Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 146
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #46
    Bronze Member
    Points: 754, Level: 7
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 196
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    13
    Points
    754
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by flajor View Post
    Hi Bluestraw. Could you please check this, thanks a lot
    Please could someone with the same TV (SW release no issue) check the backplane if there is a red diode blinking.
    The diode is located (viewed from the front) about 8 cm to the left and 5 cm above the upper left wallmount hole.
    I had the SSB HW card exchanged on this TV and I am curious if this red diode was blinking on the old one.
    Br Jorn
    Hi flajor,
    Do I need to look at the back of the TV for this? It is wall mounted and I hard to access the back - sorry.

  2. #47
    Bronze Member
    Points: 754, Level: 7
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 196
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    13
    Points
    754
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    One more unusual behaviour I found - even when using the same settings for the TV, changing from 50/60Hz to 24Hz shows a MUCH bigger input lag. For 50/60Hz it is around 60ms, for 24Hz is around 150ms. This makes it very hard to set a consistent audio delay for the PS3, since all films run at 24Hz and games run at 50/60Hz. Has anyone else seen this?

  3. #48
    New Member
    Points: 749, Level: 6
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 1
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Horten/Norway
    Posts
    1
    Points
    749
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I did this upgrade (46pfl9706) a couple of days ago and it now seems that all backlighting LEDs are stuck on max output. Adjusting "baclight contrast" has no effect and there is no local dimming going on under any setting or any mode. I get a very bright, slightly washed out picture with poor black levels. I had disabled local dimming prior to upgrade, not sure if this has anything to do with it.

    Any good ideas?

  4. #49
    Bronze Member
    Points: 938, Level: 7
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 12
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    32
    Points
    938
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by flajor View Post
    Hi Bluestraw. Could you please check this, thanks a lot
    Please could someone with the same TV (SW release no issue) check the backplane if there is a red diode blinking.
    The diode is located (viewed from the front) about 8 cm to the left and 5 cm above the upper left wallmount hole.
    I had the SSB HW card exchanged on this TV and I am curious if this red diode was blinking on the old one.
    Br Jorn
    Mine is blinking too. Not always at the same speed (especially while cold booting).

  5. #50
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,706, Level: 14
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 44
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam
    Posts
    76
    Points
    2,706
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Today, after the television all night the power was off (plug out he power cable)
    today I start the TV, it was sound and Ambilight also went on but no picture.
    I had the television on and off again, and then got back image.
    I have the last firmware version.

    google translator

  6. #51
    New Member
    Points: 781, Level: 7
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 169
    Overall activity: 99.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredOverdrive500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    9
    Points
    781
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sgk View Post
    ....

    My preliminary assessment (after a few hours and after 2 or 3 times power on/off) with the use of "personal settings" - yes PNM remains permanently disabled.

    Greetings
    Hello,
    I must revise my opinion, unfortunately.
    The use of "personal settings" does not solve the problem. PNM is for power off/on repeatedly activated (even if it as 'off' is displayed) and generates macro blocks with fast movements.

    Best wishes for the new year

  7. #52
    Bronze Member
    Points: 754, Level: 7
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 196
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    13
    Points
    754
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi sgk. I still can't reproduce this issue on my set - PNM stays 'off' for me, or at least it is not properly 'on'. Is it completely 'on' for you, i.e. with the completely 'silky' motion, or just part of the effect? What other settings do you have?

  8. #53
    New Member
    Points: 781, Level: 7
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 169
    Overall activity: 99.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredOverdrive500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    9
    Points
    781
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Bluestraw View Post
    Hi sgk. I still can't reproduce this issue on my set - PNM stays 'off' for me, or at least it is not properly 'on'. Is it completely 'on' for you, i.e. with the completely 'silky' motion, or just part of the effect? What other settings do you have?
    Hello,
    I can't see any improvement if PNM is active - only these stupid macro blocks for fast movements (especially during movements of larger objects in the "foreground" and at TV broadcast in HD).

    Sharpness - 5
    Noise reduction - medium
    Tint - normal

    PPHD
    PNM - off
    Clear LCD - on
    Super resolution - on
    Perfect contrast - medium
    Dynamic backlight - Best picture
    MPEG artefact reduction- maximum
    Color enhancement - medium
    Gamma - 1
    Video contrast - 85

    Picture format - Auto fill

    Greetings

  9. #54
    New Member
    Points: 821, Level: 7
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 129
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    8
    Points
    821
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    If you want to see PNM improvements (clear LCD involved too) try a pc or videoconsole FPS (shooter) and rotate the camera, for all others things i have it always off.

  10. #55
    New Member
    Points: 781, Level: 7
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 169
    Overall activity: 99.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredOverdrive500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    9
    Points
    781
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by PinkChocobo View Post
    If you want to see PNM improvements (clear LCD involved too) try a pc or videoconsole FPS (shooter) and rotate the camera, for all others things i have it always off.
    So far so good - but I can not turn it OFF permanent. It is ON after Power OFF/ON.

  11. #56
    New Member
    Points: 848, Level: 7
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 102
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    4
    Points
    848
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by stefanox View Post
    Today, after the television all night the power was off (plug out he power cable)
    today I start the TV, it was sound and Ambilight also went on but no picture.
    I had the television on and off again, and then got back image.
    I have the last firmware version.

    google translator
    Hi
    I guess I was too optimistic when I wrote about the positive experience with the "no image" problem earlier, I also got the same problem again yesterday.
    Happy New Year

  12. #57
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,148, Level: 8
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 2
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Deutschland
    Posts
    22
    Points
    1,148
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    - Ambilight flashes
    from time to time for a second
    in a certain area in wrong colours.

    - TV seems to "restart" sometimes while watching a TV-Channel (Ci+ DVB-C) within seconds
    (: no picture, no sound, than again picture and sound and again the info screen: "ext. amplifier activated" - just like after a manual (re)start of the TV)
    Last edited by mk81; 01-02-2012 at 10:03 AM.

  13. #58
    Gold Member
    Points: 9,558, Level: 29
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 392
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsVeteran
    bluevoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    Posts
    365
    Points
    9,558
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 10 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by mk81 View Post
    - Ambilight flashes
    from time to time for a second
    in a certain area in wrong colours.
    I can confirm the flashes once in a while on my Philips Cinema Gold (50PFL7956H/12). This must be a bug.

    Quote Originally Posted by sgk View Post
    So far so good - but I can not turn it OFF permanent. It is ON after Power OFF/ON.
    I see it here too, PNM is always ON after turning the tv off and back on. The setting says OFF but one can clearly see it's ON. After switching PNM on and back off it stays off until you turn your tv off (or on standby). As soon as you turn the tv back on PNM is ON.

  14. #59
    Gold Member
    Points: 9,558, Level: 29
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 392
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsVeteran
    bluevoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    Posts
    365
    Points
    9,558
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 10 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    There is one more issue on my Philips Cinema Gold TV 50PFL7956H/12 (that seems someway connected to the PNM issue):

    It seems my TV does not remember all settings after turning it off and back on:
    1) PNM (already discussed above)
    2) Picture format: always goes to the top most option: 'Auto fill'
    3) Picture --> Smart Picture: always goes to the option: 'Standard' (my own setting is 'Personal')

    Do you also experience 2 and 3?
    Last edited by bluevoice; 01-02-2012 at 12:18 PM.

  15. #60
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,436, Level: 10
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 114
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    19
    Points
    1,436
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bluevoice View Post
    There is one more issue on my Philips Cinema Gold TV 50PFL7956H/12 (that seems someway connected to the PNM issue):

    It seems my TV does not remember all settings after turning it off and back on:
    1) PNM (already discussed above)
    2) Picture format: always goes to the top most option: 'Auto fill'
    3) Picture --> Smart Picture: always goes to the option: 'Standard' (my own setting is 'Personal')

    Do you also experience 2 and 3?
    I don't mean to insult your or anyone else's intelligence, but have you checked that you have the TV set to 'Home' and not 'Shop' in the menu? I and a few people had issues with all the settings reverting back to defaults after powering down their 9705's and it was down to this menu option setting back to 'shop' after firmware updates.

Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Replies: 79
    Last Post: 12-22-2011, 07:18 AM
  2. Replies: 155
    Last Post: 12-14-2011, 02:00 PM
  3. Replies: 23
    Last Post: 10-20-2011, 08:26 AM
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-12-2011, 11:37 AM
  5. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-10-2011, 08:13 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •