Results 1 to 9 of 9
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 793, Level: 7
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 157
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany / Kiel
    Posts
    4
    Points
    793
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Thumbs down exciting new feature? not at all...

    A short time ago i bought a new 7000 Series 42PFL7606K/02

    This TV has a brilliant Display and looks pretty good....

    But: recording to a HDD is the worst thing i ever had. Why?

    • Fist thing, the own formatting, i am not able to read out the external drive at my Macintosh, even connecting with a WindowsPC dosnīt work.
    • Second: recording a digital movie gives you only one choice, you have to watch it prompt. There i no choice to switch to other channels, even analog channels didnīt work. Whatfor is this good? Only for recordings late night when you are asleep?


    With this kind of restriction known before, i wouldnīt think of buying this model.

    Hopefully this will be fixed with new firmware.

    Thomas

  2. #2
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Schleuderbogge View Post
    • Fist thing, the own formatting, i am not able to read out the external drive at my Macintosh, even connecting with a WindowsPC dosnīt work.
    I think, this might be due to copyright restrictions. Not sure if this comes with CI+ or HD+ or if it is allowed to record without encryption. But I agree, to copy a recording to your media server/pc or any other device makes sense. For archiving or to be able to watch/show it also on other devices.
    Quote Originally Posted by Schleuderbogge View Post
    • Second: recording a digital movie gives you only one choice, you have to watch it prompt. There i no choice to switch to other channels, even analog channels didnīt work. Whatfor is this good? Only for recordings late night when you are asleep?
    If you want to watch TV at the same time, you want to record another channel, you need 2 decoders. So if your TV has currently 4 decoders (DVB-T, DVB-C, DVB-S and analog), you will need 8. Ech one has to be included twice. This might not be fixable by firmware.

    But I think, the decoders should be more generic and you should have two slots in your TV. Then you would put in 2 DVB-C decoders and you can record/watch TV at the same time.
    If you want to you use DVB-S or DVB-T, one should just by the deocoder for that and plug it into the TV...

    So you could easily exchange the decoder when you would move.

  3. #3
    Platinum Member
    Points: 5,068, Level: 21
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 482
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Nettle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Padua, Italy
    Posts
    624
    Points
    5,068
    Level
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Schleuderbogge View Post
    A short time ago i bought a new 7000 Series 42PFL7606K/02

    But: recording to a HDD is the worst thing i ever had. Why?

    With this kind of restriction known before, i wouldnīt think of buying this model.
    Understandable!

    Regards

  4. #4
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Philips asked for feedback in the recording feature, maybe you can add your feedback:
    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...ur-experiences

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 793, Level: 7
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 157
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany / Kiel
    Posts
    4
    Points
    793
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I will do so, word...

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 793, Level: 7
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 157
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany / Kiel
    Posts
    4
    Points
    793
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Try to look and burn records with an iMac i5 running SnowLeopard:

    - the external drive is formatted by the TV as ext3 (Linux)
    - i installed MacFuse and fuse-ext2
    - upsie, now i have a read-only look at the HDD
    - looked at the records, copied a 1.2 GB File
    - disconnected the HDD

    GREAT, the record took his place at my desktop!

    Ha, a tsl ending in the filename. No Problem, i am using a Mac .... To make a long story short, in connectivity this television belongs blown to the orbit. After hours searching the www, i found a few people sharing the same problem. This tsl is encrypted by the TV, that means, you can only play your records on your own TV.

    I am roughly dissapointed about all this concerns, even i am an atheist, i start to pray to someone / something to change this. PLEASE

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Points: 15,994, Level: 38
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 456
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,632
    Points
    15,994
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    I really dont know what you have expected from a TV which is able to record Digital Broadcasts.
    Sure its encrypted!
    Records are only usable on the TV itself. No other Devices.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 793, Level: 7
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 157
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany / Kiel
    Posts
    4
    Points
    793
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Aha,

    what about an external HD-Recorder linked with an hdmi-cable? to my knowledge this i running fine.

    Whatever, my wishes are kind of low, i only want to watch another program while recording another. Even analog will be fine! I canīt figure it out, why this is not possible without another additional hardware. That simple, nothing more.

    Broadcaster: Kabeldeutschland, CI+, a lot of HD an analog stations.

    Kind regards, namesake Thomas

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Points: 15,994, Level: 38
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 456
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,632
    Points
    15,994
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    if this external Recorder has an own Tuner to record Broadcasts...
    Tv does not give out any Video Signal.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

Similar Topics

  1. iPlayer feature request - time search
    By neilski in forum Smart TV: Apps
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-18-2011, 01:16 PM
  2. Smart TV - Control feature
    By vyger in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 10:39 AM
  3. Please add a now/next feature in TV mode
    By Toengel in forum Smart TV: IP-EPG Program Guide
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 07-22-2011, 04:35 PM
  4. Program information feature stopped working
    By lobota in forum Smart TV: IP-EPG Program Guide
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-27-2011, 11:00 AM
  5. feature request: resume playback
    By lebeno in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-27-2010, 08:14 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •