Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 24 of 24
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #16
    Bronze Member
    Points: 843, Level: 7
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 107
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    23
    Points
    843
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by meme80 View Post
    The answer is probably no, it will not work.

    I've just checked the write speed (http://www.kingston.com/flash/dt_chart.asp) and it is only 12MB/s when Philips request minimum of 30MB/s write speed.
    ...
    My guess: 30 MB/s should read 30 Mb/s (Megabit per second) here. Hi-Speed (USB 2.0) data rate is 480 Mbit/second brutto. Typical sustainable write speeds for external hard drives with USB 2.0 interface (Hi-Speed) are 20 .. 28 MByte/second. USB Devices with sustainable write speed above 25 MByte/s are implemented with USB 3.0 (SuperSpeed). Or limited to specific hardware.


    30 MByte/second ought to be more than enough for time-shifting of a complete satellite transponder's data streams. If implemented state-of-the-art, half of the time assumed for reading.
    Last edited by Perpetual Beta; 12-10-2011 at 09:07 PM.

  2. #17
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,628, Level: 11
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 222
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!1000 Experience Points
    jjs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    29
    Points
    1,628
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by meme80 View Post
    - USB sticks capacity required by Philips sw are really too expensive (64GB minimum for pause and 250GB for recording) when compared to HDD.
    That is not correct.
    32Gbyte is the minimum requirement and they say 30Mb/s, but i don't know if that writing speed is available yet, It has to be usb 2.0 compatible at least.

  3. #18
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,123, Level: 69
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 90.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,028
    Points
    51,123
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    32 GB does not mean that 32 GB are really available - thats the reason, why 64 GB was posted... ;-)

    I suggest to try a portalbe USB HDD...

    Toengel@Alex

  4. #19
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,628, Level: 11
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 222
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!1000 Experience Points
    jjs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    29
    Points
    1,628
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Toengel,
    no prob.
    I don't know what is available exactly.

  5. #20
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,123, Level: 69
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 90.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,028
    Points
    51,123
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    what I want to say is that if you buy a 32 GB stick you won't have 32 GB memory available - it's less than 32 GB!

    Teongel@Alex

  6. #21
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,628, Level: 11
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 222
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!1000 Experience Points
    jjs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    29
    Points
    1,628
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Yes you are right.
    If the set is looking that strict to available memory then it could be that you need a 64MB.
    I did not test it.

  7. #22
    New Member
    Points: 717, Level: 6
    Level completed: 84%, Points required for next Level: 33
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1
    Points
    717
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Following your statement that recording with fast USB stick is possible I bought a 64 GB USB 3.0 stick and started the formating process at my 37pfl9606k_02. This process was stopped short before reaching the end status. Repeating this brings no change. In contradiction to your statement recording with fast USB stick is evidently NOT POSSIBLE.
    If I'm wrong please let me know how to solve this problem.

  8. #23
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,127, Level: 8
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 23
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    GENOA/ITALY
    Posts
    50
    Points
    1,127
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Could you please specify the model of your usb stick?
    For now we know it is a 64GB USB 3.0 but it is necessary to know write/read speed and model.
    Thanks,

  9. #24
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,628, Level: 11
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 222
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!1000 Experience Points
    jjs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    29
    Points
    1,628
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    We had a problem with a usb 3.0 250Gbyte from a customer, wich would format, but then would not be writeable. Until now there is no solution for it. Unfortunately i can't remember the brand from the hdd.

    And yes you can only use one HDD.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Topics

  1. No files when navigating on USB HDD connected to BDP3200
    By Bertrand in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-24-2011, 08:52 AM
  2. HDD only or Streamer also
    By jonny in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-02-2011, 05:45 PM
  3. What about recording from TV to a HDD(via USB or NAS)?
    By msorin in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 06-30-2011, 12:17 PM
  4. Photos (*jpg) from HDD
    By Pi3,14 in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-27-2011, 07:38 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •