Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 878, Level: 7
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 72
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6
    Points
    878
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Question Firmware-Update only from USB. Why never online?

    The v0.140.44.0 is the 9th(!) firmwareupdate I made this year 2011.
    Not a single one was possible to update from the online source directly on my TV.
    I had to download the ZIP-file every time manually, unzip the 'autorun.upg' to the root-directory of my USB-stick, go to the TV, plug it in, restart the TV and wait for the completed upgrade process.

    How can I make this update process working directly from Internet?
    (BTW: I have a working connection to the internet, because other source from 'outside' are accessible without problems).

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 18,608, Level: 41
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 342
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,816
    Points
    18,608
    Level
    41
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 40 Times in 37 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    we do not! provide every Update via IP.
    f.e. 14.84 fpr 2k11 was delivered via IP.

    Regards
    Thomas

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 3,198, Level: 16
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 252
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Eindhoven/The Netherlands
    Posts
    47
    Points
    3,198
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by WannaBeBuser View Post
    The v0.140.44.0 is the 9th(!) firmwareupdate I made this year 2011.
    Not a single one was possible to update from the online source directly on my TV.
    I had to download the ZIP-file every time manually, unzip the 'autorun.upg' to the root-directory of my USB-stick, go to the TV, plug it in, restart the TV and wait for the completed upgrade process.

    How can I make this update process working directly from Internet?
    (BTW: I have a working connection to the internet, because other source from 'outside' are accessible without problems).
    The same problem here! The online source: there are no updates.

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,335, Level: 9
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 15
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    13
    Points
    1,335
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    i have same problem. Only usb. never online. Net TV is working but update not. 42PFL7695H/12 (TURKEY)

  5. #5
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,948, Level: 71
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 1,102
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,079
    Points
    52,948
    Level
    71
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 181 Times in 162 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    but this isn't really a problem, isnt it? It does only take 2 minutes to update by USB...

    Toengel@Alex

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 878, Level: 7
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 72
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6
    Points
    878
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    If I buy a product with a feature that doesn't work, it IS a problem.
    Not the biggest one, but anyway.

    @Toengel@Alex: And how long does it take to update online? .-)

    @Philips: Do you don't trust your own upgrades? Or why do you not offer every update online? Because people could be aware of the many fixed problems?

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 793, Level: 7
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 157
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Москва, Россия
    Posts
    2
    Points
    793
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The same problem, never updates, account updates via usb, but it is a problem that occurs wh have to pull the TV out of the rack and then insert back. done for Russia

  8. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 843, Level: 7
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 107
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    23
    Points
    843
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Сименс View Post
    The same problem, never updates, account updates via usb, but it is a problem that occurs wh have to pull the TV out of the rack and then insert back. done for Russia
    A (cheap) workaround might be an USB extension cable.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 793, Level: 7
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 157
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Москва, Россия
    Posts
    2
    Points
    793
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Perpetual Beta View Post
    A (cheap) workaround might be an USB extension cable.
    This is understandable, but then I do not really need the snot of the TV .... Yes, and I would like to if there is a human function, why not use it, then have to remove it ...

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Points: 3,198, Level: 16
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 252
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Eindhoven/The Netherlands
    Posts
    47
    Points
    3,198
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    but this isn't really a problem, isnt it? It does only take 2 minutes to update by USB...

    Toengel@Alex
    2 minutes ? USB stick into the TV, are there updates ? Yes, I get a file on the USB stick. I go to my computer, make contact with internet, get a zip-file in my download-map, unzipped, file to my USB stick, USB stick to trash (Apple), USB-stick in TV, difficult place, and than I can start the update. At least 5 minutes. There was a time I could update via internet, but maybe it was my other Philips TV (8404).

  11. #11
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,948, Level: 71
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 1,102
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,079
    Points
    52,948
    Level
    71
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 181 Times in 162 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    yeah - no 5 min for update via USB - but for 50 min in Facebook ^^

    Toengel@Alex

  12. #12
    Bronze Member
    Points: 899, Level: 7
    Level completed: 75%, Points required for next Level: 51
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    15
    Points
    899
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Ok it is not really a problem but also it is a little bit confusing, because the IP-Update says there is no update but on the philips-homepage is a new update available and for me the IP-Update never worked, too.

  13. #13
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,948, Level: 71
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 1,102
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,079
    Points
    52,948
    Level
    71
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 181 Times in 162 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    Philips never releases all updates via IP. Especially, during the days when the ZIP files are uploaded to the servers. For example, 14.84 was delivered via IP to 2011 TVs.

    Toengel@Alex

  14. #14
    Bronze Member
    Points: 3,198, Level: 16
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 252
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Eindhoven/The Netherlands
    Posts
    47
    Points
    3,198
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    And now we are almost a year later and on my new 8007 TV it's still not possible to updat via internet: no updates available. But there is one ! Only via USB. Why the choice internet/USB ???

  15. #15
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,948, Level: 71
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 1,102
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,079
    Points
    52,948
    Level
    71
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 181 Times in 162 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    because only major releases will be provided via internet update and only if no problem occur - so first some weeks testing via USB method, then via internet...

    Toengel@Alex

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Online s/w Update and now no internet connectivity ?
    By barrycarr in forum Sound: Streamium MCi series (MCi900| Mci8080| MCi730| MCi500| MCi298)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-19-2012, 06:55 PM
  2. MCi298/12 (firmware 1.20.1149) doesnít play stations from the online radio 101.ru?
    By sciagent in forum Sound: Streamium MCi series (MCi900| Mci8080| MCi730| MCi500| MCi298)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-15-2011, 10:51 PM
  3. Firmware update for 8404?
    By JethroUK in forum TV: Software 2009 models (and older)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-03-2011, 07:43 PM
  4. problems with firmware update
    By lesley.bratty in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-11-2011, 09:36 AM
  5. Firmware Update 32PFL9705H12
    By robertapple1 in forum TV: Software 2010 models
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-18-2010, 05:46 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •