Results 1 to 10 of 10
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 867, Level: 7
    Level completed: 59%, Points required for next Level: 83
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2
    Points
    867
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    USB-recording with no EPG available

    Hello,

    I have some DVB-T channels broadcast in my area, but the EPG isn't available (on my current TV the EPG table is empty).

    I'm planning to buy a 7606 Philips TV and would like to know whether the USB-recording is possible at all without the EPG? Can I schedule a recording by setting up a timer (explicitly specifying starting and ending time of a program)?

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    To use recording, you need IP-EPG. This is available, when you have your TV connected to internet. You can connect your TV to internet either using ethernet cable or USB WLAN stick.

    So if you have internet connection and connect your TV with it, you can use recording. This does not depend on the normal EPG, which is broadcasted by the TV signal provider (DVB-C, DVB-T or DVB-S).

    Currently time based is not possible as far as I know ...

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 867, Level: 7
    Level completed: 59%, Points required for next Level: 83
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2
    Points
    867
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks a lot, smart!

    According to the table here http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...4&d=1323692227
    IP-EPG isn't available in Belarus either (and I believe in all former USSR republics as well). I believe this would mean that scheduled recording will not be available at all.

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 876, Level: 7
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 74
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    18
    Points
    876
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    In The Netherlands the IP-EPG does not contain a lot of channels which are quit common ( Film 1 and Hilversum Best 24, Spirit 24, Cultura 24 etc....) So the IP -EPG is a lot worthless here. But when i want to use the EPG from the cablecompany ( Caiway) I can not make any timerprogramming to record. Philips has not done his homework properly. Time to make timerprogramming and watching back avaible without IPG - EPG unlees the IP - EPG contains every channel which is common and available in the Netherlands.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 713, Level: 6
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    2
    Points
    713
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    More to say that the IP-EPG also in Germany is often not available or hangs and is implemented very slow. You need to press not less than 3 buttons to get to the EPG.

    Unless this isn't solved in Firmware I can not recommend to buy a Philips Net-TV to anyone!!!

  6. #6
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by screamer View Post
    ...
    You need to press not less than 3 buttons to get to the EPG.
    ...
    On my side, it is pressing two buttons, if you have used the IP-EPG before.
    If you have used the channel list, is pressing three buttons.
    If you have used the videotext, it is pressing four buttons.

    For me, this is fine, I use videotext very rarely and I use the channel list not very often, so mostly I press two keys.
    I don't like those heavily flooded remotes from other manufacturers. The nice reduced remote is one reason to buy Philips. So from my side, I prefer the 2010 scheme.

    Seems, that there two different kinds of users ... Maybe you explain this to others, some might like that ...

  7. #7
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,250, Level: 69
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 900
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,961
    Points
    50,250
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 168 Times in 150 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    2012 models will have more buttons and a QWERTZ/Y keyboard on the back of the remote (in high-end series: 8k and 9k). As far as I know... ;-)

    toengleqAlex

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 757, Level: 7
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 193
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5
    Points
    757
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Not thought of Expats
    I'm an Englishman living in Germany and watch both English and German TV via satellite. Because the Gracenote EPG service doesn't include many English channels in its listings I can't record them at all. There are millions of other examples of this; people of one nationality living in another country. Just because you live in a particular country doesn't mean that you only watch its TV services, so restricting the recording function to the local availability of national (not international) EPG data seems pretty daft.

    Also, last night an [I]extremely[I] interesting programme came on and all I wanted to do was press a red RECORD button to save what I was watching. Years ago, if something good came on the TV, I would quickly slam a videocassette into the machine and press record. Why, twenty years later, can't we have an 'instant record' function for a TV with an attached hard disk? It's not rocket science, is it?

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Points: 15,994, Level: 38
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 456
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,632
    Points
    15,994
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    It's not rocket science, is it?
    indeed it is not, it is something more complicated.
    It is rules and regulations and contracts between content Sources, content Providers and TV manufacturers.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 757, Level: 7
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 193
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5
    Points
    757
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for this information Thomas. So if I understand you correctly, I will probably never be able to call up a listing of English TV programmes while living here in Germany, and because of that I will never be able to record those programmes onto my hard disk via my Philips TV. Without wishing to sound threatening, this somehow discriminates against 'foreigners', no matter in which country they live. I would have thought that European legislation had opened up the viewing of any free-to-air channel that can be received in any country by now, together with its appropriate programme data. I mean, if we can already receive the programme content itself, why not the associated programme data too?

    Even though this was specific to football, I'm thinking of the recent case of an English pub owner who received Greek transmissions and still won the court case when prosecuted by Sky. In her case and generally, European law allows the 'purchase' and/or use of services from anywhere in the European community. Why can this not include EPG services? Either the "rules, regulations and contracts" that you speak of conflict with current European law or maybe I've just discovered a new market opportunity to provide this data myself ....

Similar Topics

  1. Replies: 29
    Last Post: 08-28-2012, 11:20 AM
  2. USB Recording: your experiences
    By Philips - Thomas in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 111
    Last Post: 05-27-2012, 09:28 PM
  3. 9715 and USB-Recording !?
    By stargate in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-01-2011, 03:10 PM
  4. USB Recording for 7605 TV?
    By gr7605 in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 09-19-2011, 11:08 PM
  5. Now/Next & IP-EPG Recording (PVR)
    By Philips - Thomas in forum TV Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-15-2011, 11:22 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •