Results 1 to 6 of 6
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 945, Level: 7
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 5
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    15
    Points
    945
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Basic DLNA setup for TV

    Hello I would like to show you first this topic and if possible to move it inside this one.
    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...s+support+guys


    I have been struggling to connect my TV to the PC directly without router uwing a normal straight LAN cable.

    And I just found a post on the forum that claim the cable must be a "cross link cable"
    Is that trued? Is a " cross link cable " a crossed LAn cable or if no what type of cable is it?
    Is it possible to connect TV directly to PC LAN card which has enabled internet connection sharing, so that the TV will access the internet through the PCs lan card?
    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 15,994, Level: 38
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 456
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,632
    Points
    15,994
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    you need a cross linked ethernet cable to connect the PC to the TV without any device in between.
    If the PC is able to share the Internet Connection via LAN, yes the TV could use it.
    On the configuration part please get in contact with your PC Vendor.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Points: 1,938, Level: 12
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 212
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    117
    Points
    1,938
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi LED Beginner,

    Could you indicate exactly what hardware you have on your PC and O/S? also how you are connecting everything... why?

    - When you activate ICS one of the network interfaces of the PC acts like a router and is bridged internally to the PC network interface that provides internet.

    In this case you should use a straight cat5 cable.

    Cross cable will not work to share internet connection (specially if you connect to a PC, routers now have internal detection and if you connect a cross cable they will "un-cross" it internally, ICS doesn't do this)

    I experienced with this kind of setup when I had my PC near to TV and my TV had no wi-fi connection, so I connected by cable to PC and PC to router via wifi.

    Regards,

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 945, Level: 7
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 5
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    15
    Points
    945
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I am sorry but using straight cable between the PCs second lan card and the TV DID NOT help. I searched on google and it says that I have to use "crossed cable" .
    The question "Is the crossed LAN cable same as a "crosslink" LAN cable" remains.

    OS is windows 7
    I am also experienced when setting an ICS internet connection sharing but when using a AD hoc Wi fi interface. Never tried using it the cable way.

  5. #5
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Not sure, if this is an option for you, but it is more straight forward, when you use a router (maybe you have one) and connect both (TV and PC) to that router. The internet connection is shared for both and they can communicate to each other, since they are in the same subnet.

    Your way should also work, but I do not know the details on this. Most internet providers provide a cheap router to you.

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 945, Level: 7
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 5
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    15
    Points
    945
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thank you I finally decided to go for a ROUTER but now is the question about a GOOD router that is not expensive?
    Please give me an advice:
    The router MUST or must NOT have a media server option in order to use my PC with a media server?
    What router are you using model etc and are you able to stream good HD video?
    Also what brands routers are good?
    Any advice will help.

Similar Topics

  1. Speaker setup HTS9520
    By vgerwen in forum Sound: Other Models
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-10-2011, 10:43 AM
  2. Replies: 23
    Last Post: 08-03-2011, 09:39 PM
  3. How to setup the joints ace in 46PFL9705 LED TV
    By elmuez in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-09-2011, 04:08 PM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-14-2011, 02:41 PM
  5. [Proposal] Setup of Net-TV-App via PC
    By Toengel in forum Smart TV: Installation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-24-2010, 02:06 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •