Results 1 to 4 of 4
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 781, Level: 7
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 169
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2
    Points
    781
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    DVI (PC) to HDMI (TV) expected, HDMI (PC) to HDMI (TV) also fine? 32 PF 7411

    Hello everyone,

    in the printed manual on page 16 "Using the TV as a PC Monitor"

    1 HDMI 1 or HDM 2 input MUST be connected to the DVI output of the PC. Use a DVI to HDMI adaptor to do the connection.
    My notebook has only a HDMI plug. No DVI plug. Right now I connected the TV using a normal HDMI to HDMI cable. I can see the windows desktop but I have some problems finding a proper resolution where I can use the full screen size and while a quadrat in a picture (for example 5cm times 5cm) is still a shown as a quadrat on the TV. The wide side is always to big and therefore horizontal lengthened.

    Does the TV expect a DVI (notebook) to HDMI (TV) cable in order to function as correctly?

    Windows does already recognize as Plug and Play monitor. So am I already fine?

    Or should I by a HDMI to DVI adapter, plug it into the notbook, connect a DVI (adapter) to HDMI (TV) cable? What I mean is,
    would HDMI (notebook) --> HDMI to DVI adapter --> DVI to HDMI cable to TV. Would that work better or is this a bad idea?

    Any help much appreciated.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 17,624, Level: 40
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 426
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,765
    Points
    17,624
    Level
    40
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 39 Times in 36 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    to be able to answer you we need more Details on your TV and on the used PC.
    Graphics Card, Firmware on the TV etc...

    Regards
    Thomas

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 781, Level: 7
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 169
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2
    Points
    781
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Thomas,

    thanks for helping me...

    notebook: Satellite L650-1NC
    graphic card: ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 5650

    Firmware... Well. That's a good question I'd like to answer.

    I was searching on http://www.support.philips.com/suppo...userCountry=de for 32PF7411 because that is that what the manual says. But I found only 32PF7411/10 not exactly sure if that is right.

    http://www.support.philips.com/suppo...=32PF7411%2F10

    http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/d...&slg=en&scy=DE

    It says it's a device from 2006. Not sure that's right but it's a older device. It may be so. Manual looks similar.

    On that page it doesn't say anything about firmware, firmware check, firmware update and so on. At least I do not see anything about it. Maybe the device is to old to have a firmware which may be updated by the costumer.

    I do not know how to find out the current firmware version. Tell me please how to find out.

    Any other questions, feel free to ask. Thank you again!

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 17,624, Level: 40
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 426
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,765
    Points
    17,624
    Level
    40
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 39 Times in 36 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    by the Time this TV was sold, HDMI on PC Graphics Cards was not common, DVI was. Thats why it is written in the manual.
    If your PC recognizes the TV and if you can expand the Desktop to the 2nd Monitor (TV) everything is fine.

    Regards
    Thomas

Similar Topics

  1. tv connected to pc via hdmi = blinking pixels (?!)
    By Sashka in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-13-2011, 03:45 PM
  2. 37PFL5405H to PC via HDMI
    By demonizator in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-13-2011, 05:36 AM
  3. Philips TV and HDMI = Sound loss
    By Zwaf in forum TV: Software 2010 models
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-03-2011, 05:20 PM
  4. No sound via DVI/VGA AUDIO with PC (5605h)
    By tomaszzz in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-10-2011, 03:17 PM
  5. Unable to connect laptop to TV via HDMI
    By numbertwo in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-26-2011, 02:47 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •