Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678
Results 106 to 114 of 114
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #106
    New Member
    Points: 137, Level: 1
    Level completed: 87%, Points required for next Level: 13
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2
    Points
    137
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips View Post
    On your last question: we will always try to solve major issue's.
    The TV sets on a enbedded Linux System. This was a good choice, because that is a rocket solid system which can run 7/24 on desktops, server systems, mobiles, routers, NAS and so on.

    Beside of that, the software engineers at Philips got it to the point where even this stable base gets into reboots. They're even not able to get a stable standby software. The resolution of them is that the 2012 line of TV also allows to update the standby software in a way like the rest of the software. Why do I, as a customer, have to care about the standby software at all?

    On a TV which does crash in daily usage, and firmware updates on the other hand seems to fix sometimes only things like i18n issues, the question is what a major issue really is. This mainly depends on the strategy of the company in the term of a long lasting customer loyality business model. As it seems, most people still expect from Philips to build rocket solid devices. This means not only hardware should be solid, also the software has to be solid. I'm afraid the old view of the customers on the company and the new strategy of the company don't fit together anymore. That's a really dangerous path.

    Please proof me that I'm wrong.

    Cheers

    Bössu

  2. #107
    Gold Member
    Points: 6,624, Level: 24
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 426
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second ClassNew Achievement!5000 Experience Points
    bluevoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    Posts
    361
    Points
    6,624
    Level
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 17 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by boessu View Post
    On a TV which does crash in daily usage, and firmware updates on the other hand seems to fix sometimes only things like i18n issues, the question is what a major issue really is. This mainly depends on the strategy of the company in the term of a long lasting customer loyality business model. As it seems, most people still expect from Philips to build rocket solid devices. This means not only hardware should be solid, also the software has to be solid. I'm afraid the old view of the customers on the company and the new strategy of the company don't fit together anymore. That's a really dangerous path.

    Please proof me that I'm wrong.

    Cheers

    Bössu
    I agree, I have now the Philips Cinema Platinum (58PFL9956), a TV with a RRP of € 3600,-. For this amount of money I expect not only major issues to be resolved, but all issues.

    Also, I don't want Philips to decide what issues get marked as major by popular demand, I want the TV to have no issues at all.

    This situation is totally unacceptable!!!

  3. #108
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,616, Level: 11
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 234
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    57
    Points
    1,616
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    I Like this thread.
    Its all about "not working easylink", not working "mainboard replacements" and bad support. I also updated the standby FW from my 55 7606k02 which was at least in my point of view expensive enough. My Easylink icons are also dissapearing from time to time. Pulling the power cord dosent help in my case. Only one thing helps, starting the TV from a easylink device.

    And dont forget the HDMI, SPDIF Dolby passthrue bug in the TV sets from 2011 which makes many HTS systems unusable for watching movies with good sound quality.

  4. #109
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,420, Level: 69
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 730
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,974
    Points
    50,420
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 169 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    this DD passthrough is a bug in the BDP/HTS devices... it's being fixed for some BDPs already... (e.g. BDP5500)

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #110
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,616, Level: 11
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 234
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    57
    Points
    1,616
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    this DD passthrough is a bug in the BDP/HTS devices... it's being fixed for some BDPs already... (e.g. BDP5500)

    Toengel@Alex
    Maybe there are also bugs in the BDP/HTS devices from Philips. But there are also bugs in my 7606K02. My HTS is not from Philips, and is working fine with a Samsung TV. I think there are not many options left. Since the sound issues are even there with Smart TV Apps like Videociety and Digital Broadcastet TV-stations from the internal Receiver. So the source is the TV the Sound destination is the HTS and the HTS is working fine with other TV sets. The Philips TV has this bugs even connected over SPDIF to the HTS, so how can that be a problem of the HTS?

  6. #111
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,420, Level: 69
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 730
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,974
    Points
    50,420
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 169 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    ah - you mean you don't geht Dolby from the interal Tuner/SmartTV to your HTS (via ARC or SPDIF)?

    Toengel@Alex

  7. #112
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,616, Level: 11
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 234
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    57
    Points
    1,616
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    I do get Dolby to my HTS, but only with frequent sound drops. I get them with every HDMI cable comibination. I have 5 different HDMI cabels all are HDMI 1.4 certified. Even with SPDIF i get this Sound drops when connected to the TV and Dolby is send. It happens with any source which sends Dolby with multichannel sound thrue the TV. Direct connected devices work just fine. But my HTS has only one BD-In so i cant connect all Dolby devices directly to the HTS. But even if i could. Everything which comes from the TV in Dolby gives the same sound drops on my HTS. PCM sound also works fine.
    With the internal speakers everything is works fine.

  8. #113
    New Member
    Points: 55, Level: 1
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 95
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Berlicum/Netherlands
    Posts
    2
    Points
    55
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I am an Newbie here, but today I had a Chat with Philips. I have an 40PFL9606K/02 where I experience suddenly TV goes off and on. Also Teletekst stops and returns to TV. Philips adviced me to use this upgrade. I had STNDBY_91.67.0.0 and after this Upgrade (where the message came that this was an older file?), I have now 92.67.0.0 (not 92.0.0.0) as the .upg suggests.
    But after all this the problem is the same.
    I explained that also a message came that there were Updates on channels.
    By the way I have no easylink on so it seems to me all this has nothing to do with my problem.
    I have the latest firmware installed 000.014.104.000.
    Any suggestions on what all this might cause?
    A few months ago my TV was completely not responding anymore.
    Then I decided to start with Factorysettings.
    All the Channels had to be installed again.

  9. #114
    New Member
    Points: 55, Level: 1
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 95
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Berlicum/Netherlands
    Posts
    2
    Points
    55
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Thumbs down Again Factory settings did help

    Quote Originally Posted by PeterBoll View Post
    I am an Newbie here, but today I had a Chat with Philips. I have an 40PFL9606K/02 where I experience suddenly TV goes off and on. Also Teletekst stops and returns to TV. Philips adviced me to use this upgrade. I had STNDBY_91.67.0.0 and after this Upgrade (where the message came that this was an older file?), I have now 92.67.0.0 (not 92.0.0.0) as the .upg suggests.
    But after all this the problem is the same.
    I explained that also a message came that there were Updates on channels.
    By the way I have no easylink on so it seems to me all this has nothing to do with my problem.
    I have the latest firmware installed 000.014.104.000.
    Any suggestions on what all this might cause?
    A few months ago my TV was completely not responding anymore.
    Then I decided to start with Factorysettings.
    All the Channels had to be installed again.
    So after trying a lot different stuf. I did reset to factory-settings and everything seems fine again.
    Still curious and all instable to me.

Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678

Similar Topics

  1. MKV support over USB on Philips Cinema Gold TV
    By bluevoice in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-03-2012, 08:15 PM
  2. Lots of resets with Cinema 21:9 Gold TV (50PFL7956H/12)
    By bluevoice in forum TV: Software 2011 models
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-05-2012, 08:37 PM
  3. Cinema 21:9 tv model 50pfl7956h crashing
    By vanabbemuseum in forum TV: Software 2011 models
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-02-2011, 09:47 AM
  4. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-14-2011, 01:37 PM
  5. No picture on Philips Cinema Gold TV
    By bluevoice in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-02-2011, 01:45 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •