Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 946, Level: 7
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    8
    Points
    946
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    wac 3500 issues, i need help

    I have a problem......... my WAC 3500 has stopped powering up, so like many i thought it was time to take off the cover and have a look. after a little research i found that the power board is a common issue something to do with cheap capacitors but have found nothing that looks like the picture i have seen in the internet for replacement parts but i have found a board at the top of my machine on the right hand side that stands upright.

    this board i reffer to seems to have brown mess around some of the capacitors (470 the only number i found) and looks to be the same board that hold the ethernet port. I have tried to find a price for this board and rangs phillips for advice and a part number but the only advice i got was to take it to a shop and have someone find the part number for me (trying not to spend more than the stereo is worth here)

    Might anyone know what this part is and where i might be able to find it.

    Summary for anyone scanning through..... Board directly behind ethernet port upright just inside right hand side cover wac 3500

    Please help am desperate not to lose content

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,084, Level: 8
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Kenilworth,UK
    Posts
    29
    Points
    1,084
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi there,

    I would suggest looking at this thread on the old Streamium Cafe forum (mods please note this is a PHILIPS forum)

    http://www.streamiumcafe.com/vBullet...ad.php?t=22611

    Lots of posts in this thread concerning resolving the issue you have.

    Hope it helps.

    Mods. The above thread from Streamium Cafe needs to go into the knowledgebase.

    Cheers

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 946, Level: 7
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    8
    Points
    946
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Many thanks will see what i can do and let you know

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Thanks flimflam for your suggestion!

    Regards,
    Forum Mod

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 889, Level: 7
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 61
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    PARIS
    Posts
    17
    Points
    889
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I took my Wac3500 to pieces and effectively i noted that the alimentation was down as i read on this forum. Many spare parts were melted.
    I took the opportunty to remove the hard disk and i bought a special box with alimentation and USB output ( USB to ATA/ATAPI bridge )
    The installation worked well but unfortunately my computer ( w7) doen't recognize the files inside. I mean i cannot see it on my work pannel ( work station - computer ) but i can see it in Disk management with the different volumes.
    Maybe it exist a solution with the software wachandler ?
    Do you have any idea regarding this problem knowing that i want to get back what is registred on this HDD ,

    Best regards

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,084, Level: 8
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Kenilworth,UK
    Posts
    29
    Points
    1,084
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi there,
    You are better off trying to read the hard drive whilst in Linux. Try Ubuntu Live and boot it from CD/USB if you don't want to install it.
    You'll find your music files in the largest partition (the last one I believe).
    If it's the same as the WAC700 then they'll be under a MUSIC folder. Then you'll see sub-folders 27,28,29,30 etc. Each sub-folder contains your music MP3's labelled for(folder 27) instance 27000.mp3, 27001.mp3, 27002.mp3 etc.

    This is assuming your hard drive is not damaged. But it is still possible to recover if it is. I've used a program called TestDisk by CGSecurity to recover the music files from a faulty Streamium hard disk.

    Good luck and let us know if you suceed or not.

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 889, Level: 7
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 61
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    PARIS
    Posts
    17
    Points
    889
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by flimflam View Post
    Hi there,
    You are better off trying to read the hard drive whilst in Linux. Try Ubuntu Live and boot it from CD/USB if you don't want to install it.
    You'll find your music files in the largest partition (the last one I believe).
    If it's the same as the WAC700 then they'll be under a MUSIC folder. Then you'll see sub-folders 27,28,29,30 etc. Each sub-folder contains your music MP3's labelled for(folder 27) instance 27000.mp3, 27001.mp3, 27002.mp3 etc.

    This is assuming your hard drive is not damaged. But it is still possible to recover if it is. I've used a program called TestDisk by CGSecurity to recover the music files from a faulty Streamium hard disk.

    Good luck and let us know if you suceed or not.
    Thank you, your proceed work well, you're a genius dear flimflam
    I succeeded in tranfering the totality of the dd of my old wac3500 on my pc.

    Furthermore, the transfer was very fast 30 mn for 11 500 files

    I tried to copy on my MC500H, it worked well but with file with just a number

    The problem still remains because i have files without any tags ( title, ....) and it's the longest to enter for each file .

    I forgot to tell you , i allready have on my PC all the contents ( at different places...) sometimes with bad tags and i rewrited for the differents cases the tag in WADM ( I spent days and days of work on it !! ) . I hope this explanations are clear enought for you.

    What is surprising is that in linux when i play music, the cover of the song appear with the title. There certainly a solution to get back titles and so on.

    Could you help me again, we nearly come to an end

    One more time thank you for your precious help

    Guy ( my first name )

  8. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 889, Level: 7
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 61
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    PARIS
    Posts
    17
    Points
    889
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by yug75015 View Post
    Thank you, your proceed work well, you're a genius dear flimflam
    I succeeded in tranfering the totality of the dd of my old wac3500 on my pc.

    Furthermore, the transfer was very fast 30 mn for 11 500 files

    I tried to copy on my MC500H, it worked well but with file with just a number

    The problem still remains because i have files without any tags ( title, ....) and it's the longest to enter for each file .

    I forgot to tell you , i allready have on my PC all the contents ( at different places...) sometimes with bad tags and i rewrited for the differents cases the tag in WADM ( I spent days and days of work on it !! ) . I hope this explanations are clear enought for you.

    What is surprising is that in linux when i play music, the cover of the song appear with the title. There certainly a solution to get back titles and so on.

    Could you help me again, we nearly come to an end

    One more time thank you for your precious help

    Guy ( my first name )
    Sorry, i tested with wrong files without any tags.
    In fact after reviewing the files, the majority of them have the tags and the copy on my new WADM is working well !!
    So my problem is solved, no need to search any more

    have good evening and thank you again dear flimflam

    cheers

    guy

  9. #9
    Bronze Member
    Points: 889, Level: 7
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 61
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    PARIS
    Posts
    17
    Points
    889
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by yug75015 View Post
    Sorry, i tested with wrong files without any tags.
    In fact after reviewing the files, the majority of them have the tags and the copy on my new WADM is working well !!
    So my problem is solved, no need to search any more

    have good evening and thank you again dear flimflam

    cheers

    guy
    It remains a mystery : why certain files has tag ( often not complete ) and others without any tags

    my impression : the files with tags had tags because they had tags before the copy on WADM

    I do not understand this problem because i transfer the complete contents of my hd from my wac3500/WADM and there was tags everywhere.

    i'm very interesting of your analysis dear flimflam, maybe you have more time a solution

    cheers

    PS. Now i've a lot of work to complete the tags missing but i'm happy of the result of my research thanks to your help

  10. #10
    Gold Member
    Points: 3,840, Level: 17
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    Overdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    317
    Points
    3,840
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi !

    Only the tracks that had tags before you uploaded them to your WAC using WADM or WACHandler will still have the tracks when you make a raw copy of them from the Harddisk of the WAC again.
    Tracks that were ripped from a CD on the WAC won't have any tags whatsoever except if you use WACHandler to copy the tracks from a (working ) WAC back to your PC.

    Cheers !

  11. #11
    Bronze Member
    Points: 889, Level: 7
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 61
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    PARIS
    Posts
    17
    Points
    889
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Tias View Post
    Hi !

    Only the tracks that had tags before you uploaded them to your WAC using WADM or WACHandler will still have the tracks when you make a raw copy of them from the Harddisk of the WAC again.
    Tracks that were ripped from a CD on the WAC won't have any tags whatsoever except if you use WACHandler to copy the tracks from a (working ) WAC back to your PC.

    Cheers !
    Thank you for your answer, effectively i saw the results and it's better to tag definitively each files before transfering on WADM.
    I thing it's better to do that thanks to Wachandler and after upload to the device

    We learn every day

    Cheers

  12. #12
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,084, Level: 8
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Kenilworth,UK
    Posts
    29
    Points
    1,084
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Guy,

    Couple of free applications I use for tagging my music are:

    (1) WinAmp
    I use this when I have music files without any tag information. After loading the files into the Winamp library I then select the files and do right mouse button and select option : Send To: --> Auto-Tag
    Winamp will then scan through the music files and attempt to identify by 'listening' to each track and from it's fingerprint generate the album,track name, artist etc. You get a chance to review before the tags are applied. It's not 100% accurate but I've tagged 100's of unknown files this way and it's a lot quicker than doing it manually.

    (2) MediaMonkey version 4.1 and MP3Tag
    I use both of these applications to lookup missing tag information and album art.
    My preference is Media Monkey but others like MP3Tag too.

    Good luck.

  13. #13
    New Member
    Points: 946, Level: 7
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    8
    Points
    946
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have at the moment got my entire stereo in bits and sprayed across the kitchen, and upon close inspection i have found that i have no bulging on the capacitors (noted in many places to be cheap) but on the PSU i have found ic001 chip to have scorching around it on both sides of the board.

    Does this mean that the unit is disolved and i need to look to rescue the music on the HDD.

    I really am starting to wish i hadnt got this unit as i have a few hundred quids worth of scrap metal holding rather a lot of my music to ransom, any ideas or help ??????????

  14. #14
    Bronze Member
    Points: 889, Level: 7
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 61
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    PARIS
    Posts
    17
    Points
    889
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by flimflam View Post
    Hi Guy,

    Couple of free applications I use for tagging my music are:

    (1) WinAmp
    I use this when I have music files without any tag information. After loading the files into the Winamp library I then select the files and do right mouse button and select option : Send To: --> Auto-Tag
    Winamp will then scan through the music files and attempt to identify by 'listening' to each track and from it's fingerprint generate the album,track name, artist etc. You get a chance to review before the tags are applied. It's not 100% accurate but I've tagged 100's of unknown files this way and it's a lot quicker than doing it manually.

    (2) MediaMonkey version 4.1 and MP3Tag
    I use both of these applications to lookup missing tag information and album art.
    My preference is Media Monkey but others like MP3Tag too.

    Good luck.
    dear flimflam,
    thank you for your advices.
    I tried MediaMonkey version 4.0.1.1461 because i didn't find your version
    It's very complete maybe a little bit complicated and i was'nt lucky with automatic tag on internet.I had very little success.
    Now i'll try WinAmp and i'll say to you if it's better

    Happy christmas dear flimflam

    guy

  15. #15
    New Member
    Points: 946, Level: 7
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    8
    Points
    946
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    A breif update........

    Chip found to be at fault was labled ICE3B0565 which according to the interweb is a start up chip. so i have ordered from the states to be delivered. if this works all will be good and i will post again to let you know what happens with this.

    On another note....... i could order a mnimum of 2 chips so if this works and anyone else should have the same problem there may well be a spare chip that i am will to sell, but time will tell if this works.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. HTS5591 issues
    By Daxziz in forum Blu-ray: HTS Series
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-06-2011, 05:23 PM
  2. mci 500, Wac 7500 and other old sreamium devices not supported
    By diverchy in forum Apps: MyRemote App (for Android)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-04-2011, 10:50 AM
  3. My Remote with NP 3500
    By MRO in forum Apps: MyRemote App (for Android)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-27-2011, 10:08 PM
  4. 58PFL9956 issues
    By marcelnl1 in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-02-2011, 07:58 PM
  5. WIFI connect issues
    By Big in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-14-2011, 07:07 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •