Results 1 to 11 of 11
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 859, Level: 7
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 91
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Kuwait
    Posts
    6
    Points
    859
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Online s/w Update and now no internet connectivity ?

    One week old and was working fine until today when i did an online software upgrade, nothing else has changed but it will not connect to internet (internet radio, internet updates etc.) anymore. Had several sessions but not resolved. I am in Kuwait and was asked to contact customer support here and given number 9200 25551 but that is not a valid working number. So now i have a 1 week old product which is no longer 100% functional. Can i roll back the software as i am convinced that is the issue ? I am less than impressed now with Phillips products and support

    Any ideas anyone has greatly appreciated.

    Regards
    Barry

  2. #2
    New Member
    Points: 859, Level: 7
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 91
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Kuwait
    Posts
    6
    Points
    859
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Angry The Plot Thickens ...

    This issue is really driving me crazy and sad to say level of tech. support very poor.
    I have restored many times & rebooted, also rebooted router many times. Everytime the unit logs (hard wired ethernet connection) into my network and i can see it in the DHCP table as present yet still will not connect to the internet.
    My friend bought the same unit before he knew of my problems so we tried that hard wired to my router, straight out of the box, first internet connection & original firmware.. Well guess what .... it connected to the internet immediately as mine first did and streamed internet radio fine.
    So we then took back to his department as now as far as i was concerned i had isolated the problem to my unit, as internt connection/router obviously fine. Guess what ... will not connect to the internet on his connection now ! Tonight we will retry on my connection and i am 99% sure it will not connect.
    What on earth is going on here ? Almost as if the unit will connect once only, then disconnect and that's it no more internet. I am no expert on networking but also no dummy but heck this is so frustrating ! Guess i will have to return the unit and they will probably just do a usb firmware reflash, then i will connect once and leave it .... not good though.
    Anyone else conme across this crazy phenomena ?
    One time connectivity it seems ... connect, enjoy but disconnect and then its bin time !
    Come on Phillips, sort this else here's one customer you gonna lose for good !!!

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi barrycarr,

    I have send you a personal message.

    Regards,
    Forum Mod

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 859, Level: 7
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 91
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Kuwait
    Posts
    6
    Points
    859
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Requested Details

    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Remko View Post
    Hi barrycarr,

    I have send you a personal message.

    Regards,
    Hi Remko,
    I have pm'd you with the requested info.

    Regards
    Barry

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 859, Level: 7
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 91
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Kuwait
    Posts
    6
    Points
    859
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Further Tests

    ok well never managed to get my friends unit tried again on my internet connection. Tried a 3rd connection, my friends (straight out of box) connected immediately with no hesitation, mine ... no chance as i suspected.
    So problem now isolated to a) my unit or b) the streamium server locking me out.
    Just hope it gets fixed soon else it's going straight back to the dealers !

    Hoping !

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 859, Level: 7
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 91
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Kuwait
    Posts
    6
    Points
    859
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Now have a resolution.
    I am the first to complain if a purchased product does not live up to what is claimed and reliably ..... i am also the first to give thanks when a problem is rectified.
    I can now access internet radio, nothing done my end so i can only assume the problem was server side @ Phillips. The only issue now is favourites which are listed on my account but do not as yet appear in the unit, however a small issue and i am confident it will be resolved.
    So in summation a big thank you to Phillips support and especially Remko.
    Well done and thank you !

    Regards
    Barry

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 599, Level: 6
    Level completed: 25%, Points required for next Level: 151
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    4
    Points
    599
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Could you please post a solution so we can search for it?
    I have the same problem!
    I have local network connectivity and can stream between the units but the MCI298 wont access the Internet!
    I've even put it with static IP on DMZ but no difference.
    Whats the "secret" solution for this one issue?

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 859, Level: 7
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 91
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Kuwait
    Posts
    6
    Points
    859
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Owallen,
    As i stated, i did nothing my end other than report the issue to Phillips.
    Therefore as i say, i can only assume that the problem was server side with Phillips.

    Regards

  9. #9
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,401, Level: 10
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 149
    Overall activity: 36.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    242
    Points
    1,401
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Think you need to put your MAc and id number of your MCI

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 599, Level: 6
    Level completed: 25%, Points required for next Level: 151
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    4
    Points
    599
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I had the same problem when I first bought the unit but unfortunatley I don't remember the solution.... It's a router/firewall issue. I connected through my cell phone as a WiFi hotspot and that worked fine but through my Asus RT-N56U router it wont pass through even with DMZ configured. Still no problem accessing stuff on the LAN...
    Anyway, as soon as things start to work it crashes or freezes or something else that wont let me use it so maybe I should just get it out of my life... :-/
    Also, DHCP doesn't work either with this router as all our other equipment does.... It tries for a couple of minute s then it gives up and I have to set a static IP....
    Last edited by owallen; 03-19-2012 at 06:50 PM. Reason: adding and spelling

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 599, Level: 6
    Level completed: 25%, Points required for next Level: 151
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    4
    Points
    599
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    ...and suddenly it worked. Let's see how long...

Similar Topics

  1. NP3900 - bad WLAN connectivity
    By tez in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-06-2011, 02:54 PM
  2. 40PFL5706/F7 WIFI Setup and Connectivity Issues
    By Dominus in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-23-2011, 09:09 AM
  3. Online Registration
    By steven_c in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-26-2011, 11:22 AM
  4. BDP7500B2 Internet update not possible with 1.53
    By pechochina in forum Blu-ray: BDP7000 Series
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-17-2011, 08:13 AM
  5. ARD Mediathek now online through Nettv!
    By Daniel03 in forum Smart TV: Apps
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-21-2010, 07:25 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •