Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28

Topic: BDP-7600 Bugs

  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 934, Level: 7
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 16
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2
    Points
    934
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Unhappy BDP-7600 Bugs

    Model: BDP-7600/93
    Firmware Ver: 1.09

    1. Both USB and Internet firmware upgrade do not work.
    Network setup and internet connection have no issue. But when select Upgrade from Network, it immediately returns the msg w/o any searching delay: "No valid files are found".
    Download the latest version 1.35 from Philips support site, unzip to the root dir of USB flash disk with unchanged folder name (UPG_ALL), then plug in USB storage - try both 1Gb and 8Gb accordingly, make sure no BD disc inside, select Upgrade from USB, it starts to search however after a few seconds it comes back the err msg: "The version is not verified. Please insert the correct file."
    2. BDP7600 remote control interferes w/ my home set-top box by 70% functions in which numeric buttons are exactly matched. However the set-top box remote control does not impact BDP7600 instead. then I have to POWER OFF the set-top box when using BDP7600. Really a frustrated design on this.
    3. On current version 1.09, I can't see "Internet Browser" or Net TV item in the main menu, I have no idea how to visit internet thru BDP7600. But AD says it supports USB keyboard for internet surfing.
    4. DLNA playback is really limit to WMP, network is frequently broken during the connection even w/ wired cable. That is to say DLNA in this version is not stable comparing to other brand 3D Blu-ray players like Sony S780.


    Except the above bugs, the good things are Divx format support and A-B repeat function - that's why I bought it as my legacy S780 does not have those features.
    Last edited by hisnow; 11-03-2011 at 12:25 AM.

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    hi hisnow,
    i guess it may be because of the server system downtime as well.
    it is mentioned that there is a server problem in the forum home page. we have experience in another thread (DCM580) that the downloaded file may be corrupted/renamed...

    maybe we hv to give it more time to stabilize things...

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 934, Level: 7
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 16
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2
    Points
    934
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Kwinnie, I did have the same thought and I tried several times at different time. The file is the same and I can unzip it well unless the bin file inside the zip was corrupted when it got packed. Another reason could be that it does not apply to some regions. So far Philips did not give an official answer. It is easy to re-upload and replace the firmware on the server.

  4. #4
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi hisnow,

    Your problems should be solved now, are they?

    Regards

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 805, Level: 7
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 145
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Mon adresse
    Posts
    1
    Points
    805
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Unhappy Same Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar View Post
    Hi hisnow,

    Your problems should be solved now, are they?

    Regards
    Hi, i have the exactly same problems than hisnow (Same Firmware 1.09). I downloaded the firmware several times but nothing happens, the player doesn't do the update...

    If hisnow found a solution, I am interested.

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    hi slydex & hisnow,

    do you still have that problem? not getting upgraded?

    i tried downloading just now, and it seems fine for me: http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/d...&slg=en&scy=GB

    maybe try again ?

    @ slydex,
    make sure you do not rename the extracted folder, should be named "upg_all" (not extracted .bin file) to the root directory ...

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 336, Level: 3
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 14
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredNew Achievement!250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    shanghai/china
    Posts
    4
    Points
    336
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Trying to upgrade my recently purchased BDP 7600/93 running on SW 1.32 to 1.55....Does not work. Also tried Chinese website with latest firmware 1.35. Also does not work. No help anywhere. Last chance this forum. Thanks Philips!!!

  8. #8
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,097, Level: 72
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 453
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,178
    Points
    55,097
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    - download again the update from the 7600/93 support webpage
    - format USB stick with FAT
    - create folder "UPG_ALL"
    - extract the 7600.bin file from the download into the folder on your stick: USB-Stick:\UPG_ALL\7600.bin
    - remove any disc from player
    - insert stick
    - update BDP

    Toengel@Alex

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 336, Level: 3
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 14
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredNew Achievement!250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    shanghai/china
    Posts
    4
    Points
    336
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thx a lot. Downloaded same here:
    http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/d...&slg=zh&scy=CN

    I got following error message:
    Upgrade software failed verification.
    Please insert the correct software.......

    Also tried this version from German website but same prob.
    http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/d...ctn=BDP7600/12

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 336, Level: 3
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 14
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredNew Achievement!250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    shanghai/china
    Posts
    4
    Points
    336
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks and regret did not work: "Upgrade Software Verification Error". My previous feedback to your yesterdays feedback was apparently not posted. I downloaded the firmware upgrade from Philips China, which failed...and also German website.

    Thanks for further assistance.

    Cheers

  11. #11
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Maybe the fw on the web is wrong then....this has happened before and was fixed some days after

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 336, Level: 3
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 14
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredNew Achievement!250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    shanghai/china
    Posts
    4
    Points
    336
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Maybe Philips can enlighten me?

  13. #13
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Pepper01,

    I have send you a personal message with some further instructions. Please check your inbox.

    Kind regards,
    Forum Mod

  14. #14
    New Member
    Points: 219, Level: 2
    Level completed: 69%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Veenhuizen/Nederland
    Posts
    1
    Points
    219
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    stability issue

    Contrary to hisnow and slydex, I have no difficulties updating. However, my BDP7600/12 regularly freezes when turning off. Display says "stand-by", tv gives the blue background of the BDP, machine is insensitive to both remote control and front panel. The only way to get the machine back in working order is by unplugging from main power.
    Also at any given time, the BDP feels the need to format the inserted memory card. The card is not full, neither been taken out; the BDP just seem to like formatting memory cards for unknown reasons....
    Finally, the WiFi connection is very unreliable; it simply cannot make the connection most of the time. Of course this might be due to the modem I have, however the BDP7600 is the only wireless apparatus that has difficulties connecting. That makes me wonder....
    What I would like to know is whether these issues are common or just bugs in my player. Is this a case of warranty?

  15. #15
    New Member
    Points: 217, Level: 2
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 33
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    SWEDEN
    Posts
    1
    Points
    217
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DieWillem View Post
    Contrary to hisnow and slydex, I have no difficulties updating. However, my BDP7600/12 regularly freezes when turning off. Display says "stand-by", tv gives the blue background of the BDP, machine is insensitive to both remote control and front panel. The only way to get the machine back in working order is by unplugging from main power.
    Im having the exact same problem and its very annoying.
    Anyone else with this problem perhaps?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. BDP 8000 firmware (1.60) bugs
    By Hawkje in forum Blu-ray: General and Others (MBD/PB Series)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-28-2011, 06:59 PM
  2. BDP3200 bugs & problems
    By inocencius in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-07-2011, 08:31 AM
  3. BDP 8000 firmware (1.60) net tv bugs
    By Hawkje in forum Blu-ray: BDP8000 Series
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-31-2011, 06:42 PM
  4. BDP 7600: Results with official mkv test suite files
    By upsh in forum Blu-ray: BDP7000 Series
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-12-2011, 09:10 AM
  5. Bugs
    By DJSnels in forum TV: Software 2010 models
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-17-2010, 03:52 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •