Results 1 to 8 of 8

Topic: Subtitles?

  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 845, Level: 7
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 105
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Split, Croatia
    Posts
    1
    Points
    845
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Subtitles?

    Hi, well I read the manual, but I don't have much knowledge about TVs, so I hope that you guys will be able to help me. I was wondering why this TV model (Philips, 42PFL3605H/12) cant read/display subtitles when I play movies via USB? Thanks

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,113, Level: 72
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 1,437
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,136
    Points
    54,113
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 196 Times in 175 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    no - your TV can't read subtitles such as *.SRT.

    It's a feature of 2011 TVs (starting from 5806 I think).

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 742, Level: 6
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 8
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3
    Points
    742
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    So there is 0 chance for a 5000series 2010 model to get this subs issue resolved with upcoming firmwares? A definite answer would be great so i could start saving for a decent media player (not philips ofc)

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,113, Level: 72
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 1,437
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,136
    Points
    54,113
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 196 Times in 175 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    please see: feature 1 - http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...mware-(TV550R1)

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 742, Level: 6
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 8
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3
    Points
    742
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Ok, if i may ask - you seem to be well informed. Is there any way (some software method or anything) to play mkvs with subs, besides hardcoding?

    Tnx for reply

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Points: 19,825, Level: 42
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 25
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,894
    Points
    19,825
    Level
    42
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 47 Times in 42 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    no. Sorry but there is no way to have Subtitles displayed.
    They must be hardcoded to the Video itself.

    Regards
    Thomas

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 695, Level: 6
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 55
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    2
    Points
    695
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    no - your TV can't read subtitles such as *.SRT.

    It's a feature of 2011 TVs (starting from 5806 I think).

    Toengel@Alex

    7000 also can't read subtitles... it's so hi tech that philips should pay NASA to implemet such a feature

  8. #8
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,113, Level: 72
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 1,437
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,136
    Points
    54,113
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 196 Times in 175 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    of course the 7000 series can read SRT subtitles (2011 TVs). You only need to update to the latest firmware. I think, it was introduced with firmware 14.84.

    Toengel@Alex

Similar Topics

  1. Subtitles Font
    By n_etf in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-11-2011, 10:34 PM
  2. Opaque box in subtitles
    By Sergio in forum Blu-ray: Share Your Wish List and Insights
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-25-2011, 02:12 AM
  3. Subtitles
    By cupra4 in forum TV: Software 2010 models
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-29-2011, 05:52 PM
  4. 40PFL5605H subtitles using USB
    By vasilaronios in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-21-2011, 06:14 PM
  5. HTS9140 supported subtitles
    By KinkyGG in forum Blu-ray: HTS Series
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-03-2011, 09:11 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •