Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,150, Level: 8
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 200
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    13
    Points
    1,150
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    BDP3200/12: no video on HD-DVB-C recording in mkv-container

    Hi,

    I recorded some videos from german cable tv ("Das Erste HD", DVB-C, HD, 720p50 with AC3 audio). The video plays fine on my PC and on my second Blu-ray player (LG BD370). Unfortunately the BDP3200/12 (with firmware from 11.07.2011, serial begins with GS) doesn't show any video, audio is fine. It is connect via HDMI to a Denon AVR 1611 which is connected to a LG 42LD7020. Playing DVDs and Blu-rays or MPEG2 videos from USB is working fine.

    I tried several tools to create a mkv- or avi-file (without reencoding the video, I would like to keep the original) from the elementary streams (demuxed with tsmuxer), namely mkvmerge, GDSmux, avidemux (on Windows platform).

    Here's what MediaInfo says about the streams:
    Code:
    ID                               : 6010 (0x177A)
    Menu ID                          : 132 (0x84)
    Format                           : AVC
    Format/Info                      : Advanced Video Codec
    Format profile                   : High@L4.0
    Format settings, CABAC           : Yes
    Format settings, ReFrames        : 5 frames
    Format settings, GOP             : M=16, N=32
    Codec ID                         : 27
    Duration                         : 1h 28mn
    Bit rate mode                    : Variable
    Bit rate                         : 3 209 Kbps
    Maximum bit rate                 : 11.5 Mbps
    Width                            : 1 280 pixels
    Height                           : 720 pixels
    Display aspect ratio             : 16:9
    Frame rate                       : 50.000 fps
    Color space                      : YUV
    Chroma subsampling               : 4:2:0
    Bit depth                        : 8 bits
    Scan type                        : Progressive
    Bits/(Pixel*Frame)               : 0.070
    Stream size                      : 1.98 GiB (83%)
    Color primaries                  : BT.709-5, BT.1361, IEC 61966-2-4, SMPTE RP177
    Transfer characteristics         : BT.709-5, BT.1361
    Matrix coefficients              : BT.709-5, BT.1361, IEC 61966-2-4 709, SMPTE RP177
    
    ID                               : 6022 (0x1786)
    Menu ID                          : 132 (0x84)
    Format                           : AC-3
    Format/Info                      : Audio Coding 3
    Mode extension                   : CM (complete main)
    Codec ID                         : 6
    Duration                         : 1h 28mn
    Bit rate mode                    : Constant
    Bit rate                         : 448 Kbps
    Channel(s)                       : 6 channels
    Channel positions                : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
    Sampling rate                    : 48.0 KHz
    Bit depth                        : 16 bits
    Compression mode                 : Lossy
    Delay relative to video          : 58ms
    Stream size                      : 284 MiB (12%)
    Language                         : German
    Language, more info              : Clean effects
    Comparing the data to the manual it should be supported.

    If I configure the player to use the native resolution on HDMI output my TV switches to 1280x720, so it seems it copes with the file in general. But all I see is the blu background image...

    Has anyone successfully created a mkv-file with streams like these?
    If you need more information, just ask. ;-)

    Regards,
    Lars.

  2. #2
    Points: 1,669, Level: 11
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 181
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    LE
    Posts
    112
    Points
    1,669
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi,

    I would try with lower Reframes: 4 it should be ok.

    let me know if it works

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,150, Level: 8
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 200
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    13
    Points
    1,150
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    I thought I could avoid reencoding the video because of loss in quality (and effort of time of course)... But I'll will give it a try for testing purpose.

    Thanks!
    Lars.

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,150, Level: 8
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 200
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    13
    Points
    1,150
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    According to http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...2&d=1305807479 the supported framerate varies from 6 to 30. I will also try a recode to 25fps the next days.

    Lars.

  5. #5
    Points: 1,669, Level: 11
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 181
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    LE
    Posts
    112
    Points
    1,669
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Yep, you're right!

    I didn't notice the 50 fps


    Andrea

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,150, Level: 8
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 200
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    13
    Points
    1,150
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I reencoded the video with x264 and 50 fps but 3 ref-frames. Now the player has no problem. Seem's you were right. :-)

    Now I can think about reencoding all my videos or find another solution...

    Thanks!
    Lars.

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,150, Level: 8
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 200
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    13
    Points
    1,150
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    I made some tests with different encoder settings. The player plays 720p50 video with 5 ref-frames.

    Here the info of a playable video:
    Code:
    Video
    Format                           : AVC
    Format/Info                      : Advanced Video Codec
    Format profile                   : High@L4.1
    Format settings, CABAC           : Yes
    Format settings, ReFrames        : 5 frames
    Width                            : 1 280 pixels
    Height                           : 720 pixels
    Display aspect ratio             : 16:9
    Frame rate                       : 50.000 fps
    Color space                      : YUV
    Chroma subsampling               : 4:2:0
    Bit depth                        : 8 bits
    Scan type                        : Progressive
    Writing library                  : x264 core 94 r1564 a927654
    Encoding settings                : cabac=1 / ref=5 / deblock=1:-1:-1 / analyse=0x3:0x113 / me=hex / subme=7 / psy=1 / psy_rd=1.00:0.15 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=16 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=1 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / fast_pskip=1 / chroma_qp_offset=-3 / threads=6 / sliced_threads=0 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / interlaced=0 / constrained_intra=0 / bframes=3 / b_pyramid=2 / b_adapt=1 / b_bias=0 / direct=1 / wpredb=1 / wpredp=2 / keyint=250 / keyint_min=25 / scenecut=40 / intra_refresh=0 / rc_lookahead=40 / rc=crf / mbtree=1 / crf=23.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=10 / qpmax=51 / qpstep=4 / ip_ratio=1.40 / aq=1:1.00
    Anyone from Philips around who knows why the video from the first post isn't shown? It would be a pity if I have to reencode all my videos since there's always a lost in quality. And since there are Philips TVs which can display german DVB-C HD content (Das Erste, ZDF, arte) I'm sure it's possible to teach the player to also playing it.
    Maybe I only have to patch a certain header field cause the firmware chokes on some bits?

    Regards
    Lars.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 1,032, Level: 8
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 118
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    1,032
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Differences in GOP structure?

    I contacted Philips support today with the same problem. The differences I found are in the GOP settings (GOP : M=16, N=32) which are not shown in the last file.
    Still waiting for a response from Philips. I have several HD recordings from ARD, ZDF and ARTE burned on BlueRays. My old Samsung player has no problems with those disks, but my new BDP 5200-12 can' play those disks.

    FSNAVI

  9. #9
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,271, Level: 69
    Level completed: 38%, Points required for next Level: 879
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,962
    Points
    50,271
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 168 Times in 150 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    did you test it only from BD or also from USB... sometimes there are differences...

    Toengel@Alex

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 1,032, Level: 8
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 118
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    1,032
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    did you test it only from BD or also from USB... sometimes there are differences...

    Toengel@Alex

    I tested it from BD-R and also via USB. The same result. My test file is 20MB. I would very much appreciate to email this file somebody who can test this with the BDP 5200-12.


    Regards
    FSNAVI

  11. #11
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,271, Level: 69
    Level completed: 38%, Points required for next Level: 879
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,962
    Points
    50,271
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 168 Times in 150 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    you can upload the video somewhere (e.g. megaupload)... and post the link.

    Toengel@Alex

  12. #12
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,150, Level: 8
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 200
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    13
    Points
    1,150
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    Nice to hear that I'm not the only one. Which tools do you use to get the video properties? Something different than MediaInfo?
    I will try to re-encode the video with x264 and some settings to get as close to the original settings as possible to detect the culprit.
    As written my LG BD370 plays this video without any problems, too.

    Lars.

  13. #13
    New Member
    Points: 1,032, Level: 8
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 118
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    1,032
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by flensrocker View Post
    Hi,

    Which tools do you use to get the video properties? Something different than MediaInfo?

    Lars.
    I'm using MediaInfo. Other tools show the same.

    I will try to re-encode the video with x264 and some settings to get as close to the original settings as possible to detect the culprit.
    I did that already and suppose that the gop structure is the culprit. *Format_Settings_GOP : M=16, N=32*

    FSNAVI

  14. #14
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,150, Level: 8
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 200
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    13
    Points
    1,150
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    Quote Originally Posted by FSNAVI View Post
    I did that already and suppose that the gop structure is the culprit. *Format_Settings_GOP : M=16, N=32*
    Yes, I read your post. I will double check, just to be sure.

    Thanks for your help!

    Lars.

  15. #15
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi flensrocker,

    Please check your personal messages.

    Regards

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •