Results 1 to 7 of 7
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,025, Level: 8
    Level completed: 38%, Points required for next Level: 125
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Valby, Denmark
    Posts
    2
    Points
    1,025
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    HTS5591 issues

    Hey everybody

    I've bought a HTS5591/12 Home Cinema set for a few months ago. All in all the set works quite fine but I seem to have a few weird issues with it.

    First of all let me explain my entire setup.

    The TV (also Philips) is connected with a Coax cable to the BluRay player.
    The TV is also connected with a HDMI cable to my Mediacenter (Apple TV Gen. 1) - for video input from the mediacenter to the TV.
    The Mediacenter is connected with a Optical Digital Cable to the BluRay player - for audio output to the BluRay player.

    Anyway this works rather well - sound is great and everything plays nicely together... BUT all of sudden the BluRay player goes into Standby or sometimes the BluRay tray opens... sometimes both things happen. I then have to turn on the unit again and hopefully it'll work BUT sometimes it does it several times and can be hard to get into normal operational mode again - what I mean here is that one time I had to pull the power from the BluRay unit before it would start normally.

    Having searched a bit here it sounds (a bit?) like the following issue found at this link http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...s-%28V53.02%29 but this is for some others models.

    I haven't tried looking at Auto Standby or something yet - I will of course, but it still appears weird to me that my set does this.

    Is there anybody who got an idea of why or know is others are having problems with the HTS5591/12 sets?

    Btw... It's probably a good idea to mention that I've updated to the lastest firmware through the unit itself (Internet connection - wired).
    Even though I'm not near my set at the moment, the latest firmware (according to the support pages here) says that it's version 1.27


    Sincerely
    -Kim
    Last edited by Daxziz; 11-24-2011 at 02:27 PM.

  2. #2
    Platinum Member
    Points: 5,068, Level: 21
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 482
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Nettle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Padua, Italy
    Posts
    620
    Points
    5,068
    Level
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    A suggestion from my side: bring the defective unit to the shop (if the purchase is recent) or to the Philips Support Center (if it's not recent but still under warranty) of your area and ask for a replacement of the defective unit.

    I had a defective HTS5120 Soundbar (an huge quantity of sound drops using the TV combined with the soundbar) with my 8605 M/08.

    After 2 days from the purchase, I've compalined it with the customer care of Philips: Philips has authorized me to replace the defective HTS5120 soundbar with the higher HTS7140 model.
    Lack of conformity of the HTS5120 (it's HDMI 1.3 and the 8605 is a 1.4 HDMI)!

    I have to say "Thanks to Philips" for it
    Regards

  3. #3
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Frequent Poster

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    not sure if the story of yours is an ad hoc one or not...
    personally no such "lucky" experience :P

    but i think this one, if valid, philips need to fix that like that for this

    so to me, it rather needs a software fix instead of returning
    (if they are retuning you the same device, you will hv the same issue also...)

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Frequent Poster

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    also, can you confirm which firmware you are using?

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 800, Level: 7
    Level completed: 25%, Points required for next Level: 150
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    LB/Germany
    Posts
    2
    Points
    800
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Actually i have the exact same Problem. The blu ray is slot is opening and closing. The Device is turning itself on and off randomly. Now its just turning on and off again. I can't even do anything in the menu. Got it connected via opt. in from my computer, which is running a mediaserver as well. Got the HTS5591/12 connected to the network via DLAN.
    I Loaded the software 1.27 into it.
    Now that i disconnected the HDMI and DLAN it seems to work.
    Do you have a solution for this issue yet?
    Greetz
    Sebastian

  6. #6
    Platinum Member
    Points: 5,068, Level: 21
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 482
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Nettle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Padua, Italy
    Posts
    620
    Points
    5,068
    Level
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Bring the unit back to Philips support center and ask for a replacement.

    You can't waste your time to solve the HTS problems caused by someone else.

    Regards

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 800, Level: 7
    Level completed: 25%, Points required for next Level: 150
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    LB/Germany
    Posts
    2
    Points
    800
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Well this looks like a software issue for me. So exchanging the device wont help.

Similar Topics

  1. 58PFL9956 issues
    By marcelnl1 in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-02-2011, 06:58 PM
  2. 42PFL8404H/12 issues
    By ksangers in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-26-2011, 06:12 PM
  3. [HTS5591/12] Software update changes list
    By andres in forum Blu-ray: HTS Series
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-16-2011, 07:33 AM
  4. HTS5591 Software Version 1.27 has been released
    By Philips - Remko in forum Blu-ray: HTS Series
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-16-2011, 07:29 AM
  5. HTS5591/12 4:3 not stretched to 16:19 on USB/DLNA video
    By Kev D in forum Blu-ray: HTS Series
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-13-2011, 09:36 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •