Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 960, Level: 8
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 190
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    960
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Philips 42PES0001D/10 off-color error, Panel broken?

    Hi togeher,
    from one day to another my Philips 42PES0001D / 10 shows only false color. After that error I tried everything - firmware update, picture settings and so on - unfortunately, nothing was successful. Then i went to the dealer I trust; with one look he said: "broken panel - a total loss" -> unit is now around 2.5 years old - so warranty expired-> Repair 800 EUR ;(

    I really do not understand this sudden death of a panel, also because no mechanical things have affected the unit, but unfortunately I have not the technical background to find other explanations...

    I've been taken following video, where you can see these effects: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V4Mtb_GOMoY

    Maybe there are other theories on your part, explain the chromatic aberration/off-color error?

    If you need further details, i'll try my best to provide them to you asap!

    Cheers
    Bobbie

  2. #2
    New Member
    Points: 960, Level: 8
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 190
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    960
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Any ideas - all possible explanations are welcome.

    Also an estimation if this is could be a more or less serious problem...

    Thanks a lot
    Bobbie

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,881, Level: 12
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 269
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    26
    Points
    1,881
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi.

    Looks like the LCD panel is defective, I think the so called TCON board.

    With kind regards,

    Samson.

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 175 Times in 156 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    so only the board needs to be changed or also the whole panel?

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 960, Level: 8
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 190
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    960
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,
    do you think it could be the Essence Cable? Philips Technical Support said there could be various reasons causing this failure, also the cabeling...

    I've just scanned some websites of spare part dealers - price for this cable is around ridiculous 240 EUR (!)...

    Bobbie

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 960, Level: 8
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 190
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    960
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    or could it be the LVDS cable that's causing this failure?

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 930, Level: 7
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 20
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    930
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Bobbie,

    I came across your question doing a Google search, and just registered here so I could reply.
    Mine had EXACTLY the same problem! When cold, and just switched on, it would look OK for a few minutes, and then the picture would slowly fade into the same kind of psychedelic colors. With the TV still being under warranty, I contacted Philips, and they insisted on sending me a replacement cable first, although I was pretty sure the cable wasn't the problem.
    When the problem persisted with the new cable, they arranged for the TV to be picked up for repair.
    One month later (a week ago last Monday), I got it back, with a new panel - T420HW03V0 - which turns out to be manufactured by AU Optronics.
    Anyway, the problem is fixed now, but unfortunately, the new panel appears to be of a lesser quality than the original one, since it suffers from some backlight bleeding in the center, and on the right hand side, especially the lower corner. So, I'll have to get back to the repair company or to Philips about that.

    BTW, I don't know if it's just a Dutch thing, or valid in other EU countries as well, but over here, even after your 2 year warranty is up, you should only have to pay for part of the repair, depending on how old your TV is, relative to the reasonably to be expected life span for it...

    Hope this helps,

    Ellen
    Last edited by _LN_; 11-01-2011 at 11:27 PM.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 930, Level: 7
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 20
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    930
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    P.S. Here's a photo of what mine looked like...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	42PES001D kleuren.jpg 
Views:	602 
Size:	158.1 KB 
ID:	570  

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 960, Level: 8
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 190
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    960
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hey Ellen,
    thanks for your reply.

    Yes, this is exactly the same problem, the only difference is, that my tv don't shows "normal" picture anymore - even not when it's cold...

    I already got an offer from Philips for a new TV ... and i already got this new one.

    Nonetheless i wanted to try to get the old one running again, but as it now seems that it's the panel causing this failure i don'tthink it makes sense from an economic point of view!

    Anyway, thanks a lot. Now i can sleep well again.

    Cheers
    Bobbie

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 930, Level: 7
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 20
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    930
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi, Bobbie,

    glad I could help, and pleasant dreams!

    BTW, I just called the repair center, and they promised to look into the backlight bleeding problem. I also informed Philips about this, since my 2 year warranty runs out in about 3 weeks...
    Both companies were very understanding.

    Ellen

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 843, Level: 7
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 107
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    1
    Points
    843
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,
    I own the same tv and 2,5 years after I bougth it I have a similar problem.
    Suddenly, the tv started to randomly show black squares and flickering at the same time.
    The service told me that they have to replace the panel with a new one.

    Can anyone tell me if the new panel comes with a warranty and for how long ?

    Thx

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 422, Level: 4
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 28
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1
    Points
    422
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello everybody,

    i have exactly the same problem on my Philips essence. The TV is now nearly 3 years old and therefore no warranty left.
    Does anybody have experiences how Philips handles TVs out of warranty regarding this problem. I would expect an company like Philips to replace bad panels even if the warranty is out dated.

  13. #13
    New Member
    Points: 387, Level: 4
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 63
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    england
    Posts
    3
    Points
    387
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Panel Broken

    There is a theme developing here. My TV is three years old and the panel is also showing the same fault as described above.
    Looks to me as though there is a common problem.

  14. #14
    New Member
    Points: 387, Level: 4
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 63
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    england
    Posts
    3
    Points
    387
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi
    Me too, TV 3 years old panel on the blink

  15. #15
    New Member
    Points: 616, Level: 6
    Level completed: 33%, Points required for next Level: 134
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    6
    Points
    616
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    What happens if you set the color saturation to 0, i.e. make a black-and-white picture ?
    The Essence has an external box for the signal processing, and a thin panel-only, right ? Could the cable between the 2 parts be damaged ?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. change subtitle color?
    By dejan_p in forum TV: Software 2011 models
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-10-2011, 07:05 AM
  2. Dark picture problem 42PES0001D/10
    By tkuyf in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-13-2011, 09:09 AM
  3. Philips Essence TV LCD 42PES0001D
    By fofinho in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-26-2011, 09:33 AM
  4. BDP 5200 mkv Subtitle Selection broken
    By Der_Dicke in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-25-2011, 12:43 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-08-2011, 08:31 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •