Results 1 to 3 of 3
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 830, Level: 7
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 120
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    2
    Points
    830
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Widescreen Option does not work 40PFL7705DV/F7

    I have a 40PFL7705DV/F7, software out of the box is PHL_0DA_713_0

    I just bought it today. All the TV stations are coming in as 4:3 with side black bars. We have tried changing the setting to Auto or Wide Screen but it does not make the screen wide enough to make it full screen.

    If we change it to 4:3 it gets very small width. The Auto & Wide Screen are a little wider but not much, and are the same. So the black bars remain no matter what I watch.

    I thought I would see 40" by buying a 40" TV. This one looks like a 32" now, but maybe a little taller.

    Can anyone help me set this so it will fill the entire screen? (stretch it out?)

    Thanks, Carol

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 19,939, Level: 43
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 811
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,903
    Points
    19,939
    Level
    43
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 47 Times in 42 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hey Carol,

    how do you receive your TV Signal?
    are there any other Devicex connected to you TV, how does the Picture look like for this Devices?

    Regards
    Thomas

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 830, Level: 7
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 120
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    2
    Points
    830
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thomas,

    Thank you so much for responding.

    As this is a new TV and I was going to return it for this reason, I did call just a little while ago and Phillips Tech Support told me it's a AT&T U-verse issue. I called them and indeed, they had me change some settings on the cable box and voila ! It now works.

    Thank you so much. On to finding out what else this so far very nice TV can do!

    Regards, Carol

Similar Topics

  1. 40PFL7705DV/F7 Lip Sync Issue. Im going crazy
    By DHall in forum TV: Installation
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 10:41 AM
  2. BDP5506/F7 & WI-FI Mediaconnect-do they really work?
    By markjc2002 in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-09-2011, 08:37 AM
  3. 40PFL7705DV/F7 wont connect to internet
    By Toey in forum Smart TV: Installation
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-15-2011, 04:51 PM
  4. Missing 21:9 display option
    By KarelBovy in forum Blu-ray: BDP8000 Series
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-06-2011, 03:42 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-25-2010, 09:00 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •