4. #124
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Do the 2011 have two contrast settings?
    Despite that may be too bright, if you try it, do you still get the patterns in the white square?
    If you try various contrast settings, is there a minimal value after which they disappear?

  5. #125
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,734, Level: 11
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 116
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    49
    Points
    1,734
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I've tried several settings and factory setting, the pattern always comes when the Localdimming on. It does not matter whether I play External, or via USB or WiFi. The pattern is common in movies when the image is dark.

    (Google Translator)

  6. #126
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,734, Level: 11
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 116
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    49
    Points
    1,734
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have again tested different settings, tried all sorts of menu items in different strengths. No change will prevent the occurrence of the pattern in a certain weak brightness.
    Only the change of attitude Localdimming "best picture" darkens the test image so far, which one perceives not the pattern!
    For example, in Bluray movie Green Lantern at the end before the credits roll, one also sees the pattern shortly. I captured a still image of the Bluray with my camera, the moment where the pattern is seen briefly. The photo is a long exposure, so it looks very bright in reality it is quite dark and the moment. The standard setting is Localdimming but in this photo.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSCN0053.JPG 
Views:	203 
Size:	74.4 KB 
ID:	671

  7. #127
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,734, Level: 11
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 116
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    49
    Points
    1,734
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The same point in the film with Localdimming off and best picture.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Localdimming Best Picture.JPG 
Views:	127 
Size:	163.4 KB 
ID:	672Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Localdimming OFF.JPG 
Views:	174 
Size:	192.0 KB 
ID:	673

  8. #128
    Bronze Member
    Points: 938, Level: 7
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 12
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    32
    Points
    938
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Issue reported by lesnumeriques's lab when reproducing 3D images. The article is about how bad Samsung 6xxx series does it, but the 9706 is also tested and the result is not good.
    http://www.digitalversus.com/tv-tele...eed-a1467.html
    Obviously a software problem.

    ... and knowing the great fame of lesnumeriques in France, this problem will be read by hundreds of thousands of people.
    Philips should be quick on this one!
    Last edited by nnay07; 12-05-2011 at 07:45 PM.

  9. #129
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,031, Level: 8
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 119
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    50
    Points
    1,031
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Could someone from Philips please explain why it is taking so long to fix a rather big issue? Please give us version 0.79 to download, revert back to a firmware that has bugs, but not the one thats disabling the most essential part of the TV that is displaying picture! Without turning off by itself.

    Someone from Philips commented that they were investigating the issue, I think they are just letting us know they are working on it. But I assume, actually I know for sure, they have no idea where to look. How else can you explain the delay of such an important release. Last update was from 19 oct? It is more than one month ago.

    How hard can it be to fix a rebooting TV? Or it is an hardware issue that they want to cover up with firmware patches so they won't have to replace hardware. That'll be more expensive.

    Please update us with the progress. We all paid a lot of money for the 8000 and 9000 series. It is not the cheapest Tv out there. Or give a beta out? Do something...

  10. #130
    Moderator
    Points: 16,862, Level: 39
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 388
    Overall activity: 99.8%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,703
    Points
    16,862
    Level
    39
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 36 Times in 33 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Guys

    Someone from Philips commented that they were investigating the issue, I think they are just letting us know they are working on it.
    True, we did inform you that we are working on it, would it be better for you if we don't?....

    actually I know for sure, they have no idea where to look
    Like this Text applies, you must be an Philips Firmware Engineer, so maybe you can share some more insides with all of us?

    To all of you:
    Yes we do know about those Issues and like we already stated, we are working on it.
    Sure we all would be happier if that we go much faster but as a matter of facts, it does not go that fast we all wish...

    So all we can do is to be patient. We will share the Solution as soon as it is there.

    Regards
    Thomas

  11. #131
    DerShortyy
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Ronny0712 View Post
    Dear Support

    I have problem with the 46PFL9706K/02
    I have installed the newest firmware.
    I have tested a hardware reset but the problems are still on

    Problem:
    TV shut down without my Action , 1 times on a Day.

    This is already my second device.
    Other user have the same problem

    It is not acceptable for a device in the premium class.

    Please fix this problem!

    Sincerely
    Ronny0712
    I can confirm this behaviour. Same device. The automatic shut down option in the menu ist turned to "off".
    Started watching TV yesterday at 18.24pm the TV switched off without my action at 20.24 pm

    Is this issue under investigation?

  12. #132
    DerShortyy
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by matthias View Post
    All in all a nice release, but I have problems with occasional reboots.
    Shortly before that, the handling feels jumpy, as if the was a task going crazy.
    @Philips: Don't know if this helps? Is there anything else to help debugging?

    Problem is, there's no straight way to reproduce this - just playing around with HbbTV, NetTV and just switching channels.

    Matthias
    I can confirm this behaviour. 46pfl9706/k02. SW 14.84. NET TV seems to work fine, but when watching TV and playing with HBBTV there are occasional reboots...

  13. #133
    Moderator
    Points: 77,330, Level: 86
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 1,020
    Overall activity: 47.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    810
    Points
    77,330
    Level
    86
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Thumbs up

    Dear Customer,

    Philips is currently running a pilot with an exiting new service tool called "Remote Service". It will give us the opportunity to diagnose, and often even fix, certain TV model issues at the customers' home via telephone call and internet. This means no more hassle for you to bring a TV to the workshop to get it fixed: just a call to a dedicated call agent, and the TV will be fixed remotely! (*)

    To further test this, we would like to invite all forum visitors that experience the following symptom: “TV starts up with sound and Ambilight, but sometimes WITHOUT picture (v14.84 only)”.

    TV sets that can apply for this Remote Service fix, must match the following conditions:
    • TV must be connected to the internet (Net TV must function),
    • TV must have software version 14.84 installed (check e.g. via "123654" on your remote control),
    • Model number of the TV must match "xxPFLxxx6x/xx" (from 6000 series upwards).

    If your TV matches these conditions, we offer a Remote Service solution in Dutch and English via a call back action (no chat).
    To register for this call back action, please go to the web form (click here for Dutch or here for English), click away chat pop-up window (if opened), and fill in all details as requested:
    1. Product details: Enter your model number, date of purchase, and serial number.
    2. Your question / comment: Enter the words REMOTE SERVICE CALL BACK here in the comments box.
    3. Personal Information: Fill in as completely as possible and check that the correct country is selected.
    4. Call back information: Leave your phone number and country code, and fill in your preferred call back time.
    After sending the form, we will take action to call you back at the time you have indicated.

    Notes:
    • It is important to have access to your TV during the call back.
    • As stated, this call back action will only be in Dutch or English. Other languages are currently not supported.
    • Opening hours of the call center are: Monday - Friday 08:00 - 20:00, Saturday 09:00 - 18:00
    • (*) Not in all cases an issue can be fixed remotely, but the remote diagnosing possibility gives a Service technician a good starting point for a sufficient repair.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Consumer Care
    Last edited by Philips; 12-07-2011 at 11:02 AM. Reason: Added some extra info.
    Forum Mod

  14. #134
    New Member
    Points: 805, Level: 7
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 145
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    4
    Points
    805
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have the philips 46PFL8606 Led TV. I got the tv on the 25th of november and upgraded the firmware because net tv was not working. After upgrading I had a problem that the tv would not show a screen. I only had sound and ambilight working but no picture. It dit not matter if I reset the tv or did a cold start. The servicedesk of philips tried to update my firmware remotely but that didn't work. Finally they send a repair man but with the software he had, he could not fix it. Even wors, after trying to fix it according the standard procedures the tv would not pass the philips logo. The tv was now unusable, so the repair man took it with him to repair in the shop. It should be fixed now and they will return my tv next friday. So I hope for the best.

  15. #135
    New Member
    Points: 807, Level: 7
    Level completed: 29%, Points required for next Level: 143
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Uhta/Russia
    Posts
    1
    Points
    807
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Exclamation symptom

    Quote Originally Posted by Philips View Post
    ...following symptom: “TV starts up with sound and Ambilight, but sometimes WITHOUT picture (v14.84 only)”...
    Yes...

    My config:
    Dreambox DM800 HD se
    ----------HDMI----------
    ONKYO TX-SR606
    ----------HDMI----------
    46PFL8606H/60


    I think it is related to the connected equipment ... I hope to help.

Page 9 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7891011 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Replies: 23
    Last Post: 10-20-2011, 07:26 AM
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-12-2011, 10:37 AM
  3. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-10-2011, 07:13 AM
  4. Replies: 124
    Last Post: 02-27-2011, 02:18 PM
  5. Replies: 68
    Last Post: 01-06-2011, 07:04 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •