Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 870, Level: 7
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 80
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4
    Points
    870
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Post Feature Req: Jump to time in movie streaming

    I really do not know if this is the correct place to post it. But in my opinion it should match.

    It is annyoing if your dlna streaming is interrupted by anything. Be it slow wlan connection, network errors or just because someone want's it.
    BUT!
    I think many people have no problem to start the movie again. But here comes it. Lets say you are watching lord of the rings (extended edition) part 3 and your stream crashes after 2.5 hours of watching...
    I think you allready know what i mean.

    Question:
    How long would it take to fast forward at the current state to the position you were?

    Answer:
    I do not want to calculate it. It is better you do not know it... (guess: 30min+)

    Solution:
    How about a function that you can use and just jump to a time in the movie? Lets say you open it through the options menu and you are asked to what time you want to go. Just insert the time: 1-8-0 and hit ok!. And you can go on watching the movie. If you missed the exactly spot where you were it is no problem. The fast forwarding will help you to jump a couple of minutes but not hours! This easy function has another advantage. If you want to show friends some nice scenes of the movie you can do so without saying: "Lets wait 20min fast forwarding the movie then you can see what i meant!". Ok not every movie has 4hours but at least 90min. Even that is a lot of time to fast forward!

    So... What do others think of it?
    Last edited by p00chie; 12-10-2011 at 07:34 AM.

  2. #2
    New Member
    Points: 986, Level: 8
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 164
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    6
    Points
    986
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I would like to have this feature, too.

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,368, Level: 13
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    32PFL7606K FW Q5551-0.14.93.0_bld11a
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,368
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    +1 for the idea of entering the "jump-to" time in minutes using the keys. I like that!

    On a side note: what would also work, if the fast-forward would supported larger factors (e.g. up to 128x) Then, jumping to 2:30h would take 70sec, which still would be ok.

    For USB, this should work in any case, which would be great.
    But I've read somewhere that not all DNLA servers don't support "time seek", only "ff/rev" and maybe "byte seek". In that case, even if the TV supported it, it might not work over DNLA.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 870, Level: 7
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 80
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4
    Points
    870
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by matthias View Post
    But I've read somewhere that not all DNLA servers don't support "time seek", only "ff/rev" and maybe "byte seek". In that case, even if the TV supported it, it might not work over DNLA.
    Do you mean a higher fast forward speed is not supported by dlna servers or the jump-to feature?
    I think jump-to couldn't be that hard because the tv allready knows where he is maybe 20:26 and he knows how long the whole file is because he shows an which position he is.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 986, Level: 8
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 164
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    6
    Points
    986
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    In my case: I use Twonky media server on a qnap NAS.
    With Samsung TV the jump-to feature works fine.

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 843, Level: 7
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 107
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    23
    Points
    843
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    For media playing "jump to" and/or "skip nn minutes forward/backwards" are essential features.

    BTW / Media player user Interface (e.g. 42PSL7456K/02, FW Q5551-0.14.84.0):
    - Not only the current time, but also the total time should be displayed while playing back videos.
    - Long filenames with length of up to 250 chars are common with all actual OS, but shorted to unreadability. On an endless wide Full HD screen. My 100 bucks external media player is displaying long filenames on a PAL CRT TV. As "ticker under cursor".

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 870, Level: 7
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 80
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4
    Points
    870
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The feature itself would be nice but i doubt it that we will see it implemented in the near future.

    Anyway... Try out Wild Media Server it does all you want. Even live transcoding for dts, fixed 720p video playing (yay no more egg heads) and you can watch from an intervall of x minutes (1, 5, 10 and so on) so you can just jump to the time you want

    could it be any better ?

    p.s. live transcoding for mkv to watch on your ps3 is allso included

  8. #8
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    590
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Yes, this is a valid feature request, I also miss that.

    If you have a a 2h video and you have stopped it after 90mins or the TV crashed or similar, it is a real pain to do fast forward for 90mins.

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Points: 18,608, Level: 41
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 342
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,816
    Points
    18,608
    Level
    41
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 40 Times in 37 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Guys,

    Sorry to say but we dont have this feature right now and there are no plans to have it in the future.
    But we never know, if there is any chance to have i will keep you informed.

    Regards
    Thomas

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Points: 797, Level: 7
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 153
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    19
    Points
    797
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi Guys,

    Sorry to say but we dont have this feature right now and there are no plans to have it in the future.
    But we never know, if there is any chance to have i will keep you informed.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Sorry to say but i think this is a must have for a tv like this.....i hope that it will be implemented in the future

    regards
    dog soldier

  11. #11
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,519, Level: 10
    Level completed: 85%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    28
    Points
    1,519
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    "Resume Play" is not merely 'a feature' it is 'default behaviour' for all/any streaming devices
    No "Resume" at all on Video streaming is a programming mistake only a rookie could make
    Renders Video streaming almost redundant on Philips TV
    = However much Philips invested in this useless feature is money wasted

  12. #12
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    590
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi Guys,

    Sorry to say but we dont have this feature right now and there are no plans to have it in the future.
    But we never know, if there is any chance to have i will keep you informed.

    Regards
    Thomas
    TVs are getting more and more an integrated multimedia device which provides access to a lot of media from different sources.
    The future user won't buy a stack of devices to have an optimized one to play 1. from network, 2. from internet vod service A, 3. from vod service B. It is much more comfortable to buy one advanced TV which provides a comfortable user experience. And fast forward/backward is a minimum for video playback.

    NetTV with its vod services can replace the video store/video rental service around the corner and a DVD-Player/Bluray-Player with all that effort you have to rent a video!
    But to support that, the user wants this features.

    Let's make a difference...

  13. #13
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,150, Level: 8
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 200
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    20
    Points
    1,150
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Having the same feeling as other, since it is supported by DLNA why not support it in the TV his player.

    Would be great if we would have the source from philips, then the community would make this available...

  14. #14
    New Member
    Points: 752, Level: 7
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 198
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    6
    Points
    752
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I also think "Resume Play" is a must have feature. Too many times on my 26PDL4906H I stop playing my video and I need to resume but I cannot.

  15. #15
    New Member
    Points: 713, Level: 6
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    GŲteborg/Sweden
    Posts
    1
    Points
    713
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I agree with all posters above about this feature. I think it's crazy to support DLNA but not any other time-skipping feature than 2x FF/RWD. Can it really be that costly adding this?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Feature Req: Switch language in multi-audio video over USB/DNLA
    By matthias in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 01-05-2013, 04:43 PM
  2. iPlayer feature request - time search
    By neilski in forum Smart TV: Apps
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-18-2011, 01:16 PM
  3. No subtitles when streaming a movie with the DLNA option
    By WebWiz in forum Blu-ray: BDP7000 Series
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-08-2011, 01:58 PM
  4. Feature Req: Automatic Sleep timer
    By matthias in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-05-2011, 09:34 AM
  5. Feature Request: Fast Forward + Fast Rewind + Go to Time
    By AndresG in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-15-2011, 05:03 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •