Results 1 to 13 of 13
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,203, Level: 9
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 147
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,203
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Unhappy 40PFL8605, Upgrade firmware with USB-stick not working

    Hello,

    Since I upgraded my TV (PFL8605) with the firmware version 144.040, I can not upgrade to the new firmware 144.044 via a USB Stick. When I insert the stick the TV it does not recognize the the autorun.upg anymore, instead it displays the content of the stick as it would do normally. Tried it with another USB stich as well.

    Is there a way to hard reset the TV ? I've tried the 123654, red button etc. option but this does not work, please advice because I am not able to upgrade the TV anaymore.

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Platinum Member
    Points: 5,068, Level: 21
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 482
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Nettle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Padua, Italy
    Posts
    624
    Points
    5,068
    Level
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Dear haan72,

    I've performed the same upgrade on my 37pfl 8605 and everything went well.

    the file was recognized immediately.

    regards

  3. #3
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,123, Level: 69
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 90.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,028
    Points
    51,123
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    reformat your USB stick (FAT if possible) and extract the autorun.upg - try again... If this does not work try the "downgrade method" (try search in forum for "downgrade") with the 140.44 firmware...

    Toengel@Alex

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,273, Level: 16
    Level completed: 56%, Points required for next Level: 177
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Hilvarenbeek / Netherlands
    Posts
    61
    Points
    3,273
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi haan72,
    I tried to download the 140.44 from the dutch website (I see you're from NL also).
    Problem is that the site states the FW 140.44 can be downloaded. Only thing is the zip you download contains the older version (140.40).
    Toengel pointed out that I could use the FW from the UK site. Et voila, the TV wants to update...

    Rolf

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 733, Level: 6
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 17
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    SPAIN
    Posts
    5
    Points
    733
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Upgrade 40PFL8605H/12

    Hi Rolf,

    Same problem from Spain with the FW for 40PFL8605H/12. Even tried downloading it from the UK site. No way.
    Is there any other alternative?

    Thanks

    Gug

  6. #6
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,123, Level: 69
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 90.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,028
    Points
    51,123
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    what do you mean with "No way". The downloads for 140.46 are up on the servers and are ok (from my point of view). Just download the file, extract and copy the autorun.upg to the root of an empty FAT formatted USB stick.

    Toengel@Alex

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 733, Level: 6
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 17
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    SPAIN
    Posts
    5
    Points
    733
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Toengel,

    I mean, I have done all through as you indicate and the tv displays: "there is no file in the USB stick (translation from
    spanish)" I have used a stick provided from Philips NL

    gug

  8. #8
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,123, Level: 69
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 90.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,028
    Points
    51,123
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    try that to update: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...176&viewfull=1

    Toengel@Alex

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 733, Level: 6
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 17
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    SPAIN
    Posts
    5
    Points
    733
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Toengel,

    Thanks but it seems somehow risky to downgrade, if i take into account the Philips warning

    Gug

  10. #10
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,123, Level: 69
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 90.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,028
    Points
    51,123
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    you could try to update via the downgrade method. It's the only suggestion I can give you, if the normal way does not work. If you don't want to try this method you need to call service for help/repair. As far as I know, we are both out of options ;-)

    Toengel@Alex

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 733, Level: 6
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 17
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    SPAIN
    Posts
    5
    Points
    733
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    thanks Toengel. Shall keep you posted.

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 1,203, Level: 9
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 147
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,203
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Guguito View Post
    Hi Rolf,

    Same problem from Spain with the FW for 40PFL8605H/12. Even tried downloading it from the UK site. No way.
    Is there any other alternative?

    Thanks

    Gug
    Are you sure you have the _eng file ? It worked out for me as well. Try another language, all files are multi-langual. It is just a matter of Philips is using the same file name again. Proxyservers keep the older version (same filename), that means that you indead download the older version.

  13. #13
    New Member
    Points: 733, Level: 6
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 17
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    SPAIN
    Posts
    5
    Points
    733
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    I'm using the .eng file and have downloaded it from several Philips sites such as Uk, France, etc. and is still not working. In the meantime I have contacted the after-sales Philips service and it seems that the problem is in the TV set itself that has a failure in the motherboard. They are going to take it to their workshop for repair.

    Thanks for your help

    Gug

Similar Topics

  1. HDMI-ARC not working after firmware upgrade
    By DolliaS in forum TV: Software 2011 models
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-23-2011, 07:44 AM
  2. Problem with sound from USB stick data
    By kenny_mis in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-21-2011, 09:09 AM
  3. Firmware upgrade V24 for HTS5200
    By Philips - Remko in forum Blu-ray: HTS Series
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-11-2011, 07:32 AM
  4. USB multimedia not working Videos on PFL7695H
    By Ledia in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-15-2011, 05:42 PM
  5. Firmware upgrade via USB on 47PFL8404H/12
    By janefs in forum TV: Software 2009 models (and older)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-21-2010, 12:48 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •