Results 1 to 15 of 16
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 951, Level: 8
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    France
    Posts
    9
    Points
    951
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    42PFL7406H/12 Random black screen after wakup or switch on

    Hello,

    I received my new TV this week-end and proceeded with the upgrade to the latest version (2011-10-21).
    But, I'm not sure that there were no problems with the older version because I don't tried to put the TV in sleep mode.

    Randomly, when I wake-up the TV or switch on with the breaker, the screen stays black. If the TV is on with an active source, I can hear audio and Ambilight works fine, but no image.

    Is someone experienced a similar issue?

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,084, Level: 8
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    58
    Points
    1,084
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Try unplugging the TV from the power (AC) for a few time and reconnect. You can also try to retune the channels. These things work for me.
    Regards.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 951, Level: 8
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    France
    Posts
    9
    Points
    951
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for your reply. How many time have you tried to unplug the power? I don't use the internal tuner, so I'm not concerned by tuning again the chanels, I think.

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,084, Level: 8
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    58
    Points
    1,084
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Once
    Regards.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 951, Level: 8
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    France
    Posts
    9
    Points
    951
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Sorry for being not clear. I would said 'how long have you kept the TV unplugged from AC'?

  6. #6
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,084, Level: 8
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    58
    Points
    1,084
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Some seconds (15-30 sg). Tell us your progress.
    Regards.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 951, Level: 8
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    France
    Posts
    9
    Points
    951
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    To complete my tests, sometime, the screen shows the image normally but during the exiting of sleep-mode I don't have the Philips logo.
    I was thinking to get back to the previous firmware, but I worry that this will break the waranty and I don't know where can I find the previous version.
    In parallel, I already open a case to the customer service and I'm waiting for a call to schedule a meeting with a technician.

  8. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 987, Level: 8
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 163
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    19
    Points
    987
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by alemoine View Post
    Hello,

    Is someone experienced a similar issue?
    Yes. Same on my 42PDL7906K. This problem is also described in other threads, and I described it in the sticky "Experiences with firmware 0.14... " thread. Sometimes it helped just to wait a little longer. More often, the screen was lit after several minutes of power-on/off, standby on/off, or Menu/Home Button. All I read so far is, that it might have to do with channel updates. But the TV tells me more or less each time that there will be a channel update and it will update the next time it goes into standby mode.
    It might be worth mentioning that the TV power is connected to a switchable power outlet, and we disconnect everything from power, when we are not watching. Perhaps we should let the TV in standby mode and not switch power off. After all,
    it consumes next to nothing in standby mode, according to the data sheet (< 1 watt).

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 951, Level: 8
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    France
    Posts
    9
    Points
    951
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thank you for this experience feedback. I never see something about channels update. Even more that I use a setupbox.
    A techncien comes home this saturday and I will get back to you after his diagnostic...

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 951, Level: 8
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    France
    Posts
    9
    Points
    951
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Just to know michaelu, the problem begin after having upgraded the Tv ?

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 833, Level: 7
    Level completed: 42%, Points required for next Level: 117
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1
    Points
    833
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Angry

    hi have the same problem after every wakeup. i can see the "philips" startup logo, too. ambi works fine, too. but the screen ist black.

    my model is 50PFL7956K/02

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 843, Level: 7
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 107
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1
    Points
    843
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Same here, problem started after updating to the latest FW!
    Is it possible to downgrade? If so, were do I find the former FW?
    Mark

  13. #13
    Bronze Member
    Points: 987, Level: 8
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 163
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    19
    Points
    987
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I believe the problem started after an upgrade to 0.10.84.0. But apparently it is solved (for me) now after an update yesterday, which the TV was asking for by itself. The TV (42PDL7906K) is connected to WLAN and apparently notices when updates are available. Now it switches on without problems.

  14. #14
    New Member
    Points: 951, Level: 8
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    France
    Posts
    9
    Points
    951
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I try to search a new version through the upgrade menu but there is nothing available. I hope I will be prompt like you for an update. Because this is the only thing I have to reproach to this TV.

Similar Topics

  1. No screen switch off at TuneIn Radio
    By hayclabbers in forum Smart TV: Apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-08-2011, 01:03 PM
  2. 37pfl5405h/12 hdmi random black screen
    By catalin in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-15-2011, 10:21 AM
  3. Black screen when watching tv
    By Marco in forum TV: Software 2010 models
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-20-2011, 01:35 PM
  4. 52PFL9704 black screen for 1-2 sec bug...
    By matteos in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-27-2011, 08:36 AM
  5. Philips 50pp920217 black screen
    By nickh0801 in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-22-2011, 07:23 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •