Page 6 of 11 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
Results 76 to 90 of 156
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #76
    New Member
    Points: 821, Level: 7
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 129
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    8
    Points
    821
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi

    we do support up to 1920x1080 on the VGA Input.
    However, when it comes to external Devices and 3D, HDMI is a must.
    No VGA, no Component.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Its a sorry that 3D dont work on VGA or component connections (only 2D->3D conversion its avaliable).
    Using DLNA,USB or HDMI connections all 3D modes are avaliable.

    I know that Philips firmwares are based on open source gnu licenses, its possible to get the source code of the firmware? do you know something about it Thomas?

    Very thanks

  2. #77
    New Member
    Points: 814, Level: 7
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    814
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello Philips,

    I recently bought your new "top TV" 9706. Unfortunatly there are so many bugs with the software (latest firmware is installed). I have following problems (as many other customers):

    * turning off randomly or rebooting
    * TV program guide sometimes not working
    * loading of menu takes sometimes very long
    * recording to USB Harddisk wasn't working
    * onetime there was only sound and no image

    Can you tell me when this problems will get fixed? I'm currently thinking about returning my TV because it's a shame how this high priced products are (not) working.

  3. #78
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,127, Level: 8
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 23
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    GENOA/ITALY
    Posts
    50
    Points
    1,127
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by worti View Post
    Hello Philips,

    I recently bought your new "top TV" 9706. Unfortunatly there are so many bugs with the software (latest firmware is installed). I have following problems (as many other customers):

    * turning off randomly or rebooting
    * TV program guide sometimes not working
    * loading of menu takes sometimes very long
    * recording to USB Harddisk wasn't working
    I have the same problem on my 47PFL7606M/08 Tv.
    Sometimes there are also writing problem with the HDD.
    Honestly I waited for 6 months to have this TV and next time I will buy a Samsung, or something else, without any doubt. If you don't miss the Ambilight there is no need to buy a Philips today. The quality of the sw is, without any doubt, unacceptable low for even high priced TV.

    Quote Originally Posted by worti View Post
    Can you tell me when this problems will get fixed? I'm currently thinking about returning my TV because it's a shame how this high priced products are (not) working.
    If I were you I would bring back the TV to the shop and buy something else. This is the only way to make Philips move with a fix.
    Unfortunately for me it is too late and I cannot do it. I wasted my time waiting for a fix from Philips and now this is the result.

    TVs, as any other product like mobile phone or TV recorder, should not be TESTED by million of users that have paid for a WORKING product. Philips was a good brand, it was.

  4. #79
    Moderator
    Points: 20,566, Level: 43
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 184
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,921
    Points
    20,566
    Level
    43
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 48 Times in 43 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by PinkChocobo View Post
    Its a sorry that 3D dont work on VGA or component connections (only 2D->3D conversion its avaliable).
    Using DLNA,USB or HDMI connections all 3D modes are avaliable.

    I know that Philips firmwares are based on open source gnu licenses, its possible to get the source code of the firmware? do you know something about it Thomas?

    Very thanks
    Hi

    Just contact your Local Call Center and they will arrange everything.
    http://www.support.philips.com/suppo...jsp?COOKIE=off

    Regards
    Thomas

  5. #80
    New Member
    Points: 845, Level: 7
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 105
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Turin, Italy
    Posts
    1
    Points
    845
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by meme80 View Post
    I would appreciate that feature. As of now if you want to see what it is on screen you need to use more then one button on the remote controller and the screen goes all black. It is more then enought, and even more beautiful to see, a small channel information bar with the option to expand it if you need more details.

    Sometimes you just want to know what is now on TV and it seems stupid to black all the screen just to show a title info in the left upper corner!!!!

    I agree that the bugs of the auto switch off is top priority but please take our request as a valid input to improve the overall usability of the TV. The TV pannel quality is a strenght point of this TV whilst the sw usability is a weak point (every one I know agrees with that, have a look in this italian forum).
    Hi meme80,
    I quote your message to join the request to ri-implement the functionality already present in old philips TV series, as my old 37PFL8694. This feature is simply the possibility to have each change of channel, an upper bar reporting the information as the time, the actual program and the next one when available. So this is not really a new feature just restore an old one...
    This is, in my opinion, very important because already the new remotes are very bad (missing few buttons respoct the past as the ambilight one, direct info button, format picture and others) and press several button to obtain an information that avoid to watch the transmission is very frustrating...
    Bye!

  6. #81
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,044, Level: 8
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 106
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    21
    Points
    1,044
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by EdgarPrao View Post
    The 52PFL9606K forgets the PNM (PerfectNaturalMotion) settings with 14.84 firmware:

    Power on the TV, go to image settings, select a SmartImage preset (eg. Default) and reset the preset to defaults. Then open the PerfectPixelHD menu and select PerfectNaturalMotion. Set the option to off and close the settings menu. Power off the TV and wait 10 seconds. Restart the TV. Now the PerfectNaturalMotion feature is still enabled even it is shown as disabled in the image settings menu.

    To disable the feature you will have to open the image settings again and enable and disable the PNM feature or alternatively you may switch to another SmartImage preset that has PNM disabled.
    Can somebody please try this with the 14.84 firmware? Choose an image preset that you don't use so you won't loose your personal image settings. You should have the ability to see whether PNM is enabled or not to confirm the bug.

    Thank you.

  7. #82
    New Member
    Points: 821, Level: 7
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 129
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    8
    Points
    821
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by EdgarPrao View Post
    Can somebody please try this with the 14.84 firmware? Choose an image preset that you don't use so you won't loose your personal image settings. You should have the ability to see whether PNM is enabled or not to confirm the bug.

    Thank you.
    I think that sometimes that happens to me on my 46PFL9706 using 14.84 firm, you notice that when switching ON/OFF the clear LCD option various times and the image dont change at all, normally a little change on the bright of the image can be detected when switching ON/OFF if you dont detect that minimal change perhaps you are incurring on this bug.

  8. #83
    New Member
    Points: 831, Level: 7
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 119
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    3
    Points
    831
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips admin View Post
    Dear all,

    Regarding "black screen"and "rebooting" issues some of you might encounter after upgrade to v14.84 software: please read here.

    Regards,
    JuAn
    @JuAn, Philips admin: sometimes my 37pfl9606 goes in standby mode after 2 minutes (yes, minutes!) without doing anything. (sleeping mode is disabled) Is this another bug or the same one? What's the status regarding a new firmware which will solve this? When can we expect it?
    And if the problems remain, can I return the TV to the retailer and have my money back? For a TV with EISA award I expect much more...

    By the way, is there a way to downgrade to an older firmware? And if so, where can those be downloaded? (not from the Philips FTP)
    Last edited by Simon1979; 11-21-2011 at 06:41 PM.

  9. #84
    New Member
    Points: 2,268, Level: 13
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 182
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    4
    Points
    2,268
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have a lot of banding in my 46pfl9706 with the latest software that is available in the Netherlands. Can this be solved by Philips by an updated firmware? Or do I need to call the store where I bought it to replace it for a model without this problem? Or is it a problem that can not be solved and is part of this model?

  10. #85
    Moderator
    Points: 20,566, Level: 43
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 184
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,921
    Points
    20,566
    Level
    43
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 48 Times in 43 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi maikel7,

    can you please post a picture of this banding so we can see whats going on?

    Thanks
    Thomas

  11. #86
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,247, Level: 16
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 203
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    kookaburra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    España
    Posts
    124
    Points
    3,247
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi

    we are not aware of any Issues with the Local Dimming Feature for this TV Series.
    For those who think they have problems with Local Dimming, please post a Video of the Situation in here, together with your Serial No.

    Thanks
    Thomas


    Dear Thomas,
    As you asked I published the videos ( 2 with their corresponding details) in which the incidence regarding the local dimming were clearly evident.
    Unfortunately although the store has changed my TV the new set has exactly the same problem.
    I would like to confirm you that you have seen the videos and for you to inform if any action is going to be taken in order to resolve this issue.
    If no measure is foreseen I would have to return the Tv as I consider this issue to be a very clear quality defect.

    Many thanks in advance for your assistance.

    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...-models)/page4

    SN/ VN1B1134001224 and VN1B1135001427
    Last edited by kookaburra; 11-24-2011 at 02:38 PM.

  12. #87
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,127, Level: 8
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 23
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    GENOA/ITALY
    Posts
    50
    Points
    1,127
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by banjeep View Post
    I have the TV philips 37 9606m, sometimes the settings menu is very slow,
    Philips, in the next update because it does not enter the bar channel information not to full screen?
    similar a this:
    http://img259.imageshack.us/img259/7684/15112011.jpg
    or this:
    http://img225.imageshack.us/img225/9256/15112011001.jpg


    all holders of the TV philips want it
    I definitely soponsor your idea.
    Have the whole screen dark just to show the tv show is useless.

  13. #88
    New Member
    Points: 926, Level: 7
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 24
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Lithuania
    Posts
    1
    Points
    926
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi maikel7,

    can you please post a picture of this banding so we can see whats going on?

    Thanks
    Thomas
    Hi Thomas,

    I'm very disappointed with 46PFL9706K/02 banding problem too. Is there impossible show plane white with backlight technology or just hardware bug? Attaching image where you can see a bands and backlight led's visible. Showing 100% white jpeg uncompressed image from usb key, with Ambilight and without.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	banding.jpg 
Views:	276 
Size:	100.0 KB 
ID:	626

  14. #89
    New Member
    Points: 2,268, Level: 13
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 182
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    4
    Points
    2,268
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi maikel7,

    can you please post a picture of this banding so we can see whats going on?

    Thanks
    Thomas
    Hello Thomas,

    It is not possible for me to take pictures, because the TV is already in the box because I am going to return it to the store where I bought it. They are going to replace it for a Samsung D8000. They say that it can not be solved, so if I am not happy with it that I have to try an other tv. I have chosen for the Samsung because this screen has no local dimming, I think this is the problem of banding (correct me if I am wrong).

    On youtube I found a movie which reproduces my problem very good:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LHfl_kIFnGo

    Thursday it will be replaced. But if Philips manage to solve the banding problem before thursday I might keep it, because the picture of broadcasts without movement of the camera is very good...

    Do you think it can be solved by Philips?

  15. #90
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,734, Level: 11
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 116
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    49
    Points
    1,734
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kookaburra View Post
    Dear Thomas,
    As you asked I published the videos ( 2 with their corresponding details) in which the incidence regarding the local dimming were clearly evident.
    Unfortunately although the store has changed my TV the new set has exactly the same problem.
    I would like to confirm you that you have seen the videos and for you to inform if any action is going to be taken in order to resolve this issue.
    If no measure is foreseen I would have to return the Tv as I consider this issue to be a very clear quality defect.

    Many thanks in advance for your assistance.

    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...-models)/page4
    I also certify once these aberrations. There is always an unnecessary change of image brightness visible!
    Dear Thomas, please forward the videos on to your engineers, this problem and also the lightning in the picture is to look terrible and can not be state of the art!
    My serial number is: VN1B1139002067
    (Google Translator)

Page 6 of 11 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Replies: 23
    Last Post: 10-20-2011, 08:26 AM
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-12-2011, 11:37 AM
  3. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-10-2011, 08:13 AM
  4. Replies: 124
    Last Post: 02-27-2011, 03:18 PM
  5. Replies: 68
    Last Post: 01-06-2011, 08:04 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •