Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 924, Level: 7
    Level completed: 87%, Points required for next Level: 26
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    924
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Automatic shutdown every four hours...

    Hello,

    We are using a Philips TV for monitoring services, and it needs to be on 24/7. Problem is, every four hours when there has been no activity with the remote control, a message is displayed that says: "If no any operation,TV would shut down in 1 minute". At that point, the user will have to press pretty much any key, which will sort of reset the "cycle". This is quite inconvenient, and after thorough investigation throughout its menus, I could not find any option to disable it. Please advise.

    Thanks!

    Regards,
    Bobby

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 15,994, Level: 38
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 456
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,632
    Points
    15,994
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    To be able to help you you have to add the Model No, FW Status etc.

    Thanks
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 924, Level: 7
    Level completed: 87%, Points required for next Level: 26
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    924
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi!

    Here is the info I was able to gather:

    Model: 42PFL4606H/58
    Release Version: TPM71E 2.05
    PQ Version: PQ V0.03 110208

    Let me know if anything else will be needed.

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 822, Level: 7
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 128
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Kaliningrad
    Posts
    5
    Points
    822
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi!
    I think, it's "auto-shutdown", you just need to turn it off from menu.
    Press "HOME" button, then something like "Configuration -> Settings TV -> Preferred Settings -> Automatic Poweroff ", perhaps it's "ON".
    Last edited by bulkin2000; 11-28-2011 at 06:33 AM. Reason: updating

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 924, Level: 7
    Level completed: 87%, Points required for next Level: 26
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    924
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for the reply! There is indeed such an option, however, it was always off (and now, too), and even if you turn it on, there is no option to extend it to four hours, which is the case here. I'm pretty sure there is no way to turn this feature off through the regular menus, that's why I'm trying to engage a representative from Philips on this matter.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 924, Level: 7
    Level completed: 87%, Points required for next Level: 26
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    924
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Sooooo, Philips will remain quite on this matter? Is there any remote control combination (or anything of that sorts) that will allow us to disable the annoying setting? I mean....it wasn't me who designed the thing, right!?

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 924, Level: 7
    Level completed: 87%, Points required for next Level: 26
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    924
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    after a little bit of digging, turned out that with version TPM71E_2.10 of the firmware, there is an addition, stating: " Allow users to disable the “4 hours automatic shut down” feature in the [Auto switch off] menu". Will be updating my firmware tomorrow.
    Thanks for NOTHING, Philips support!

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 791, Level: 7
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 159
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Groningen/Netherlands
    Posts
    5
    Points
    791
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    42PFL7606H/12 seems to have the same problem!

    Hi there Philips,

    I have a 2011 tv (42PFL7606H/12) and the sleep timer is disabled yet the TV automatically switches off. This bugs the crap out of me. The firmware version is... 000.014.084.000, 2011-10-21

    Please help.

    Grtz,

    Patrick Bos

  9. #9
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,383, Level: 69
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 767
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,968
    Points
    50,383
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 169 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    you can try firmware 14.88 which is available in the FAQ SECTION of your TV (support website). Search for 14.84 and ambilight problem. In that FAQ firmware 14.88 is linked...

    Toengel@Alex

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 791, Level: 7
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 159
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Groningen/Netherlands
    Posts
    5
    Points
    791
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I found it and I don't see that it should work for my specific model and the download link is freakishly slow

    Are you sure that firmware should work for my model?



    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    you can try firmware 14.88 which is available in the FAQ SECTION of your TV (support website). Search for 14.84 and ambilight problem. In that FAQ firmware 14.88 is linked...

    Toengel@Alex

  11. #11
    Moderator
    Points: 75,774, Level: 85
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 776
    Overall activity: 43.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    810
    Points
    75,774
    Level
    85
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Guys,

    Before start trying all kinds of tricky solutions: the new SW 14.91 is on the brink of release (update 14-Dec: it is available!).
    I recommend to wait for that version. It will address several issues, incl. this 'going to Standby'.

    Mind you, this version will first become available for the 8 and 9000 series, and probably a week later for the 6 and 7000 series (2k11).

    So for the 4 and 5000 series, you still must wait for another update... (it uses another chipset). I do not have the schedule of that yet.

    Regards,
    JuAn
    Last edited by Philips; 12-14-2011 at 09:05 AM. Reason: SW is available.
    Forum Mod

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 791, Level: 7
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 159
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Groningen/Netherlands
    Posts
    5
    Points
    791
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thx now I don't know what to do anymore and I'm thinking about chewing my own hand off. The hand I used to pay this TV.

    My previous flat panel, a Samsung, NEVER needed a software update. I purchased a TV and I'm pretty sure a TV is for watching TV. Is no one here in any way asking themselves why a TV needs to be maintained like it's a Windows95 crappy clone pc?

    I sure hope that the upcoming update fixes the issues or I'll exercise my right as a consumer and never purchase a Philips device again. I had that policy for 3 years since no Philips device I purchased lived very much longer than the warranty period and now I purchased a Philips TV and a couple of months and software updates along the way I still haven't got what I paid for, a TV working the way it should!? Am I a sucker for buying Philips or what?

    So no, I don't want to wait. I've freaking crap paid almost a thousand Euro's for this 'TV'. If this were a car I would have driven it up the sales guy's but hole by now



    Quote Originally Posted by Philips View Post
    Guys,

    Before starting to try all kinds of tricky solutions: the new SW 14.91 is on the brink of release.
    I recommend to wait for that version. It will address several issues, incl. this 'going to Standby'.
    Mind you, this version will only become available first for the 8 and 9000 series and later for the 6 and 7000 series (2k11).
    So for the 4 and 5000 series, you still must wait for another update... (it uses another chipset).

    Regards,
    JuAn
    Last edited by patrickbk; 12-13-2011 at 09:00 PM.

  13. #13
    New Member
    Points: 872, Level: 7
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 78
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Duiven, The Netherlands
    Posts
    5
    Points
    872
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Since few days I have 37PF7606 and also powerd off after 4 hours.
    Reading manual: Press GREEN button and uncheck "Automatisch uitschakelen" , guess in english something like Automatic Power Off. In the dutch manual it is mentioned on page 16.

    Donald

  14. #14
    New Member
    Points: 791, Level: 7
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 159
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Groningen/Netherlands
    Posts
    5
    Points
    791
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thx and makes no difference since pressing the green button shows 'automatisch uitschakelen' is disabled already! As is 'scherm uitzetten.

    Btw.... my TV came without a manual. It was a surprise to me and the box was new, no tape was added, no tape was damaged etc and the shop told me that this is the new Philips. Download your manual on demand?!



    Quote Originally Posted by groenduiven View Post
    Since few days I have 37PF7606 and also powerd off after 4 hours.
    Reading manual: Press GREEN button and uncheck "Automatisch uitschakelen" , guess in english something like Automatic Power Off. In the dutch manual it is mentioned on page 16.

    Donald

  15. #15
    New Member
    Points: 819, Level: 7
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 131
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    819
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Same here. Mine came without a manual as well. Just a bunch of 'warranty' papers as far as I know (which is a good thing, because I'll sure be needing them!)

    So far, my purchase is a big disappointment. Like patrickbk said, it's completely rediculous to have your TV treated like a Windows PC. As a Dutchman, normally I'm proud to see Dutch products used internationally. In this case, I feel embarrassed.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. How can I disable automatic switching to EXT1 (SCART)?
    By Woodman in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-21-2011, 02:02 PM
  2. Feature Req: Automatic Sleep timer
    By matthias in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-05-2011, 09:34 AM
  3. 40PFL8664H/12: Automatic start 6:00 am
    By henning in forum TV: Software 2009 models (and older)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-27-2011, 03:44 PM
  4. Tv switches off after a few hours (37PFL6606)
    By Stardust in forum TV: Software 2011 models
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-26-2011, 11:07 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •