Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 33

Topic: to philips

  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,268, Level: 13
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 182
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,268
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4

    to philips

    is any more updates coming out for 9705 if yes how long we looking at

  2. #2
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    What do you expect to get fixed?

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,268, Level: 13
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 182
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,268
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by petasis View Post
    What do you expect to get fixed?
    im hoping for the 2d picuter to be better as now my new tv is not good as my last one the black not as good and the contras

  4. #4
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by ali54 View Post
    im hoping for the 2d picuter to be better as now my new tv is not good as my last one the black not as good and the contras
    What model is your new TV?

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,268, Level: 13
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 182
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,268
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by petasis View Post
    What model is your new TV?
    its a same tv 9705 but week 1/2011 my old one was week 40

  6. #6
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    And why do you say that the black levels are not good?
    Is local dimming closed?
    What are your settings?
    Contrast, Brightness and local dimming ones?

  7. #7
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,268, Level: 13
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 182
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,268
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by petasis View Post
    And why do you say that the black levels are not good?
    Is local dimming closed?
    What are your settings?
    Contrast, Brightness and local dimming ones?
    the settings are the same as before i have the freeviwe hd on standerd and bluray on cinema it looks to me in some scens its not dimming much as my old tv and becuse of this at times the pictuer is washed out.i was in richer sound this weekend and it was philips 7666 there with other tvs like lg sharp and pansoinc and the philips had the wors balck bit washed out pictuer other tvs look good so i dont no whats going on with this philips tv

  8. #8
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Can you write your settings in a post?
    The 9705 does not have worse blacks than any of the TVs you mention.

  9. #9
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,268, Level: 13
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 182
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,268
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    i no 9705 dont have the wors black my old tv the black was so strong the pictuer pop out the screen but this new ones are poor comper to the old 9705 trust me if you see the pictuer you be dispointed like i said the settings are on default
    if you rember me from av forum i all ways said the pictuer of the 9705 is wicked but not this one i got now

  10. #10
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Yes, I know about the avforums, and how easily people there try to partition production by "weeks" and "months", usually with no evidence.
    I don't believe easily such separations.

    But, I would advise you to post your settings here. It is a good start to understand what you are seeing. I am afraid that if you don't start providing details, we cannot help you.

    Don't expect that a firmware will magically solve your problems, especially since Philips is not aware about it. You have to somehow describe it better. And the settings you have on your TV, along with some photos are a good start.

  11. #11
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,268, Level: 13
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 182
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,268
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by petasis View Post
    Yes, I know about the avforums, and how easily people there try to partition production by "weeks" and "months", usually with no evidence.
    I don't believe easily such separations.

    But, I would advise you to post your settings here. It is a good start to understand what you are seeing. I am afraid that if you don't start providing details, we cannot help you.

    Don't expect that a firmware will magically solve your problems, especially since Philips is not aware about it. You have to somehow describe it better. And the settings you have on your TV, along with some photos are a good start.
    thanx for all your replays but i dident ask for help i just like to no if going to be any more updates for my tv
    as its going to be very hard to fix such problem just talking on the forum.but the problem in having at times looks like the brighness is turn up to much and it washing the black i can fix this by turning the brighnees down and turning on dynamic contras how avere this will case problem in over sence wich the tv suold be doing that by it self.i had the shop to look at it they told me its gamma shift

  12. #12
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    I don't expect any firmware with picture enhancements. The only problem known is the change when subtitles appear. If you are facing another problem, I think you should report it somewhere, in order to have any chance of fixing.

    There is a list here: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...-%28TV550R1%29

  13. #13
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,881, Level: 18
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 369
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Freddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    219
    Points
    3,881
    Level
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by ali54 View Post
    the problem in having at times looks like the brighness is turn up to much and it washing the black i can fix this by turning the brighnees down and turning on dynamic contras how avere this will case problem in over sence wich the tv suold be doing that by it self.i had the shop to look at it they told me its gamma shift
    Hi Ali,

    we've met over on avforums as well. Of course it is strange that you're saying the new one acts completely different compared to the old one, but I would still think there is a way to counter this.
    Based on what you're saying, I would suggest:

    - first of all, turn Gamma up by 1 (or maybe even 2);
    - if that's not enough, turn Brightness down a couple of points;
    - but do not change Perfect Contrast.

    Did you try all of these already?...

  14. #14
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,268, Level: 13
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 182
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,268
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    the problem its not the stettings i just got the down staire 28" samsung side by side and the pictuer looks a same untill i change the samsung hdmi black level then the philips black looks wash out at times

  15. #15
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by ali54 View Post
    the problem its not the stettings i just got the down staire 28" samsung side by side and the pictuer looks a same untill i change the samsung hdmi black level then the philips black looks wash out at times
    I hope that you have noticed that two people try to advice you, and you don't want to share the settings you have put on your TV.

    Everything that you describe suggests that the setting you have put are wrong.

    I hope you have not copied the flatpanelHD ones, and expect them to work...

    The brightness should be at 38 for video levels (i.e. DVB-T), and at 51 for PC levels (0-255).

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •