Page 14 of 14 FirstFirst ... 4121314
Results 196 to 210 of 210
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #196
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,268, Level: 13
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 182
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,268
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Michiel1986 View Post
    I know what u mean ali, some movies on my bdp7500b2 got the same problem :S
    i dont think the problem is the bluray player its the tv becuse i have 3 bluray players samsung ps3 and panasonic

  2. #197
    New Member
    Points: 639, Level: 6
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 111
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    3
    Points
    639
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Dear Fellow Forum users,

    Please see my recent contact & response (moan) with Philips, I thought this may give insight, or somekind.

    ______


    > Dear Philips,
    >
    > Over the weekend I updated my (2010) 9000 series - 40PFL9705H/12, Serial
    > number XXXXXXXXXXXX television, with the following software update:
    >
    > 40pfl9705h_12_fus_eng.zip
    > Version: 000.140.046.000
    >
    > I successfully updated the television, and initially had access to the new
    > Smart TV portal. However, after turning the television off, I could not
    > navigate within the portal, so I decided to clear the Net TV memory, now I
    > can't even navigate and select OK past the Terms & Conditions continue
    > button, this is very frustrating!
    >
    > I now have no access to the new Smart TV/Net TV portal can you please
    > advise me what the problem is? Is it this new Firmware? Bugs?
    >
    > Also, I never been able to download television updates via wifi through
    > the check for updates option?
    >
    > Furthermore, does this television have a built in DVB-T aerial?, a few
    > months ago I was able to pick up digital signals through the Republic of
    > Ireland Saorview system without one?
    >
    > I look forward to hearing from you.
    >
    > Regards,
    XXXXX

    _____________

    > Dear Mr Reynolds,
    >
    > Thank you for your enquiry and i am sorry to hear about the problems you
    > are having with your TV.
    >
    > The update which has been released does have a slight issue with it and
    > this is why your Net TV is not functioning properly. We are working on a
    > new update which will rectify the slight fault which has been found in the
    > preicous software update. The update is being developed now and will be
    > availble as soon as possible. If you like I can notify you when this update
    > is available.
    >
    > I hope my above information has been useful. If you have any more
    > questions or would like further assistance please do let me know and I will
    > be more then happy to help. You can also call us on our customer care
    > helpline or contact us on our online chat service, using your customer
    > reference number 50-955571841
    >
    > Kind regards,
    >
    > XXXXXX
    > Philips Customer Care

    _______


    Dear Philips Customer Care,

    *Re: Customer Reference number XXXXXXXXXXXXX

    Thank you for your prompt response and I would appreciate if you would notify
    me when this new update is available.

    However, I reiterate that I'am *VERY* disappointed that this update has had
    such an impact by reducing the functionality of my Philips Television,
    which at the time of purchase was a considerable € investment, my
    confidence in Philips products have been greatly impacted by this.

    Philips should be mindful of the impact buggy firmware updates have on
    their products, it seems to me that the update wasn't properly tested, see
    the Philips forum:

    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...p/t-3759.html?

    Get rid of the fancy backgrounds, might speed up the boot time sequence or
    is my TV just considered old now?

    As a valued customer, I kindly ask that you consider some kind of redress
    for this inconvenience, perhaps an SD card which was offered in other
    countries.


    Furthermore I would appreciate an answer to the following questions:


    1. Why am I unable to download television updates over wifi through the
    check for updates option?

    2. Can you please advise at what frequency (Hz) Philips Active Shutter
    3d Glasses for a 40PFL9705H/12 TV operate at?

    3. Does the 40PFL9705H/12 have a built in DVB-T aerial?, a few months
    ago I was able to pick up digital signals through the Republic of Ireland
    Saorview system without one?

    4. Please, please, please support MKV files for USB playback.

    Again, thank you for your time and continued support.

    Kind regards,

    XXXXXXX

    _________________

    Dear Mr XXXXXX,

    Thank you for your reply.

    I can imagine you must feel very disappointed with the recent issues that you are having with your TV however we are working on a update which will fix this issue. We do release hundreds of software updates for all of our various products and these are trailed and tested to ensure the software is ready to be released but as you can imagine you do get slight glitches with a small minority of the updates as technology can be very temperamental.

    In regards to the forums suggesting that the software was not tested properly is a complete lie. I can ensure you that our software along with all our products are trailed, tested and verified before they are released. It is this reason why we cannot offer anything in regards of a gesture of goodwill. I understand that you do feel disappointed and maybe let down by us however this is a rare issue which has happened whereby the update was valid until it had been installed on the Televisions.

    In regards to your questions.

    1. As you have the most recent update, no new update will be found. However if this is not the case then I would advise you to disable the connection to your home network then re-connect and then try.

    2. If you are regarding to the Philips Active Shutter 3d Glasses that are in the link below then these are in fact not compatible with the 40PFL9705H/12

    http://www.amazon.com/Infrared-Activ.../dp/B006TAINRC

    3. Yes the 40PFL9705H/12 does have a DVB-T tuner.

    4. Unfortunately most of our TV's do not support MKV files.

    Furthermore I thank for your feedback on our products as this is very important to us because we can find out new ways of improving our products. I will definitely pass your feedback onto our product development team.

    Once again I hope my above information has been useful. If you have any more questions or would like further assistance please do let me know and I will be more then happy to help. You can also call us on our customer care helpline or contact us on our online chat service, using your customer reference number 50-95557184.

    Kind regards,

    XXXXX
    Philips Customer Care

  3. #198
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,405, Level: 16
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 45
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    163
    Points
    3,405
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    A polite answer from Philips, but it does not help you further.
    At least now we know that a new release is being worked on that solves the issue that you end up in the terms and conditions screen when you clear net TV memory.
    There is also a workaround for this issue (can be found somewhere on this forum).
    I believe that downgrading (!) to 140.39 - accepting the terms and conditions - upgrading to 140.46 will do the trick.

    The answer about upgrading over network does not help you further either.
    On my TV it has never worked, so I only perform upgrades via USB after downloading with a computer.

    I was already disappointed by the Philips SW development and also about the customer service.
    Customer service often does not know a better suggestion than 'unplug your TV for 5 minutes and try again'
    The communication you describe above is another proof that no big improvement is to be expected soon...

    Niels

  4. #199
    New Member
    Points: 639, Level: 6
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 111
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    3
    Points
    639
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Niels View Post
    A polite answer from Philips, but it does not help you further.
    At least now we know that a new release is being worked on that solves the issue that you end up in the terms and conditions screen when you clear net TV memory.
    There is also a workaround for this issue (can be found somewhere on this forum).
    I believe that downgrading (!) to 140.39 - accepting the terms and conditions - upgrading to 140.46 will do the trick.

    The answer about upgrading over network does not help you further either.
    On my TV it has never worked, so I only perform upgrades via USB after downloading with a computer.

    I was already disappointed by the Philips SW development and also about the customer service.
    Customer service often does not know a better suggestion than 'unplug your TV for 5 minutes and try again'
    The communication you describe above is another proof that no big improvement is to be expected soon...

    Niels
    Thanks for your reply, Niels

    I just feel that some of these 2010 models have been very poorly let down by Philips, so many limitations have come to light through the products life.

    We all battle technology everyday, and know that it can be very temperamental - but I don't want to have to battle it at home when all I want to sit down and relax and use the features as advertised.

    I wish I had held out for the 2011/2012 models which seem to have built upon the features which should have really beensorted in the 2010 models IMO. But hey that's the nature of planned obsolescence with technology, so I guess I'll have to suck it up and stop being a weeper.

    I'm going to hold out for the updated SW - not going to risk downgrading just yet.

    Adrian
    Last edited by AR1; 02-22-2012 at 09:33 AM.

  5. #200
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,110, Level: 8
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 40
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    22
    Points
    1,110
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    i used to play mkv with my external hdd and no troubles,till yesterday. I plugged in and all seems ok,but when i hit play on any files (mkv or mp3 or .ts wich were played with no problems) the tv doesnt want to play them anymore: the status bar of the file went all grey and the file simply doesnt play at all. Of course i've tryed the same hard disk and same files on the pc and no troubles at all. Also, as i've already wrote, the same files were all played fine early by the TV itself...Now i've tryed to unplug the AC of the Tv and lets see what happen...Yesterday i removed and replugged the HDD and all was fine again, these time didnt work (tryed few time waiting few minutes before reconnect it) ...

    EDIT:
    after unplugged the AC all was working fine as always...
    Last edited by IronJack; 02-23-2012 at 04:14 PM.

  6. #201
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,268, Level: 13
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 182
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,268
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    any one no when the next update is coming out

  7. #202
    New Member
    Points: 618, Level: 6
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 132
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1
    Points
    618
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Summarizing, my experience with the latest firmware is the following:

    Pros:
    ∑ Little speedup
    ∑ Nothing else

    Cons:
    ∑ I can't use NetTV anymore, can't get past 'Terms and Conditions' menu
    ∑ Constant DLNA disconnection. Everytime I stream a video, after 10~15 min the servers are considered lost.

    Similar experiences:
    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...TV-not-working
    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...he-dlna-server
    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...light=difranca

    Waiting for a decent upgrade now.

  8. #203
    New Member
    Points: 639, Level: 6
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 111
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    3
    Points
    639
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Dear Philips When will the update be available?

    Dear Mr Philips,

    Thank you for your enquiry and once again I can imagine this issue can be getting very frustrating.

    Unfortunately you will be unable to downgrade the software version on the TV. The only way this can be done is if the TV is booked into repair. What I would suggest could work is if you reset the TV to its default settings. You can do this by pressing Home > Setup > TV settings, select Reset and press OK to confirm.

    If this does not work then please could you provide us with your Mac address so that we can look further into this issue. You can view you Mac address through the setup and view network settings or alternatively if have the TV on and punch in 123654 on your remote control then this should bring up the TV information. On the third page you should be able to find the Mac address. If you do have any issue with this you can call us on 08443 380 489 for some help.

    I look forward to your reply,

    Kind regards,

    Arun
    Philips Customer Care



    -----Original Message-----


    Dear Philips,

    Please advise:

    Will downgrading my (2010) 9000 series - 40PFL9705H/12, Serial
    > number xxxxxxxxxxxx television to Firmware 140.39 & accepting the terms
    and conditions, then upgrading to 140.46 sort out my problems? Or should I
    refrain from such practice?

    Any update on when the new Firmware will be available please? This
    prolonged loss of functionality is extremely frustrating!

    Regards,

    xxxxxxxxxxxxx

  9. #204
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,948, Level: 71
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 1,102
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,079
    Points
    52,948
    Level
    71
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 181 Times in 162 Posts
    Rep Power
    11

  10. #205
    New Member
    Points: 1,265, Level: 9
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 85
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,265
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    My first new 40PFL9705h/12 ,serial number VN1B 1039 xxxxxx, fw140.34 updated to 140.39 I had no issues with my Western digital Live Media player.
    Now my 2nd new replacement 40PFL9705h/12 ,serial number VN1M 1137 xxxxxx, fw140.40 updated to 140.46.The latest firmware did fix the sound dropping on my WD TV Live Player but i can hear some light popping/crackling in the DTS audio soundtracks.I want to downgrade to 140.39 but the tv came with 140.40,will i break my tv if downgrade the fimware?

  11. #206
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,761, Level: 11
    Level completed: 71%, Points required for next Level: 89
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    49
    Points
    1,761
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    For the ones that are having troubles with NetTV here's how you can fix it.
    You have to downgrade to version .34
    (it's safe to downgrade, because as of version .27 or so philips fixed the downgrade issue, so that it will be safe to downgrade)

    how-> Place the upgrade file on an usb stick, go to configuration in your tv and select software-settings-local updates, the TV warns that it's an older version but just do it, it will work.
    After the upgrade is done, it says to reboot, this is done by pressing the standby button on the remote once. After this wait 5 minutes to reboot and the tv to settle.

    Then you place the .40 version (or higher) on the usb-stick (I think that .40 is the best one).
    Upgrade the TV to .4x just by inserting the usb device. After that reboot again and wat 5 mins.

    NetTV and the cursors will work again now.

    You can get older firmware versions here: http://philips.samipupu.com/9xx5.html

    Philips, please do not remove this post whereas it will help a lot of people with there nettv problems.

  12. #207
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,794, Level: 11
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 56
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    33
    Points
    1,794
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by AR1 View Post
    Dear Fellow Forum users,

    Please see my recent contact & response (moan) with Philips, I thought this may give insight, or somekind.

    ______


    > Dear Philips,
    >
    > Over the weekend I updated my (2010) 9000 series - 40PFL9705H/12, Serial
    > number XXXXXXXXXXXX television, with the following software update:
    >
    > 40pfl9705h_12_fus_eng.zip
    > Version: 000.140.046.000
    >
    > I successfully updated the television, and initially had access to the new
    > Smart TV portal. However, after turning the television off, I could not
    > navigate within the portal, so I decided to clear the Net TV memory, now I
    > can't even navigate and select OK past the Terms & Conditions continue
    > button, this is very frustrating!
    >
    > I now have no access to the new Smart TV/Net TV portal can you please
    > advise me what the problem is? Is it this new Firmware? Bugs?
    >
    > Also, I never been able to download television updates via wifi through
    > the check for updates option?
    >
    > Furthermore, does this television have a built in DVB-T aerial?, a few
    > months ago I was able to pick up digital signals through the Republic of
    > Ireland Saorview system without one?
    >
    > I look forward to hearing from you.
    >
    > Regards,
    XXXXX

    _____________

    > Dear Mr Reynolds,
    >
    > Thank you for your enquiry and i am sorry to hear about the problems you
    > are having with your TV.
    >
    > The update which has been released does have a slight issue with it and
    > this is why your Net TV is not functioning properly. We are working on a
    > new update which will rectify the slight fault which has been found in the
    > preicous software update. The update is being developed now and will be
    > availble as soon as possible. If you like I can notify you when this update
    > is available.
    >
    > I hope my above information has been useful. If you have any more
    > questions or would like further assistance please do let me know and I will
    > be more then happy to help. You can also call us on our customer care
    > helpline or contact us on our online chat service, using your customer
    > reference number 50-955571841
    >
    > Kind regards,
    >
    > XXXXXX
    > Philips Customer Care

    _______


    Dear Philips Customer Care,

    *Re: Customer Reference number XXXXXXXXXXXXX

    Thank you for your prompt response and I would appreciate if you would notify
    me when this new update is available.

    However, I reiterate that I'am *VERY* disappointed that this update has had
    such an impact by reducing the functionality of my Philips Television,
    which at the time of purchase was a considerable € investment, my
    confidence in Philips products have been greatly impacted by this.

    Philips should be mindful of the impact buggy firmware updates have on
    their products, it seems to me that the update wasn't properly tested, see
    the Philips forum:

    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...p/t-3759.html?

    Get rid of the fancy backgrounds, might speed up the boot time sequence or
    is my TV just considered old now?

    As a valued customer, I kindly ask that you consider some kind of redress
    for this inconvenience, perhaps an SD card which was offered in other
    countries.


    Furthermore I would appreciate an answer to the following questions:


    1. Why am I unable to download television updates over wifi through the
    check for updates option?

    2. Can you please advise at what frequency (Hz) Philips Active Shutter
    3d Glasses for a 40PFL9705H/12 TV operate at?

    3. Does the 40PFL9705H/12 have a built in DVB-T aerial?, a few months
    ago I was able to pick up digital signals through the Republic of Ireland
    Saorview system without one?

    4. Please, please, please support MKV files for USB playback.

    Again, thank you for your time and continued support.

    Kind regards,

    XXXXXXX

    _________________

    Dear Mr XXXXXX,

    Thank you for your reply.

    I can imagine you must feel very disappointed with the recent issues that you are having with your TV however we are working on a update which will fix this issue. We do release hundreds of software updates for all of our various products and these are trailed and tested to ensure the software is ready to be released but as you can imagine you do get slight glitches with a small minority of the updates as technology can be very temperamental.

    In regards to the forums suggesting that the software was not tested properly is a complete lie. I can ensure you that our software along with all our products are trailed, tested and verified before they are released. It is this reason why we cannot offer anything in regards of a gesture of goodwill. I understand that you do feel disappointed and maybe let down by us however this is a rare issue which has happened whereby the update was valid until it had been installed on the Televisions.

    In regards to your questions.

    1. As you have the most recent update, no new update will be found. However if this is not the case then I would advise you to disable the connection to your home network then re-connect and then try.

    2. If you are regarding to the Philips Active Shutter 3d Glasses that are in the link below then these are in fact not compatible with the 40PFL9705H/12

    http://www.amazon.com/Infrared-Activ.../dp/B006TAINRC

    3. Yes the 40PFL9705H/12 does have a DVB-T tuner.

    4. Unfortunately most of our TV's do not support MKV files.

    Furthermore I thank for your feedback on our products as this is very important to us because we can find out new ways of improving our products. I will definitely pass your feedback onto our product development team.

    Once again I hope my above information has been useful. If you have any more questions or would like further assistance please do let me know and I will be more then happy to help. You can also call us on our customer care helpline or contact us on our online chat service, using your customer reference number 50-95557184.

    Kind regards,

    XXXXX
    Philips Customer Care
    I am in ireland too and the tv will receive saorview but you need an aerial. The old analogue one will work if the saorview signal is from same transmitter. You need to set tv to UK though as you will not receive the digital teletext. However if you have tv set to Ireland instead you will receive a better EPG. Its up to you which you prefer, Philips are very poor at updating their software as you have stated and its a bit rich when they state 'In regards to the forums suggesting that the software was not tested properly is a complete lie' I don't think so..
    , but the 9705 is nice tv though....

  13. #208
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,241, Level: 9
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 109
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    10
    Points
    1,241
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

  14. #209
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,667, Level: 11
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 183
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    johny_sk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Kosice/Slovakia
    Posts
    28
    Points
    1,667
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    File version ENG is incorrect (v.47)
    Last edited by johny_sk; 03-14-2012 at 08:13 PM.

  15. #210
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,948, Level: 71
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 1,102
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,079
    Points
    52,948
    Level
    71
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 181 Times in 162 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    just downloaded version 140.47. Please post your feedback here: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...s-(2010-models)

    Toengel@Alex

Page 14 of 14 FirstFirst ... 4121314

Similar Topics

  1. Replies: 43
    Last Post: 12-28-2011, 09:22 AM
  2. Replies: 111
    Last Post: 12-20-2011, 06:14 AM
  3. Replies: 149
    Last Post: 12-09-2011, 06:44 AM
  4. Replies: 84
    Last Post: 08-26-2011, 12:08 PM
  5. Replies: 79
    Last Post: 07-19-2011, 06:55 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •