Results 1 to 12 of 12
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Spotify is now available on NP 3900. SW is now live

    Introduction

    Software version: VG5.59S

    Benefits:

    Listen to over 15 million songs on your device. This software update brings you the music service from Spotify. With Spotify, you now have access to unlimited music and make it easy to discover music on NP3900*.

    After your NP3900 has been upgraded to the latest software, click “OK” on the remote control when you see an “OSS message” shown on the device to restart and begin enjoying Spotify. If you are already a Spotify Premium account user, simply go to Online Music Service in the menu item, select Spotify and enter your Spotify Premium account information. Once logged in, you can enjoy millions of tracks at any time you like.

    Spotify music service is currently available in Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, UK, & US. If you are not yet a registered Spotify Premium account user and would like to learn about Premium account registration information, please visit http://www.spotify.com to find out more information.

    * Please note that this device supports only up to 70 playlists and total 2500 tracks in all playlists. Please visit our support website at www.philips.com/support more information.

    * Please note that starting with this software version, we have disabled Chinese language support & Ogg Vorbis decoder support on this device. If you had selected Chinese as the language before the upgrade, then the language will be set to English after upgrade.


    Software Version Verification Procedure

    1. In active mode, press the SETTINGS button on the remote control.
    2. Press to select Information, press OK.
    3. Press to highlight Software version: and the display will scroll to indicate the current software version your device is having.



    How do I update the software on my device?


    Make sure that your device has established a valid Internet connection with your router.

    1. In active mode, press the SETTINGS button on your device remote control.
    2. Press to select Check for software upgrades, press OK.
    3. It will then check with the server whether there is newer software available. If there is a newer one, the screen would show:

    New software is available for your product. Do you wish to install the software (see manual for conditions)?

    4. Click Yes to start downloading the new software via the Internet.
    5. After finish downloading the new software, the device will automatically start upgrading to the new one.
    6. After the upgrade has finished, device will restart and you can then enjoy the device again.

    Software update History

    • Version v5.20: First Firmware Release.
    • Version v5.31: 2nd Firmware Release.
    • Version v5.32 : 3rd Firmware release
    Last edited by Philips - QK; 08-15-2012 at 07:08 AM.
    Forum Mod

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,028, Level: 8
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 122
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    12
    Points
    1,028
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Firmware has serious bugs, reported by various people. Please see this thread:

    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...r-after-update

    If you are playing music from a media server, do not install this update!

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 973, Level: 8
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 177
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Hessen, Germany
    Posts
    4
    Points
    973
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    When will Philips fix it??

    Remko,

    when will Philips fix the issue with missing media servers in FW 5.38??

    I've opened a service request SR #: 50-905505870 online at the german support desk, they asked for details, but cheated me with a wrong email address, so I'm not able to give them any further informations. (Horrible service!)

    I can reproduce the failure and the workaround described in the other thread, so who's the right contact to tell it???
    Surely not the German callcenter...

    Regards
    Alex




    Here's what I wanted to answer to the "Kundenservice" in Germany:


    Hallo Frau Wagner,
    vielen Dank für die schnelle Reaktion, meine Antworten sind unten eingefügt.
    Wäre schön, wenn das Problem genauso schnell gefixt wird.

    Viele Grüße
    Alexander Schön



    > From: philips_4232179@philips-customercare.com
    > To: zzorro@web.de
    > Date: Mon, 12 Dec 2011 17:02:27 +0100
    > Subject: SR #: 50-905505870
    >
    > Antwort Philips Infocenter
    >
    > PHILIPS
    >
    >
    >
    > Guten Tag Herr Schön,
    >
    > vielen Dank, dass Sie sich mit Ihrem Anliegen an mich wenden.
    >
    > Ich bedauere, dass Sie den NP3900 nicht mehr zufriedenstellend nutzen können.
    >
    > Bitte setzen Sie den Player auf die Werkseinstellung zurück und richten Sie die Netzwerkverbindung noch einmal neu ein.
    --> Bereits geschehen, ohne Erfolg! An der Netzwerkverbindung liegt es auch nicht, Inet-Radio geht problemlos. Auch diverse Reboots aller Devices in verschiedenen Reihenfolgen - ohne Erfolg. Ich hatte den NP auch schon direkt per Kabelverbindung am Router angeschlossen (Normalerweise ist noch ein WLAN-Repeater dazwischengeschaltet, da der WLAN-Empfang des NP ja bekanntermaßen unterirdisch schlecht ist) - ohne Erfolg. Andere Änderungen an meiner Konfiguration ausser dem Update des NP kann ich ausschließen.
    >
    > Teilen Sie mir zudem bitte mit, ob der Zugriff auf das Internetradio ebenfalls blockiert ist.
    --> Nein, der funktioniert völlig problemlos, ebenso wie die Einrichtung des Netzwerkzugriffes. Beides übrigens über den gleichen WLAN-Router (AVM Fritz!Box 7390), der auch den Media-Server zur Verfügung stellt.
    >
    > Welche Softwareversion haben Sie genau auf dem NP?
    --> Nach dem Update: V G5.58S
    >
    > Welche Medienserversoftware verwenden Sie?
    Keine explizite PC-Software. Ich verwende den im WLAN-Router integrierten UPnP kompatiblen Mediaserver, der eine angeschlossene USB-Festplatte als NAS zur Verfügung stellt, auf wiederum meine Musiksammlung liegt. Vor dem Online-Firmwareupdate (keine Ahnung wie die SW-Version vorher war) hatte das auch alles völlig problemlos funktioniert!
    >
    > Funktioniert das Streamen von einem PC?
    --> Hatte ich noch nie ausprobiert. Die mitgelieferte Twonky-Version hatte ich mir zwar mal angesehen, aber gleich wieder von meinem PC runtergeworfen. Ging auch problemlos ohne... Jetzt habe ich sie nochmal installiert um Ihre Rückfrage beantworten zu können und BINGO!,
    auf einmal erkennt der NP beide Mediaserver im Netz, sowohl den Twonky als auch die Fritz!Box und beide lassen sich normal nutzen!!
    Damit kann ich sagen, dass der Fehler
    a) reproduzierbar ist (Twonky deinstalliert, NP rebootet, wieder Meldung "kein Server gefunden", Twonky wieder installiert und der NP zeigt wieder beide an)
    b) kein Einzelfall ist. ich habe parallel auch einen Post im Forum aufgemacht, siehe
    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...r-after-update

    Der Fehler sollte sich also auch bei Ihren Technikern im Lab einfach reproduzieren lassen.

    Ansonsten stehe ich gerne für Rückfragen oder zum Testen zur Verfügung.


    >
    > Ich freue mich auf Ihre Antwort und wünsche ich Ihnen bis dahin einen schönen Tag
    >
    > Marie Wagner
    > Philips Kundenservice
    > _________________________________________
    >
    > Philips hat das Ziel, Ihnen eine einfache und sinnvolle Lösung auf Ihre Anfragen anzubieten. Wir hoffen, wir konnten diesem Versprechen, mit unserer E-Mail an Sie gerecht werden.
    >
    > Haben Sie weitere Fragen oder Anregungen?
    --> JAAA, EINE KORREKTE E-MAIL-ADRESSE ZUM ANTWORTEN WÄRE FEIN!!!

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 973, Level: 8
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 177
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Hessen, Germany
    Posts
    4
    Points
    973
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Question Ogg Vorbis

    Remko,
    what is the reason why Ogg Vorbis is no longer supported?

    Regards
    Alex

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    All,

    We are currently investigating the issues reported by all of you.

    My apologies for any incovenience caused.

    Regards,
    Forum Mod

  6. #6
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,070, Level: 12
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 80
    Overall activity: 19.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    95
    Points
    2,070
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Alex,
    I think you've answered yourself the question on why the unit doesn't recognize a uPnP-server.
    If you've only one uPnP server in the network, it won't get recognized. In case you've more than one, Bingo, both get shown. Seems a minor bug in the new SW. Looking to the post from Philips above, they are working on it ...

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Points: 9,011, Level: 28
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 339
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    883
    Points
    9,011
    Level
    28
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Alex,

    We have just sent you a PM. Please check your inbox.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  8. #8
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,819, Level: 17
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    French Alps
    Posts
    196
    Points
    3,819
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Blechtrottel View Post
    Alex,
    I think you've answered yourself the question on why the unit doesn't recognize a uPnP-server.
    If you've only one uPnP server in the network, it won't get recognized. In case you've more than one, Bingo, both get shown. Seems a minor bug in the new SW. Looking to the post from Philips above, they are working on it ...

    That would indeed explain why I don't face this issue, I have at least 3 or 4 servers (router, mobile, etc ) and it seems now that any time you install a control point it also comes with a server (example Twonky mobile or Skifta), same for the router. There is a DLNA server inflation which makes it more difficult (non user friendly) for an average user. It would be nice if we could disable / ignore the servers we don't use in the NP.
    Last edited by k1200rs; 12-14-2011 at 11:44 AM.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 757, Level: 7
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 193
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2
    Points
    757
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Since buying my NP3900/12 because it supported FLAC and OGG:

    It has arrived with the wrong plug.
    It does not support 24bps FLAC, only 16bps FLAC.
    An upgrade to improve the device (VG5.58S) renders the player unable to connect to my media server.
    The same upgrade disables OGG Vorbis, which is how the bulk of my music collection is encoded.

    What other upgrades are Philips planning to turn this handy little music player into an expensive paperweight?

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Points: 9,011, Level: 28
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 339
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    883
    Points
    9,011
    Level
    28
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear Shane & Zzorro,

    We would like to give you more details on Spotify and OGG Vorbis. Please refer to your inbox for more information.

    Thanks a lot in advance,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  11. #11
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,819, Level: 17
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    French Alps
    Posts
    196
    Points
    3,819
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by shane View Post
    what other upgrades are philips planning to turn this handy little music player into an expensive paperweight?
    :d :d :d

  12. #12
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,385, Level: 13
    Level completed: 79%, Points required for next Level: 65
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    88
    Points
    2,385
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    The regression in the previous release has been fixed in V G5.59S.

Similar Topics

  1. Spotify is now available on MCi900
    By Philips - Andrea in forum Sound: Streamium MCi series (MCi900| Mci8080| MCi730| MCi500| MCi298)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-15-2012, 11:38 AM
  2. NP3900 Spotify
    By ricdijk in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-13-2011, 05:38 PM
  3. Spotify is now available on MCi8080
    By Philips - Andrea in forum Sound: Streamium MCi series (MCi900| Mci8080| MCi730| MCi500| MCi298)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-09-2011, 10:13 AM
  4. NP 3900 reports wrong duration for the track
    By jdthood in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-01-2011, 09:41 AM
  5. My Remote with NP 3500
    By MRO in forum Apps: MyRemote App (for Android)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-27-2011, 09:08 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •