View Poll Results: Do you want an "audio delay" feature in HMP devices?

Voters
8. You may not vote on this poll
  • YES, it's a MUST-HAVE

    8 100.00%
  • NO

    0 0%
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,416, Level: 70
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 134
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    52,416
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Exclamation [Wish] Please add an "audio delay" option for Home Media Player devices (HMP)

    Dear all,

    I'm thinking about buying a Philips Home Media Player (HMP3000, HMP5000 etc.). However, there is one reason which prevents me of buying a HMP: the LACK of a audio delay function.

    The problem is the following:
    • HMP would be connected to TV with HDMI
    • Since Philips TVs do not support DTS, I need to connect the HMP directly with my amplifier (e.g. SPDIF)
    • However, due to the image processing algorithms, the TV needs some miliseconds to display an image
    • => this results in a delay between the video and audio

    For this reason, I need a audio delay option in the HMP device. For example, the Blu-ray player BDP9600 has such a feature for digital audio output.

    Please, Philips, add this feature in an upcoming firmware update for the HMP devices!

    Toengel@Alex

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    i think this audio delay function does a great value-added job...
    as i can see the forumers are requesting this feature here & there in the forum on Home Theatre and also on Blu-rays...

    hey all, if you feel in the same way, please support the suggestion from Toengel...

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,082, Level: 8
    Level completed: 66%, Points required for next Level: 68
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    17
    Points
    1,082
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I support this useful request. Furthermore I want to ask the Philips Product Management Team about future support of BluRay-ISO container on their Mediaplayer, including 3D HD framepacking capability. This stops me at the moment from buying a Philips mediaplayer, even though my complete remaining TV-infrastructure is based on Philips products only (TV, BD-Player, Soundbar).
    Last edited by centpede; 02-02-2012 at 08:05 AM. Reason: spelling mistake

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 1,055, Level: 8
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 95
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Hamburg/Germany
    Posts
    8
    Points
    1,055
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    yes. i also support this request. i think this feature will be usefull in alle Video divices with an audio output. (TV, BD-Player -> Soundbar)

  5. #5
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,416, Level: 70
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 134
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    52,416
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    I also think, that this feature is a buzzword for marketing!

    Toengel@Alex

  6. #6
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    I think, this audio delay is a feature, which would be obsolete if the TV would loop through the DTS audio signal. To have a consistent eco system, this should be the priority.

    Second, it would be good, if that delay would automatically applied. Like a back channel to the HMP. Something like audio out of the TV is connected to HMP input and the HMP calculates the delay of the DTS out from measuring the difference of both signals.
    Sounds a little complicated, but should work.

  7. #7
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,416, Level: 70
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 134
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    52,416
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    this idea is great - however, it would only work, if one connects the HMP with the TV's HDMI-ARC - but mostly it is used to connect a soundbar.

    So - what's your opinion in the poll (scroll to the beginning of the page *G*).

    Toengel@Alex

  8. #8
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Haha, you had a close look at the counts. I really did not make a decision.

    Since I do not like ugly workarounds and this seems to be one. To adjust a seperate delay to have the audio matching to the video and even doing that by hand is not a good user experience. I do not want o have such a system aat my home. I want to have it working with exactly matching audio/video with "just one tip of your finger" to get it play ...
    The technology we have is such powerful but often too complicated, just by bad designs.

    Such problems prevent me from spending money on that.

    I'm really thinking about a HTS and DTS is a nice thing, but if I need such workarounds, I might have to wait until I will find proper devices ...

  9. #9
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,129, Level: 12
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    zwijndrecht
    Posts
    25
    Points
    2,129
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    i have HMP 5000, connected byHDMI to tv and optical to HTS surround sysem, i do not get delay on sound compared to movie.
    i play from harddisk, mkv and h264 files.
    also i found in the options the line: sound synchronizing or something like that, is that a solution for you?
    if i misunderstood your remarks i apologise

  10. #10
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,416, Level: 70
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 134
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    52,416
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    I bet you have also connected your TV with your HTS via HDMI-ARC, right? If yes, I think this is the reason for being synchronized.

    However, I didn' have bought any HMP yet... just waiting for the right HMPx000 ;-)

    Toengel@Alex

  11. #11
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,129, Level: 12
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    zwijndrecht
    Posts
    25
    Points
    2,129
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    @Toengel,
    yes that is correct, HTS is connected with HDMI-Arc.
    does that solve a part of the problem you described?
    most TV sets have stereo or a dolby sound system , but not DTS, so you always need the connection to a surround system?
    in the configuration of HMP 5000 there is an option"lipsynchronisation"in the audio;choose auto/off /manual, is that what you mean by audiodelay?

    probably you are technically far ahead of me , so i try to understand what exactly you mean

  12. #12
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,416, Level: 70
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 134
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    52,416
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    you can test the following. Watch a DTS movie with your HMP and switch your HTS to SPDIF (to your HMP). Additionally, do NOT mute your TV. If now the sound of the TV is in line with your HTS (no echoes), the Lip Sync is perfect.

    Consequently, the TV sends the Lip Sync command to your HMP and the HMP will output the audio via SPDIF with an correct delay.

    That's the perfect solution.

    The reason I'm asking for this feature is the following. I have a BDP9600 connected to my Philips TV (via HDMI). The BDP is connected to my Receiver with SPDIF. If my receiver output the BDP sound and my TV speakers are on - I have a massive delay (echo). However, the BDP does not have a so called "Lip Sync", but an "audio delay" option where I can setup some delay in milliseconds - however, it's done manually (and never perfect).

    Toengel@Alex

  13. #13
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,129, Level: 12
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    zwijndrecht
    Posts
    25
    Points
    2,129
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    thx for the explanation,my HTS(incl bluray) can be switched off on sound ,as a message comes up
    TV sound or HTS sound.
    i must enjoy DTS on my HTS , and surprisingly the lipsynch is on most files i played (MKV,H264)perfect

Similar Topics

  1. "The server is not currently available." Cannot add podcast via Streamium Management
    By jhennes2 in forum Sound: Other Wireless Audio Models
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-29-2011, 12:24 PM
  2. There is no option "Prologic II Mode" on my HTS3540/98
    By n.brengky in forum Sound: Other Models
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-06-2011, 08:04 AM
  3. [BDP8000] Missing "Audio Delay" Option a bug?
    By Toengel in forum Blu-ray: BDP8000 Series
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-25-2011, 06:31 AM
  4. [Wish] Add the subtitles "Character set" also in the global settings
    By stoyan89 in forum Blu-ray: Share Your Wish List and Insights
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-14-2011, 04:06 AM
  5. [Wish] Add audio delay configuration from option menu also to main configuration
    By Toengel in forum Blu-ray: Share Your Wish List and Insights
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-21-2011, 04:44 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •