Results 1 to 8 of 8
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 811, Level: 7
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 139
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    St. Petersburg
    Posts
    2
    Points
    811
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Exclamation Problems with repair OS SA2ARA04K/02

    Hello!
    Today, by mistake I've formatted my player. After start formatting turn out error, which appears that "more files can not be deleted, although it is shown that approximately 800 megabytes is occupied. When I unplugged the player it's dont turn on, but when i connect to PC on the screen appears the standard charging animation, but doesnt show choice menu (charging or listening). I read the instructions for troubleshooting, but the program "Philips Device Manager" dont "see" player. Please, can you tell me what to do now?

    I realized my mistake- it was necessary to download Philips Songbird, but not Philips Device Manager.
    Last edited by GlazG; 12-24-2011 at 07:44 PM.

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 860, Level: 7
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 90
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Caveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    27
    Points
    860
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    Can you try to hit the reset and power on the device again? The reset is a tiny hole somewhere in the bottom on the device (you must use a pen).

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 585, Level: 6
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 165
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    nuremberg
    Posts
    2
    Points
    585
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    reset does not work. is there any other method?

    Quote Originally Posted by Caveman View Post
    Hi,

    Can you try to hit the reset and power on the device again? The reset is a tiny hole somewhere in the bottom on the device (you must use a pen).
    This does not seem to solve the problem, my disply still only shows the battery symbol (empty battery) and as soon as i disconnect from USB it turns dark.
    Is tehre any other method, or is this battery broken.
    And then, how to replace the battery?

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 860, Level: 7
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 90
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Caveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    27
    Points
    860
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I am afraid the battery is dead. If the device is still under warranty, you can contact Philips. To replace the battery, you need to open the device. If you know electronics, I am sure you will know how. If you are a handy person, you will also probably figure out how to open it. But then, I have no idea where to get a replacement battery. The battery is something you must welder, it doesn't have a standard format which can be removed/replaced.

    One last attempt I would do is to use a cellphone adapter which has a mini USB plug to charge the device. May be there waas something wrong in the USB cable or the USB port of your computer?

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Points: 9,011, Level: 28
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 339
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    883
    Points
    9,011
    Level
    28
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear kilugear

    So you mentioned it shows the charging animation, does this mean it can be recognized by your PC?
    if so, you can download the songbird: www.philips.com/songbird

    Then follow this steps:
    1) try format again using songbird [steps : songbird> plug in device via USB > left device pane, click on ur device > tools tab > format].
    If does not work, try repair
    2) try repair your device using songbird [steps : songbird> plug in device via USB > tools drop down menu on the top > repair my device > choose the correct device SA2ARA > unplug device > switch off device > plug in to PC again while long hold vol + keys >until the pop up message disappear]

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 585, Level: 6
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 165
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    nuremberg
    Posts
    2
    Points
    585
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - QK View Post
    Dear kilugear

    So you mentioned it shows the charging animation, does this mean it can be recognized by your PC?
    if so, you can download the songbird: www.philips.com/songbird

    ]

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    No, it is
    a) not animated, just the empty battery symbol
    b) not recognised by my PC.

    i tried a number of charging methods (USB charger from the car and 220 and different PC's and cables, all the same result.
    Where do i start openeing the device? it is the SA2VBE16K. There is a mall round plate on top beside the volume buttons, is the screw hidden here?
    On the back there i see only the housing, no screw.

    Thanks for all your helpfull tips.
    Chris

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 860, Level: 7
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 90
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Caveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    27
    Points
    860
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Kilugear View Post
    Where do i start openeing the device? it is the SA2VBE16K. There is a mall round plate on top beside the volume buttons, is the screw hidden here?
    On the back there i see only the housing, no screw
    These kinds of devices are not designed to be serviced by the user. Even if you are out of warranty, I suggest you to contact Philips first to see if they can do anything. In case you decide to take a chance to open the device, I wonder if it is really worth the effort as I am not sure you can really fix anything, and will most likely leave the device non-operational for good.

    Any how, if you want to open it. Pry the bottom and top ends out using a sharp knife. Then look carefully for the plastic grooves that lock the device to the shell. Hopefully you can figure out where they are and unlock them. Then slide the internal "board" out by pushing on the top end, it will slide out by the other end. If you feel a strong resistance, this means you may have missed to unlock a groove somewhere. Or maybe the internal board is glued to the shell. Any how, at this point I guess you are ready to destroy the device, so just push strongly on the top and hope that the board will come out without breaking too much. Then you will see the internals of the device, the battery is probably easily accessible.

    EDIT: Oh now I think I understand why you wanted to open it. May be the battery itself is OK but it is not recognized because of a stupid problem like a wiring issue or loose contact? If this is the case then yes, your plan will work as this can be fixed easily. Good lucks.
    Last edited by Caveman; 03-23-2012 at 11:43 PM.

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Kilugear,

    if you cannot power on your device and it is not being recognized by your PC then it has to be checked by service. Please check with your local call centre for further assistence www.philips.com/contact

    Kind regards,
    Forum Mod

Similar Topics

  1. Problems with repair OS SA1ARA04K/02
    By GlazG in forum Sound: GoGear SA1-series (2009)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-24-2011, 07:13 PM
  2. [SA3VBE04KS/02] Firmware
    By BenoitSvB in forum Sound: GoGear SA3-series (2011)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-23-2011, 08:15 AM
  3. Computer don't see device (Philips GoGear Ariaz, SA2ARA04K/97)
    By Cuzz in forum Sound: GoGear SA2-series (2010)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-10-2011, 12:21 PM
  4. Philips 42PFL7606K/02
    By dorenthe in forum TV: 3D
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-22-2011, 09:05 AM
  5. Use /02 in Spain
    By kintaniya in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-11-2010, 01:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •