Results 1 to 11 of 11
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 816, Level: 7
    Level completed: 33%, Points required for next Level: 134
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Berlin/Germany
    Posts
    10
    Points
    816
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Was willst du mir erzählen Thomas?!

    Firmware Downgrade

    Wenn eine vorherige Software einwandfrei funktionierte, kann ein Upgrade und
    anschließendes Downgrade nicht zur Zerstörung des Fernsehers führen. Wer hat
    dir so einen <zensiert> erzählt?

    Peter Schulz

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,311, Level: 69
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 839
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,965
    Points
    50,311
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 169 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    the firmware is not the only software which runs on your TV - e.g. the standby software is also part of the TV's operating system. Both need to be in line. If you downgrade it could happen that the firmware does not work well with the standby software...

    This is what I heart...

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Points: 15,994, Level: 38
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 456
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,632
    Points
    15,994
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    First of all, this Forum is in English Language so if you raise a Question, do it in English.
    Next is the way you communicate. Even if you are not satisfied with the Answer you got or with a Post on the Forum this is not a reason to blame someone.
    At last i will repeat myself. A downgrade can possibly damage your TV.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 816, Level: 7
    Level completed: 33%, Points required for next Level: 134
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Berlin/Germany
    Posts
    10
    Points
    816
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Komm Thomas, "Blame" sieht anders aus. Habt ihr beide (Alex und Thomas) schon einmal selber programmiert?
    Wohl eher nicht. Aber ich, seit über 15 Jahren (Syrcon Marketing Services in Berlin Torstr), und ihr beide
    möchtet mir erzählen, das eine vorherige funktionierende Software den Fernseher "zerstört". Ich bitte euch beide,
    haltet ihr "eure" Kunden wirklich für so verblödet?
    Last edited by Stoebi; 01-04-2012 at 10:23 AM.

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Points: 15,994, Level: 38
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 456
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,632
    Points
    15,994
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    I wrote before that this Forum is English so i will leave it up to you to edit your Posts, otherwise i will delete them.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 816, Level: 7
    Level completed: 33%, Points required for next Level: 134
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Berlin/Germany
    Posts
    10
    Points
    816
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Before you delete, 1000 others read this before. We are not idiots Thomas, do you understand? I've wrote facts, not lies!

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Points: 15,994, Level: 38
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 456
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,632
    Points
    15,994
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    Its good to see that you are able to follow up. So at next you can translate your Posts before so the others can really follow up.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  8. #8
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    I think, there is a valid reason, why a downgrade can be problematic. Toengel described that there might be firmware and standby software out of sync.

    Another reason, why Philips officially says, that it can damage the TV, might be because they can not guarantee that it does not damage the TV. If you want to guarantee that, downgrades have to be tested as well.
    Since you are also experienced in software developement, it should be clear, that every functionality has to be tested to ensure it works.
    In case there is a problem with the downgrade, service has to debug and help which will also be an extra work package which has to be done.

    You can never generally state, that a downgrade will work, since you have to look at all details on how the downgrade is done and on how it has to be done, before you can conclude a final statement. If you do not know all the technical details, you should not make such a statement if you want to be serious.

    Many members here are working in software/hardware companies as engineers, I think there is a very high level on support you can get here.

  9. #9
    Bronze Member
    Points: 816, Level: 7
    Level completed: 33%, Points required for next Level: 134
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Berlin/Germany
    Posts
    10
    Points
    816
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    If a previous version not damage your TV, a downgrade to the same version can not damage your TV.
    Another answer is political company "blabla"

  10. #10
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,881, Level: 18
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 369
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Freddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    219
    Points
    3,881
    Level
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Well... kinda scared to put myself in this heated discussion...

    I will try to make everyone understand each other.

    Of course Stoebi is right when he says that "If a previous version not damage your TV, a downgrade to the same version can not damage your TV."

    However the question is: can a "downgrade to the same version" be done exactly?... What happens exactly during an upgrade and again, what happens during a downgrade?... Will, after all this up- and downgrading, every bit of data in the TV be the same again as before, or are there still remnants of the original update?...

    Of course this could - and should - work correctly but, as smart pointed out, this has to be tested first and apparently they chose not to do that.

    The stories about the problems in this respect with a wrong combination of firmware and standby software are questionable, to say the least, however, as that could only cause problems when going back to a firmware version that's older than the one the tv came with when bought, so...

    And even that could be done of course, by asking a technician to downgrade the standby software for you. You just have to find the appropriate version. Ali?... Did you try that already?...

  11. #11
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    There might be also a change in the way settings are stored. Let's assume, a setting is stored as integer, with a new firmware the setting is converted into string. Then there is a string stored and if you keep the settings, when going back to older firmware, the old firmware might crash, due to reading a string instead of integer.

    So, if going back, make sure the stored settings are correct for the old firmware.
    Last edited by smart; 01-06-2012 at 09:06 AM. Reason: Typo

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •