Results 1 to 15 of 15
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 886, Level: 7
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 64
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    4
    Points
    886
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    BDP7600/12 (1.35): No HD subtitles in MKV Container

    Hi,

    i just noticed that 720p and 1080p subtitles in .sub format are not displayed when playing HD MKV files. It does not matter if they are muxed into the MKV Container or placed in the same folder as the video - they will not display at all.

    Reducing the subtitle resolution to 576p with BDSup2Sub solves the problem but I dont want to go thru my entire movie collection and re-render every subtitle to 576p.

    Will this issue be adressed in the next firmware?

  2. #2
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    And what about changing with .srt?

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 886, Level: 7
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 64
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    4
    Points
    886
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar View Post
    And what about changing with .srt?
    Basically a good idea but text subtitles have no position information. They will always display at the bottom of the screen and can appear on top of a burnt-in subtitle of the movie itself, making it hard to read. I prefer .sub subtitles because they position themselves just like in the original movie and don´t have to be OCR´d before.

    And like i said...i don´t want to re-render or - in this case - re-OCR my entire movie collections subtitles.
    Last edited by diego7-5; 11-09-2011 at 01:45 PM.

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Frequent Poster

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    yea understand what you mean... can be quite time consuming if you can do that all over again. i didn't hv experience trying the HD .sub. but i think it can be good enough if you can send through some .sub file for them to study...

    (which we usually do to report an issue)

    what i have tried is that to upload the file to some online directory like www.wetransfer.com this is usually used by me, other users as i can see and also sometimes Philips...(put the sender and receiver the same-your email)

    and then just copy the short URL to philips... this way they can do some investigation and they can give you some feedback...

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 832, Level: 7
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 118
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Alphen aand den Rijn/Netherlands
    Posts
    6
    Points
    832
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Just purchased two BDP7600's, one for the office, one for the home. Same issue that subtitles just don't display on a mkv file. Upgraded the firmware to 1.35, but still no result.

    Any solutions to this issue yet?

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 785, Level: 7
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 165
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1
    Points
    785
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,
    I would love to see a solution on this Problem in the near Future. That would be great.
    And thanks to diego7-5, for this workaround with BDSup2Sub, it works!

  7. #7
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Frequent Poster

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    glad to hear that you have a workaround using diego7-5.

    @ LodyHoekstra, are you also referring to HD subtitles? or just normal subtitles, like just srt?

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 832, Level: 7
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 118
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Alphen aand den Rijn/Netherlands
    Posts
    6
    Points
    832
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    So far tried BDSupEdit to downscale quality, that didn't help though. Will try BDSup2Sub later today.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 832, Level: 7
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 118
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Alphen aand den Rijn/Netherlands
    Posts
    6
    Points
    832
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    BDSup2Sub didn't help either. Tried to downscale to Pal 720x576. Titles show on the PC using VLC, but still not on the BDP7600.

    What settings do I need to use?

    Or shouldn't I have updated to 1.35?? Tried idx files too :/
    Last edited by LodyHoekstra; 11-28-2011 at 12:02 PM.

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 886, Level: 7
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 64
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    4
    Points
    886
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by LodyHoekstra View Post
    BDSup2Sub didn't help either. Tried to downscale to Pal 720x576. Titles show on the PC using VLC, but still not on the BDP7600.

    What settings do I need to use?

    Or shouldn't I have updated to 1.35?? Tried idx files too :/
    Did you remux the resized subtitle back into the mkv with mkvmerge? Or did you place it in the same folder as the video? If you placed it in the same folder, make sure the name is the same as the video for both files, the .sub file and the .idx file that BDSup2Sub generated for you. You have to manually rename the files after resizing with BDSup2Sub as it will not do that for you automatically.

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 832, Level: 7
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 118
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Alphen aand den Rijn/Netherlands
    Posts
    6
    Points
    832
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for replying diego,

    I remuxed the subtitle(s) into an mkv, with the 264 and ac3 files using mkvmerge. Will now try to make an mkv with only video and audio and separate subtitle files. Also saves time when testing

    Will let you know how things work out.

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 832, Level: 7
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 118
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Alphen aand den Rijn/Netherlands
    Posts
    6
    Points
    832
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Separate subtitle files work thanks a lot, at least there is a workaround.
    As soon as I mux it into one mkv it doesn't.

    How do I go about with two subtitle languages linked to on mkv?

  13. #13
    New Member
    Points: 886, Level: 7
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 64
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    4
    Points
    886
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by LodyHoekstra View Post
    Separate subtitle files work thanks a lot, at least there is a workaround.
    As soon as I mux it into one mkv it doesn't.

    How do I go about with two subtitle languages linked to on mkv?
    Thank you :-) Try placing them into the same folder as the movie. You should be able to switch them with your remote. But they have to be 576p (PAL) or 480p (NTSC).

    If it does not work please dont blame me

    I returned my bdp7600 to the store because it does not play BD25 backups with menus ("UNKNOWN DISC" ???), stops playing MKV files for no reason in the middle of the movie or crashed during playback of internet tv even with the latest firmware. Only help was pulling the power plug to get this device back working.
    Last edited by diego7-5; 11-29-2011 at 09:06 AM. Reason: wording

  14. #14
    New Member
    Points: 832, Level: 7
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 118
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Alphen aand den Rijn/Netherlands
    Posts
    6
    Points
    832
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Diego, thanks for helping me. The workaround works fine for me. I'll keep the original subtitles at hand for later.

    Since I upgrade to 1.35 I haven't encountered any crashes anymore. The release notes also mention that they solved multiple issues in that area. The update is of october 2011, fingeres crossed they are still working on the subtitle issue.

  15. #15
    New Member
    Points: 663, Level: 6
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1
    Points
    663
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Diego, many thanks for the workaround with BDSup2Sub. It at least helped me with the one or other MKV Container I have when adding the subtitle files into the same location as the container is located.
    Unfortunately most MKV containers with external subtitle files still don't work, even if they are converted to PAL resolution. The BDP7600 with FW 1.35 completely freezes when loading the container and I have to unplug it to get it work gain. I didn't have that crashes with the original firmware 1.09.

    Philips, please fix this issue with the next firmware release.

    Thanks,
    - Islav

Similar Topics

  1. BDP3200/12: no video on HD-DVB-C recording in mkv-container
    By flensrocker in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 01-25-2012, 11:28 AM
  2. BDP7600 Latest Firmware upgrade (V1.35) has been released
    By Philips - Remko in forum Blu-ray: BDP7000 Series
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-13-2011, 10:19 AM
  3. BDP7600: Please use title information of MKV files
    By upsh in forum Blu-ray: BDP7000 Series
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-10-2011, 07:47 PM
  4. DTS-MA in an MKV container BDP7500B2
    By gaurav71189 in forum Blu-ray: Share Your Wish List and Insights
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-23-2011, 10:42 AM
  5. HTS5590/12 doesn't support subtitles on mkv files
    By hambos in forum Blu-ray: HTS Series
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-21-2011, 08:56 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •