Results 1 to 9 of 9
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 889, Level: 7
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 61
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    PARIS
    Posts
    17
    Points
    889
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Restoring of content

    I bought a MCI500H specially because before i had a WAC3500 ( out of service ) and it's the same software ( WADM )
    I've 52 Go of music in a file " safety of contents " from my WAC3500
    And when i want to restore i have a message " this file do not come from this product "
    I live in Paris , sorry for my bad english but i want a solution .
    I tried to change the name of my file : same message !

    please help me

    guy

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,084, Level: 8
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Kenilworth,UK
    Posts
    29
    Points
    1,084
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi there,

    I'm afraid what you are trying to do is not possible.

    The WADM backup/restore content option will only allow you to restore content back to the same device that you did the backup on. You cannot even restore to the same model (i.e. Mci500) if you did the backup on another one belonging to somebody else. I presume this 'feature(!)' is because Philips has to comply with the rules and regulations set by the anti-piracy agencies.

    If you wish to transfer your music then you will need to backup using a free utility called WACHANDLER (Search in Google) that was very kindly written by the Streamium legend and contributer on this site (and Streamium Cafe) called Tias.

    Use this software(WACHandler) to copy your tracks from your WAC3500 to your PC and then copy them up onto your Mci500 using WADM as normal.

    Hope this helps

    Quote Originally Posted by yug75015 View Post
    I bought a MCI500H specially because before i had a WAC3500 ( out of service ) and it's the same software ( WADM )
    I've 52 Go of music in a file " safety of contents " from my WAC3500
    And when i want to restore i have a message " this file do not come from this product "
    I live in Paris , sorry for my bad english but i want a solution .
    I tried to change the name of my file : same message !

    please help me

    guy

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 889, Level: 7
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 61
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    PARIS
    Posts
    17
    Points
    889
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    dear flimflam,
    First thank you for your quick answer, i was desperate because i got in touch with the philips helpdesk and they informed me that there was no solution at all.
    i downloaded Wachandler and i don't know how I can get my files back
    Wachlander see my new device MCI500H but it's not what i want.
    I want to transfer my back up on my PC and then i will transfer on my MCI500H.
    Could you help me this time again.

    Thanks in advance

    guy

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,084, Level: 8
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Kenilworth,UK
    Posts
    29
    Points
    1,084
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Unhappy Wac3500?

    Hi there,

    (1) Do you still have your WAC3500?
    If so then copy the music files from it to your PC using WACHandler.


    (2) Or do you only have the the WADM backup file that you made of the WAC3500?
    If you only have the backup file then you are not able to do anything. It really is annoying that you have a file sat there with YOUR music in it and no way to restore it to another Philips Streamium.

    FlimFlam

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 889, Level: 7
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 61
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    PARIS
    Posts
    17
    Points
    889
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    dear flimflam
    I replaced my WAC3500 because it was breakdown, certainly alimentation is out. My device do not start anymore.
    is it sure i cannot transfert on my PC frpm the back up file with WACHANDLER ?
    Maybe it exist a software for converting my backup in a recognizable language ?

    Guy

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,084, Level: 8
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Kenilworth,UK
    Posts
    29
    Points
    1,084
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi there,
    Sorry for delay in replying.

    I'm afraid your backup file is in a format that only Philips knows.

    If they were kind enough to publish the format then somebody might beable to write software to extract your music from the file.But even knowing the format it may not be possible as it is strongly suspected that the file itself is encrypted using some value from the device that the music was originally backed up from.

    The whole situation is very unsatisfactory and the WADM backup causes more problems that it solves. The biggest problem being that it leads people to believe they have a backup of their music. Only to find that in most circumstances it can't be used.

    PHILIPS Mods : Any comments? Can the backup be restored onto the Mci500 from a WAC3500 backup?

    Cheers

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 889, Level: 7
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 61
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    PARIS
    Posts
    17
    Points
    889
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Maybe, somebody knows the problem of my WAC 3500. It does not start when i push the red button. ( but the button is lit , the red light is on and stay red ) I think it's a problem of electric alimentation or maybe there is a fuse breakdown ?

    is there anyone to help me ?
    Given the cost, is it interesting to repair it ?

    Since the purchase of my WAC 3500 I've had many problems, this kind of products are not reliable and now i have a MCI500H made for Philips in China also.

    Cheers

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi yug75015,

    For backing up your files from the WAC to the MCI the answer is that it will not work.

    The music industry has put clear rules in place and cloning of music is not allowed (so it is not a Philips rule).

    We as Philips only ensure that a backup works on the same physical unit.

    For your other question I cannot help you as your device is defective. Please get in contact with your local Call Center:
    http://www.support.philips.com/suppo...jsp?COOKIE=off or lets see if one of the other users has the info that you are asking for available for you.

    Regards,
    Forum Mod

  9. #9
    Bronze Member
    Points: 889, Level: 7
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 61
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    PARIS
    Posts
    17
    Points
    889
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Wac3500 recovery contents

    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Remko View Post
    Hi yug75015,

    For backing up your files from the WAC to the MCI the answer is that it will not work.

    The music industry has put clear rules in place and cloning of music is not allowed (so it is not a Philips rule).

    We as Philips only ensure that a backup works on the same physical unit.

    For your other question I cannot help you as your device is defective. Please get in contact with your local Call Center:
    http://www.support.philips.com/suppo...jsp?COOKIE=off or lets see if one of the other users has the info that you are asking for available for you.

    Regards,
    I took my Wac3500 to pieces and effectively i noted that the alimentation was down as i read on this forum. Many spare parts were melted.
    I took the opportunty to remove the hard disk and i bought a special box with alimentation and USB output ( USB to ATA/ATAPI bridge )
    The installation worked well but unfortunately my computer ( w7) doen't recognize the files inside.
    Maybe it exist a solution with the software wachandler ?
    Do you have any idea regarding this problem knowing that i want to get back what is registred on this HDD ,

    Best regards

Similar Topics

  1. What files and with what content does the BDP9600 really play?
    By MalWhat in forum Blu-ray: BDP9000 Series
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-15-2011, 10:53 AM
  2. [Wish] Flexible Sorting order of USB content
    By Toengel in forum Blu-ray: Share Your Wish List and Insights
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-23-2011, 09:42 AM
  3. Support 3D content on 46pfl9705
    By leutmaker in forum TV: 3D
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-10-2011, 11:04 AM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-10-2010, 11:52 AM
  5. content RTL Gemist
    By patrick in forum Smart TV: Apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-15-2010, 04:53 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •