Results 1 to 6 of 6
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Gold Member
    Points: 9,558, Level: 29
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 392
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsVeteran
    bluevoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    Posts
    365
    Points
    9,558
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 10 Posts
    Rep Power
    4

    No picture on Philips Cinema Gold TV

    Hi I'm having problems with my one month old Philips Cinema Gold TV (50PFL7956H/12). Sometimes (3 to 4 times a week), when I turn the TV off there is no picture but there is sound, I can hear anything perfectly and I can also see the ambilight working. The only thing that works is to turn it off, unplug it for a couple of minutes, plug it back in and turn it on. This morning I had to repeat this procedure twice to get a picture.

    My TV is running the latest firmware 014.079.

    Is this a known problem and is there anything to do about it?

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,225, Level: 72
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 1,325
    Overall activity: 37.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,137
    Points
    54,225
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 196 Times in 175 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    a new firmware was release - version 14.80.0. (Just download the ZIP - it should contain this new version).

    Please try that.

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Gold Member
    Points: 9,558, Level: 29
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 392
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsVeteran
    bluevoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    Posts
    365
    Points
    9,558
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 10 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    a new firmware was release - version 14.80.0. (Just download the ZIP - it should contain this new version).

    Please try that.

    Toengel@Alex
    I see it, it was released yesterday. I'll tried it first thing this evening when I get back home, and post my findings here.

    It would be nice if Philips would provide a change log to be able to know what issues have been addressed with this firmware update.

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,084, Level: 8
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    58
    Points
    1,084
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    I had same problem on 58pfl9955h. The call center say to me to re-tune the channels after updates the firmware. And it seems the problem is resolved.
    Last edited by xMen; 10-12-2011 at 04:33 PM.

  5. #5
    Gold Member
    Points: 9,558, Level: 29
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 392
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsVeteran
    bluevoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    Posts
    365
    Points
    9,558
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 10 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    It seems solved for now but I'm not sure what helped. I did update to the latest 14.80 firmware and retuned the channels. Is retuning the channels needed after each firmware update?

    There is one improvement I noticed after the 14.80 update. I use a CI+ module from UPC, my tv service provider in the Netherlands. Before the 14.80 update, while changing the channels, I would briefly get a message saying "Authentification in progress, please wait". This error message is gone now and changing the channels seems snappier now.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 851, Level: 7
    Level completed: 51%, Points required for next Level: 99
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Brno, Czech Republic
    Posts
    4
    Points
    851
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    14.84 nor re-tuning the channels didn't help I have the same problem

Similar Topics

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-14-2011, 02:37 PM
  2. Philips Cinema 21:9 TVs = best gadget at IFA 2011
    By Philips - Mark in forum TV: Share Your Reviews
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-07-2011, 04:17 PM
  3. philips 58pfl9955 choppy picture
    By jotaking in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-17-2011, 12:56 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-07-2011, 10:07 PM
  5. No Picture in Picture (PIP) on the Net TV homepage.
    By Philips in forum Smart TV: Apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-06-2010, 04:01 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •