Page 11 of 14 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast
Results 151 to 165 of 197
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #151
    Moderator
    Points: 82,899, Level: 89
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 851
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    825
    Points
    82,899
    Level
    89
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Guys,

    A successor of the 14.84 firmware is on its way.
    Please read this.

    Regards,
    JuAn
    Last edited by Philips; 12-13-2011 at 09:50 PM.
    Forum Mod

  2. #152
    New Member
    Points: 858, Level: 7
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 92
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    8
    Points
    858
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    as far as I hear the new fw is supposed to be realeased next week for the 7k models, can you confirm that?
    Also a changelog would highly be appreciated. Any informations on that?
    Thank you.

  3. #153
    Bronze Member
    Points: 830, Level: 7
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 120
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    15
    Points
    830
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello Thomas

    This is a example of different resolution that don't works

    Width : 1 920 pixel
    Heigh : 802 pixel
    AspectRatio : 2,40:1

    Thank you for your interest

  4. #154
    Bronze Member
    Points: 972, Level: 8
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 178
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Aachen, Germany
    Posts
    17
    Points
    972
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    reading the other thread, I am not sure if I want that update :-)

  5. #155
    New Member
    Points: 1,774, Level: 11
    Level completed: 75%, Points required for next Level: 76
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    8
    Points
    1,774
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Just to share my problems:

    Sound drops with mediaplayer and PS3. Especially during Battlefield 3.(And the upcoming firmware doesn't 'sound' very promising for the PS3.)
    TV shutdown without touching anything. My gf likes this one...
    When mediaplayer is connected the other devices (ps3 and settopbox) do not work with easylink (CEC). They also disappear from the menu.
    Built in mediaplayer is better then nothing at all and that's about it.
    Why is there no standby button on the tv? only a hardware switch. Or did i miss it?

  6. #156
    New Member
    Points: 775, Level: 7
    Level completed: 13%, Points required for next Level: 175
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Wezep/Nederland
    Posts
    2
    Points
    775
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Thumbs down

    Hello,

    I just registered to share my experiences with this TV.

    At first I was looking for a Samsung smarttv but I got a great deal on the Philips for 629 inc. tax.

    If it is working, the TV is absolutely lovely.... IF !

    I have some strange issues and I've tried everything but I cannot solve them.

    1. When I want to watch TV I switch the TV on (cannot use standby due to reason 3), and switch my UPC settopbox on.
    After a short while I can watch TV and everything but a minute or so later the TV goes into standby !
    I have to wait a few seconds and then I can turn the TV back on. This should not be happening.

    2. I have a XBMC media box I use to view movies. When watching a movie with another framerate (eg 24fps or 30fps) the TV has to switch to another refresh frequency. I happens too many times that the screen stays completely black. The ambilight on the other hand just works, so the TV gets a video feed. My old TV didnt have these problems. The fastest solution at that moment is to switch the TV off and on via the power switch.

    3. My main reason I don't use standby.
    I have a special system in my house that monitors the power usage of all appliances in the house and I can view this on my computer (plugwise).

    When I put the TV to standby the TV uses under 1 watt, but thats a fifty-fifty situation. Many times the power uses just stays at 15 watts. If it is at 0 watts and I leave it there, at some point in time (usually between 6 and 7 am) it starts using 15 watts of power again.

    This IS the time we come to the living room, but in the morning we don't even touch the TV or any remote control at all.

    The only thing I can imaging is some ambient light sensor triggering the TV but I am not sure.

    My house is build with every aspect of energy saving in mind. Isolation, heating, electrical appliances; everything is energy efficient. I have exchanged my 32" LCD TV (175 watts!) for this tv (30 to 50, average 40 with my settings), so standby power usage is a huge issue for me.

    I hope these problems get fixed soon, especially the power problem. I love the TV but with these problems not solved it is my first and even last PHILIPS tv.
    Last edited by FHeibrink; 12-18-2011 at 10:27 AM.

  7. #157
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,256, Level: 16
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 194
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    127
    Points
    3,256
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Some times (in a regularly base defined by Philips), the TV wakes up, to do same actualization or check upgrades (channels etc.), then power off again.


    Quote Originally Posted by FHeibrink View Post
    Hello,

    I just registered to share my experiences with this TV.

    At first I was looking for a Samsung smarttv but I got a great deal on the Philips for 629 inc. tax.

    If it is working, the TV is absolutely lovely.... IF !

    I have some strange issues and I've tried everything but I cannot solve them.

    1. When I want to watch TV I switch the TV on (cannot use standby due to reason 3), and switch my UPC settopbox on.
    After a short while I can watch TV and everything but a minute or so later the TV goes into standby !
    I have to wait a few seconds and then I can turn the TV back on. This should not be happening.

    2. I have a XBMC media box I use to view movies. When watching a movie with another framerate (eg 24fps or 30fps) the TV has to switch to another refresh frequency. I happens too many times that the screen stays completely black. The ambilight on the other hand just works, so the TV gets a video feed. My old TV didnt have these problems. The fastest solution at that moment is to switch the TV off and on via the power switch.

    3. My main reason I don't use standby.
    I have a special system in my house that monitors the power usage of all appliances in the house and I can view this on my computer (plugwise).

    When I put the TV to standby the TV uses under 1 watt, but thats a fifty-fifty situation. Many times the power uses just stays at 15 watts. If it is at 0 watts and I leave it there, at some point in time (usually between 6 and 7 am) it starts using 15 watts of power again.

    This IS the time we come to the living room, but in the morning we don't even touch the TV or any remote control at all.

    The only thing I can imaging is some ambient light sensor triggering the TV but I am not sure.

    My house is build with every aspect of energy saving in mind. Isolation, heating, electrical appliances; everything is energy efficient. I have exchanged my 32" LCD TV (175 watts!) for this tv (30 to 50, average 40 with my settings), so standby power usage is a huge issue for me.

    I hope these problems get fixed soon, especially the power problem. I love the TV but with these problems not solved it is my first and even last PHILIPS tv.

  8. #158
    New Member
    Points: 775, Level: 7
    Level completed: 13%, Points required for next Level: 175
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Wezep/Nederland
    Posts
    2
    Points
    775
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    That's fine by me, BUT....... My TV stays powered on afterwards.
    The screen stays black offcourse, but it is drawing 15 watts.

    When I come back home I can see the power usage log of the TV and it keeps using 15 watts from the moment it's waked up in the morning.

  9. #159
    Bronze Member
    Points: 830, Level: 7
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 120
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    15
    Points
    830
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Dear Philips
    Are needed to build a brand a few years of good quality products! (You have invented the CD, Unfortunately, now they will be retired.)
    To destroy a brand just a few months...

  10. #160
    Bronze Member
    Points: 975, Level: 8
    Level completed: 13%, Points required for next Level: 175
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    24
    Points
    975
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Guys, this becomes really annoying now. If you're not able to fix the bugs, make it opensource and let us fix it. It's really a shame to sell a tv with this poor firmware. It's such a beautiful tv but with this firmware it's useless! The last release was about 2 months ago (2 MONTHS!!) and with 14.91 none of the problems are solved, but instead there are new problems. Please make it opensource or let some else, who knows what he's doing, do it.

  11. #161
    New Member
    Points: 847, Level: 7
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 103
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    7
    Points
    847
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    and to begin with: LET US DOWGRADE!
    .84 version made things worse!!

  12. #162
    New Member
    Points: 858, Level: 7
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 92
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    8
    Points
    858
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    rename it

    first of all: this forum should be renamed to users-forum instead of support-forum- I dont see much of that vendor-support.
    Concerning the fw: 91 version has not even been officially released for 7k modells, you can already hear of problems with the sound (8&9k Modells) and a new 93 fw-version. Guess we would all appriciate an update on this issue.

    That power-consumption issue can also be heard several times now...

    btw: i like the idea of open source fw - even though it might influence warranty
    Last edited by Kennedy01; 12-20-2011 at 11:23 AM.

  13. #163
    Bronze Member
    Points: 975, Level: 8
    Level completed: 13%, Points required for next Level: 175
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    24
    Points
    975
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    We are not Philips Test/QA Team. We are consumer and we pay for your products. And by now i'm really really pissed off. Since 4 months i only have trouble with this FW. FIX IT!

  14. #164
    New Member
    Points: 1,774, Level: 11
    Level completed: 75%, Points required for next Level: 76
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    8
    Points
    1,774
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Philips, Turanga is right. Or you hire some serious programmers or you let the community do it. I'm sure you can find some guys on the Internet who can't wait to start on this.

    It looks like you copy past from older firmwares (older models). Including bugs... How is it otherwise possible for the 2011 models to have the same bugs which were allready solved in newer 2010 models firmwares... (supposedly solved, the changelog states that it is solved)

  15. #165
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,490, Level: 10
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 60
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Yaroslavl, Russia
    Posts
    35
    Points
    1,490
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    I agree with expressed above: we don't want to be testers for Philips. We DEMAND qualitative software!!

Page 11 of 14 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Replies: 155
    Last Post: 12-14-2011, 02:00 PM
  2. Replies: 32
    Last Post: 10-21-2011, 06:10 PM
  3. Replies: 57
    Last Post: 06-12-2011, 11:23 AM
  4. Replies: 125
    Last Post: 04-14-2011, 03:11 PM
  5. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-05-2011, 11:40 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •