Results 1 to 7 of 7
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 837, Level: 7
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 113
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2
    Points
    837
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Thumbs down Music Alarm Clock not reliable

    Hi,

    I have several times observed a really strange behavior of the alarm clock in "music" mode. The alarm clock mostly wakes me up with a very loud beep noise instead of smooth music from the selected internet stream. That is really shocking when it starts that loud noise and your heart starts beating fast! Ok, not so bad to be awake immediately, but its not my intended way of waking up.

    Additionally I observed several times, that - when the alarm clock was enabled for working days - the device starts playing music at random times, sometimes over the day, but also over night. You can imagine, that this is also not satisfying.

    Sometimes the device was automatically switched of by the sleep timer (what works reliable until today), but I don't know, if there is any dependency on the strange behavior of the alarm clock.

    That is really disappointing, because I wanted to use it to replace the old simple alarm clock in our bedroom. But with that device i had given up trying to become satisfied with the implementation of this feature.

    I think, there is still a lot work to do in the firmware.... it is not mature.

    Last but not least, my feature request: The alarm clock should also trigger to display the weather forecast for the day. That would be really cool and useful, as the device is already connected to the internet. That would add real value compared to my old stupid alarm clock.

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,070, Level: 12
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 80
    Overall activity: 19.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    95
    Points
    2,070
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    I don't have problem with the music alarm. It works fine. Which radio station you try to use for your wake-up (beeping) ? Also, from where did start the playback (selection of the station) ? From Favourites, Presets or ?

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,592, Level: 17
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 258
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    French Alps
    Posts
    195
    Points
    3,592
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by netmic View Post
    Hi,
    Last but not least, my feature request: The alarm clock should also trigger to display the weather forecast for the day. That would be really cool and useful, as the device is already connected to the internet. That would add real value compared to my old stupid alarm clock.
    Agree...that's what my very old and cheap Freecom MusicPal does. The MusicPal HW and sound are very bad but the firmware and what it allows are miles ahead what Philips offer. You can display a scrolling banner that displays weather, news, etc. from the channel you wish. I would have expected Philips to offer these services, sounds indeed logic when you connect such device to the Internet.
    Last edited by k1200rs; 12-04-2011 at 04:08 PM.

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,864, Level: 12
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 286
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Hongkong
    Posts
    100
    Points
    1,864
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3

    Please check this :

    I hope nobody in the home has a smartphone ( Iphone or android) & using remote control app. Such strange things can happpen with that control as you do not come to know who is controlling it. Hope you do not have a naughty kid in your home.








    Quote Originally Posted by k1200rs View Post
    Agree...that's what my very old and cheap Freecom MusicPal does. The MusicPal HW and sound are very bad but the firmware and what it allows are miles ahead what Philips offer. You can display a scrolling banner that displays weather, news, etc. from the channel you wish. I would have expected Philips to offer these services, sounds indeed logic when you connect such device to the Internet.

  5. #5
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Frequent Poster

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by fromsomewhere View Post
    I hope nobody in the home has a smartphone ( Iphone or android) & using remote control app. Such strange things can happpen with that control as you do not come to know who is controlling it. Hope you do not have a naughty kid in your home.
    this is true. quite fun to me though...

  6. #6
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,385, Level: 13
    Level completed: 79%, Points required for next Level: 65
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    88
    Points
    2,385
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Are you sure that the NP3900's clock is set correctly?

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 837, Level: 7
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 113
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2
    Points
    837
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    the system clock is configured to be set automatically by an internet time server.
    The stream that I want to wake me up softly is Antenne Bayern Chillout Lounge.
    I just select and play it, adjust the volume and than either set the device directly to standby or let the sleep timer do this job.

    And last but not least, we don't have neither children yet nor a pet which might play any tricks with us by using a remote app...
    Last edited by netmic; 12-07-2011 at 08:18 PM.

Similar Topics

  1. 40pfl6606h712 Clock on the screen
    By Manuel in forum TV: Software 2011 models
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-17-2011, 05:55 PM
  2. NP3700 no alarm
    By satfreak in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-08-2011, 09:46 AM
  3. Clock still not accurate
    By Bassgeye in forum TV: Software 2010 models
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-20-2011, 06:17 PM
  4. We like a clock at NetTV home
    By bta in forum Smart TV: User Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-08-2011, 03:18 PM
  5. Clock at What on is often frozen
    By bta in forum TV: Software 2010 models
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-19-2011, 05:44 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •