Results 1 to 6 of 6

Topic: HDMI Cable

  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 757, Level: 7
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 193
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    1
    Points
    757
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    HDMI Cable

    Hi,

    I want to connect my Philips TV 42PFL7606H/12 with the Playstation 3. I just wanted to know if I need any special HDMI cable like 1.4 or 1.4a, also to watch 3D without problems.

    Many thanks

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,256, Level: 16
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 194
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    127
    Points
    3,256
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Any Cheap HDMI cable should work, don't need an expensive cable, get something like 15/20€ 1,5 meter cable. If you need more than 3 meters long, then you need a more expensive cable.

  3. #3
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,163, Level: 69
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 987
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,958
    Points
    50,163
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 166 Times in 148 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    the cable need to be a "Highspeed HDMI cable"...

    Toengel@Alex

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 940, Level: 7
    Level completed: 95%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    20
    Points
    940
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    @Toengel: Normally, i agree with Your posts, but I'm not sure if this time, You are right!? In my opinion, this is a digital connection from Dev 1 to Dev 2, so it doesn't matter which cable You take. I'm using the cheapest cable i found (2m for under 10€) and it works perfectly (also with 3D). if i would have to connect 2 devices with a distance of 100m and more, i would definitely first try the cheap cable.

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Points: 15,897, Level: 38
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 553
    Overall activity: 88.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,629
    Points
    15,897
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    "High Speed" is a specification as per this Year no cable manufacturer is allowed to use the term '"1.4 compatible Cable" or something like this anymore so, you might could say that "High Speed" is the same as you would say "1.4 compatible". It has nothing to do with the price.

    However, standard HDMI Cable has 1,5m, at this length it really does not matter what brand the cable is but for all longer cable you should clearly use high class cables. True they do cost more but f.e. "oehlbach" has build in amlifiers to the cables as even on a digital transmission, the signals gets lost after some meters. for electrical transmissions the resistor becomes higher and higher. Same for Optical connections.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 940, Level: 7
    Level completed: 95%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    20
    Points
    940
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Ok, see what You mean.

    But i clearly do not agree with "the signals gets lost after some meters". If "some meters" means approx 50 or 100m+, i guess You are right. But i am sure i saw some tests where the results clearly told that there is no difference at all.
    For the optical transmission, i would buy a better quality for sure.

    It's the same with audio cables from the AV receiver to the loudspeakers. I always have to laugh when somebody tells me they need at least 2.5mm² cable because of the resistance bla bla. If You think logically and looked into a receiver, you will not find a cable this size, so, this is already a bottleneck.

    BR
    RoB

Similar Topics

  1. Sound problem with XBox 360 connected by HDMI-Cable
    By maeckz in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-27-2011, 06:47 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-22-2011, 06:27 AM
  3. USB cable for az2555
    By TomAplin in forum Sound: Other Models
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-13-2011, 10:53 AM
  4. WiFi MediaConnect via cable not possible?
    By Pensionada in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-20-2011, 06:31 AM
  5. Problems with the network cable
    By fv69 in forum Smart TV: Error Messages
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-01-2011, 07:07 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •