Results 1 to 7 of 7
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 894, Level: 7
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 56
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    894
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Philips bdp3200 mini-skip/freeze/pause?

    I bought my first Blu-Ray player, a Philips bdp3200/05. I'm happy with it but I've noticed something odd that I'm not sure about. When playing Blu-Ray discs I've noticed a slight stop, or skip in the playback. It's only a split second thing and it doesn't affect the sound. It looks almost like the player has skipped a frame or two in the movie. It happens regularly in every disc I've played in it so far. Is it a fault, or is it normal behavior?

    I have the latest firmware installed.
    Last edited by peteuplink; 11-02-2011 at 10:53 AM.

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,150, Level: 8
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 200
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    13
    Points
    1,150
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    Which framerate have your discs and which your TV? If you have 24p videos and your TV displays 50Hz it's a mismatch and is known as "24p micro stuttering". Some players can interpolate frames so it's smoother but may introduce artefacts at edges.

    Lars.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 894, Level: 7
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 56
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    894
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    How do I find out what the frame rate is?

    The TV is indeed 50hz. It's a brand new LG 32lk330U. However since posting I took the BDP3200/05 back to the store for a replacement (it's only across the road), and this one doesn't seem to have the stutter. It's not got the updated firmware at the moment, though.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 894, Level: 7
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 56
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    894
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quick update. I updated the firmware, like I did on the previous one, and everything seems okay.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 894, Level: 7
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 56
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    894
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have one final question. Do the red and white audio out jacks output in 5.1, or only stereo?

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,150, Level: 8
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 200
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    13
    Points
    1,150
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    That's an analog stereo output. If you want 5.1 output you have to use HDMI or SPDIF/Toslink.

    Lars.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 894, Level: 7
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 56
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    894
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks, Lars.

    I have one of those Pro-Logic 5.1 systems. It connects through the audio out jacks. Seemed fine with the DVD player, but some sounds seem muffled with the Blu-Ray so I thought I'd better ask. Looks like I'll have to look for a av reciever.

Similar Topics

  1. MyRemote on sony ericson xperia X10 pro mini
    By Leon in forum Apps: MyRemote App (for Android)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-06-2011, 06:15 PM
  2. BDP5100/12 Standby mode freeze
    By Jayzon in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-20-2011, 10:27 PM
  3. TV 40PFL6606D/78 pause function
    By Dudusat in forum TV: Software 2011 models
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-20-2011, 08:52 AM
  4. Pause Blu-Ray over EasyLink does not work
    By cybernesto in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-30-2011, 08:02 AM
  5. Is there any way to skip/remove settings on source list?
    By puddox in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-12-2011, 01:46 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •