Results 1 to 4 of 4
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,210, Level: 16
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 240
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Overdrive1 year registered1000 Experience PointsTagger First ClassNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Master Tagger

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    73
    Points
    3,210
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    3

    Exclamation BUG: TV Crash While Browsing MythTV DLNA Server

    Model 42PFL7606K/02 / FW 000.014.093

    I'm seeing a 100% reproducable crash while trying to stream recordings from the MythTV DLNA server on my PC.

    • I can see the DLNA servier on my TV
    • I can choose and display pictures from the DLNA server
    • I can chose and stream music from the DLNA server
    • I can see the 'Recordings' - section on the server, and choose to browse available recordings by e.g. Genre, Date, Recording Group etc.


    BUT:

    As soon as I browse to the level of actual recordings (e.g.: choose for example 'By Date' and try to enter the list of recordings), after approx. 2s the screen goes dark, after another second Ambilight switches off, and the TV reboots.

    This is 100% reproducable, I have not once managed to browse to a recording.

    Several questions:

    • Is this the right place to raise bug reports with Philips, or is there a better way to get Philips support to notice the problem?
    • Is there important information missing from my post? If yes, I'll be happy to provide additional info
    • Does anybody of you either see the same problem, or use MythTV without seeing this problem?



    Thanks, and a Happy New Year to everyone!

    -chrisham

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 17,624, Level: 40
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 426
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,765
    Points
    17,624
    Level
    40
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 39 Times in 36 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    can you please answer to the following Questions:
    what is the used OS
    where did you get your MythTV-Version (official / inofficial Repository, own compiled(what is the source)

    Regards
    Thomas

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,210, Level: 16
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 240
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Overdrive1 year registered1000 Experience PointsTagger First ClassNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Master Tagger

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    73
    Points
    3,210
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    can you please answer to the following Questions:
    what is the used OS
    where did you get your MythTV-Version (official / inofficial Repository, own compiled(what is the source)
    Hi Thomas,

    thanks for taking the time to answer!

    My MythTV installation is on a Linux system (Fedora 16). I'm using the RPMS from ATrpms, built by Axel from atrpms.net:

    [root@calvin etc]# rpm -qiv mythtv-common-0.24.1-278.fc16.x86_64
    Name : mythtv-common
    Version : 0.24.1
    Release : 278.fc16
    Architecture: x86_64
    Install Date: Fr 11 Nov 2011 00:50:06 CET
    Group : Applications/Multimedia
    Size : 1167468
    License : GPLv2
    Signature : DSA/SHA1, Di 08 Nov 2011 13:52:03 CET, Key ID 508ce5e666534c2b
    Source RPM : mythtv-0.24.1-278.fc16.src.rpm
    Build Date : Di 08 Nov 2011 13:50:10 CET
    Build Host : flocki.atrpms.net
    Relocations : (not relocatable)
    Packager : ATrpms <http://ATrpms.net/>
    Vendor : ATrpms.net
    URL : http://www.mythtv.org/
    Summary : MythTV components shared by front- and backend

    As far as I know, there are no 'official' packages of mythtv on Redhat - unless you count the RPMfusion repositories a 'official'.

    I could try reinstalling mythtv from RPMfusion, if you think this might make a difference.

    Again, thanks for taking the time to help!

    -chrisham

    ----- Edit -----
    I forgot one important piece of information: accessing my MythTV recordings from a Windows-Laptop running XBMC works flawlessly, which means that playback on MythTV is generally working.
    Last edited by chrisham; 01-04-2012 at 01:43 PM. Reason: Forgot important information

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,210, Level: 16
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 240
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Overdrive1 year registered1000 Experience PointsTagger First ClassNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Master Tagger

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    73
    Points
    3,210
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Hi Thomas,

    one more piece of information, to support my assumption that it really is Philips who has a bug here:

    I found several threads online which contain success stories for the combination of MythTV as a DLNA server and their respective TVs as clients (Samsung, Panasonic, LG).

    http://www.gossamer-threads.com/list...494473?#494473

    http://www.gossamer-threads.com/list...497269?#497269

    Greetings,

    -chrisham
    Last edited by chrisham; 01-05-2012 at 06:31 PM. Reason: removed some typos

Similar Topics

  1. MyRemote thumbnail/list/grid browsing of uPNP server
    By csimon in forum Apps: MyRemote App (for iOS)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-16-2011, 12:14 PM
  2. PC Software (DLNA server) where to download from?
    By k1200rs in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-01-2011, 01:01 PM
  3. DLNA Mythtv Mythbuntu: file can not be found or played
    By tux in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 09:45 AM
  4. Twonky Media Server 5.1.9 - small photo on TV by DLNA
    By roberto75 in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-10-2011, 08:36 PM
  5. photo not fullscreen in media server (dlna)
    By FJW in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-03-2010, 10:04 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •