Results 1 to 4 of 4
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 874, Level: 7
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 76
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2
    Points
    874
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    USB MediaConnect Driver?

    Greetings all,

    I just purchased a 55PFL5705D/F7 and am trying to get the USB WiFi MediaConnect dongle to work on my XP SP3 computer. However, when I plug in the dongle, I get the standard "new hardware found" dialog asking for a driver, but nothing I do can find a suitable driver for the device. I installed the latest version of the MediaConnect software, which I assumed would install any necessary drivers, but it apparently didn't. In Device Manager I have a 802.11 n WLAN device with an exclamation point stating that "no driver is installed for this device".

    I tried specifying a location to look for the driver in the New Hardware Found dialog, and pointed it to the MediaConnect installation directory (which does indeed contain an .inf file), but I get a "this location does not contain information about your hardware" error. As it sits right now, my dongle is disabled due to no suitable driver being installed, and I can't find any driver that will successfully install for this device.

    Hopefully I'm just missing a basic step, but for the life of me I can't get Widows to recognize the dongle as a wireless device.

    Might anyone have any suggestions or advice on how to proceed?

    Thanks in advance for any help,
    Alister

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    157
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    the USB dongle is for your TV! Then you need to connect your TV to the same network as your PC where the MediaConnect software is installed... After that, you can project your desktop to your TV.

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 874, Level: 7
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 76
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2
    Points
    874
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    the USB dongle is for your TV!
    [/EMAIL]
    Boy, I do sure feel silly now...

    Well, that clears that up. Thanks so much for the help. I figured I was doing something stupid, I just didn't imagine the immense degree of my stupidity.

    Thanks again!

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 17,624, Level: 40
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 426
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,765
    Points
    17,624
    Level
    40
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 39 Times in 36 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    Thanks to Toengel, good that it works now.

    Regards
    Thomas

    [Thread will be closed as it is solved]

Similar Topics

  1. Mediaconnect audio problem
    By arcadia_be in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 10:26 AM
  2. MediaConnect wired software
    By Bassgeye in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-02-2011, 09:59 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-26-2011, 02:51 PM
  4. MediaConnect over LAN
    By Mario in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-27-2011, 09:44 AM
  5. [Tips & Tricks] WiFi Media Connect (WMC) does not work.
    By Jeroen in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-24-2010, 06:59 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •