Results 1 to 7 of 7
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,168, Level: 9
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 182
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    6
    Points
    1,168
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Philips 46PFL8505: No sound when laptop connected with HDMI

    Hi,

    I have problem with HP elitebook and nvidia quadro FX graphics card. My tv is 46pfl8505. All the settings in the laptop are correct because the laptop worked fine in my previous LG tv (wich unfortunately broke and i got philips). HDCP seems to ok.

    Nvidia control panel shows DVI connection even if i have used hdmi cable ( i don't have dvi ->hdmi cable)? So the television is sending wrong information to my laptop?

    Why not the tv won't regognize that i'm using hdmi cable instead of dvi? and play the sound via tv speakers?

    Please help!

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    157
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    if you connect your PC via HDMI to you TV you need to explicitly change the sound output to HDMI - please recheck your setting in the Nvidia driver. Maybe you need to update your Nvidia driver, too.

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 1,168, Level: 9
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 182
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    6
    Points
    1,168
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Yep, i have changed the sound output to HDMI just like with old LG tv. I also have the newest driver from nvidia.

    So could the tv be the problem?

    Also my tv has the newest firmware.
    Last edited by J.R; 11-11-2011 at 12:10 PM.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 18,071, Level: 41
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 879
    Overall activity: 37.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,768
    Points
    18,071
    Level
    41
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 39 Times in 36 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    What you see in the Screen Settings or the Nvidia Driver is what the Graphics Card Detects on its connections.
    Besides that the TV sends out EDID Information on what is supported and what not but that has no influence on which connection is shown in the Driver as used.
    Here you need to get in Contact with Nvidia to find a Solution.

    Regards
    Thomas

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 1,168, Level: 9
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 182
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    6
    Points
    1,168
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    So my tv supports laptop connection with HDMI? I'll contact to nvidia to see what they have to say.

    It's is just frustrating that previously i didn't have any issues with LG and i have with Philips wich 1,5 year newer tv...

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 1,168, Level: 9
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 182
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    6
    Points
    1,168
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    So everything starts over... I contacted to Nvidia and this didn't solve my problem. We tried different drivers and some basic stuff with no prevail.

    Does my tv even support laptop connection with HDMI? I think it should because i got it this year...

    Maybe some suggestions from Philips what to do next?

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Points: 18,071, Level: 41
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 879
    Overall activity: 37.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,768
    Points
    18,071
    Level
    41
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 39 Times in 36 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    yes we do support Laptop Connection via HDMI.
    Rest is up to the PC Graphics Card.
    Sorry but we can not help on this Case.

    Regards
    Thomas

Similar Topics

  1. No sound on tv connecting laptop via hdmi
    By andriuspt in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-23-2012, 11:29 AM
  2. Intermittent sound cut-off with HDMI connected DVR
    By infraspace in forum TV: Software 2010 models
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 02-13-2012, 11:51 AM
  3. Philips 46pfl8505 lower and upper screen brighter
    By Steel in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-25-2011, 08:47 AM
  4. Philips TV and HDMI = Sound loss
    By Zwaf in forum TV: Software 2010 models
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-03-2011, 05:20 PM
  5. Unable to connect laptop to TV via HDMI
    By numbertwo in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-26-2011, 02:47 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •