Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 33
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,819, Level: 17
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    French Alps
    Posts
    196
    Points
    3,819
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4

    <Empty List> Radio Issue

    When using a control point on Android (such as Twonky Mobile or any other) to select album tracks (Flac), I often get an <Empty List> message when I later try to select a radio.
    I do not face this bug with my NP2500/2900.
    This issue does not happen all the time, but quite often. I cannot report/explain the context why it happens. But I believe anyone using an Android control point with the NP3900 will face this issue.

    PHILIPS:
    Question: do you recognize this problem and will you address it?
    I have taken a movie, as I said last year, I can put it anywhere (YouTube, Flickr, etc...) or send it you (Philips).
    Please advise.
    This does not work per the specs.


    I would add that we reported several times this issue but never received a straight answer.

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Frequent Poster

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    this is solved by the latest firmware ?
    you still have the issue?

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,819, Level: 17
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    French Alps
    Posts
    196
    Points
    3,819
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    No, this has not been solved by latest release (and I have latest FW version).

    BTW, I wish we had release notes to understand what a new release addresses (we used to have that on the StreamiumCafé forum).

    The NP3900 has an erratic behavior when controlled with a Android control point, I believe it would the same problem with any remote control point (I will test with Twonky manager control point on a PC).

    I just tested again this morning.

    1) I selected an album with Twonky mobile. It played the first track, I switched to other tracks, it worked fine, etc.
    Image of Twonky Mobile on my tablet:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen shot 4.jpg 
Views:	110 
Size:	252.5 KB 
ID:	762




    After a while I the selected the "Internet Radios" on the NP3900. I experienced no problem, I could select and play radios from my favorites.

    I then used Twonky again to play some tracks, the NP3900 started hanging and I got a funny screen (note: first time I ever got that funny screen hence I would not take care of this issue).
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen shot 1.jpg 
Views:	112 
Size:	39.4 KB 
ID:	760

    The only way out was to power-off, power-on the NP3900.

    2) After the NP3900 hard reboot, I played some radio stations. I did start Twonky mobile and selected some tracks. It worked fine. After a while I again selected the Internet Radios / my favorites and got the infamous <this is an empty list>:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen shot 2.jpg 
Views:	92 
Size:	97.9 KB 
ID:	761

    I again needed to perform a hard reboot (power off/on).

    Conclusion, the NP3900 has an erratic behavior (<Empty List> when using a remote control point. Not difficult to reproduce, sometimes it works and sometimes it does not and this again raises the question about the Quality Assurance. I restate again that my NP2500 and NP2900' are working fine when controlled by Twonky Mobile.
    Last edited by k1200rs; 01-06-2012 at 01:37 PM.

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,819, Level: 17
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    French Alps
    Posts
    196
    Points
    3,819
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    So, Mr Philips, do you acknowledge this issue? (note: we (jdthood and I) have been talking about this for more than 2 month now). And if you do recognize this issue, what will be the estimated repair time?

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,401, Level: 10
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 149
    Overall activity: 36.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    242
    Points
    1,401
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    And you have the latest firmware then installed. Since you say you have it for two months and last software dates from a few eeks ago..

  6. #6
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,819, Level: 17
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    French Alps
    Posts
    196
    Points
    3,819
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    And?


    I have been facing the issue for > 2 months indeed and yes, I have installed the latest new version few weeks ago and the problem is still there.

    If you have a remote control point running on a tablet or phone, just try it and tell us whether you face same issue.
    Last edited by k1200rs; 01-09-2012 at 10:55 AM.

  7. #7
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,819, Level: 17
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    French Alps
    Posts
    196
    Points
    3,819
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    I have more about this issue.

    I just used Twonky Manager on PC. Twonky Manager can also push music to a DLNA player (renderer) as would a remote control on Android do.

    I played a track pushed by Twonky Manager running on a PC to my NP3900 (works fine) and then switched back to the Internet Radios and when displaying the favorites....here we are with the same issue: "This is an empty list"
    Easy to test if you have Twonky Manager.


    So, this issue is nothing to do with Android...but with the way the NP3900 handles pushes from a remote control (be on PC or Android). It seems that it sometimes loses the list of radios (favorites, etc.).

    I cannot explain the context, sometimes it works and sometimes it does not, but it is easy to reproduce.

    Again, if you guys want a great movie on YouTube or anywhere else, capturing this, just ask.



    And I confirm, one more time, that I have the latest firmware release (checked few secs ago again).
    Last edited by k1200rs; 01-09-2012 at 11:04 AM.

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi All,

    We have noted your issue & are currently looking into it.
    We will update you as soon as we have more concrete information.

    Kind regards,
    Forum Mod

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 781, Level: 7
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 169
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    7
    Points
    781
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello There

    I received delivery of my NP3900/12 last night & tried in vain for more than 3 hours to get it to play! I can stream music fine from my PC but have no access to any online Services or Internet radio.

    When I press Internet Radio I get a message saying 'Empty List' & when I press Online Services nothing really happens! I thought I would be able to log in for both napster & Spotify!

    My device successfully connects to the wireless internet & acquires IP address automatically & is able to stream music from my PC but will not display any online services and/or Internet Radio stations to play.

    I have set & reset it many times & made sure my location/language settings are for UK. As I say, I can connect to Internet fine but just dont have any radio stations or Online services.


    It has been rather frustrating as there's nothing to suggest what I should do in the User Manual under Trouble shooting either. I am totally flabbergasted why its playing no radio or any online services. Essentially, as it stands, I am considering returning it unless someone can advise what I may be doing wrong.

    I also checked for software updates but the message comes up on the device that I have the latest version. I also registered on phillips.co.uk but my device says I am unregistered when I could actually see it registered on the website!

    I am totally dumbstruck by it!

    Can someone please advise what i may be doing wrong? Any help is appreciated.
    Thanks
    Rohit Thakur

  10. #10
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,385, Level: 13
    Level completed: 79%, Points required for next Level: 65
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    88
    Points
    2,385
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Does the NP3900 get the time from the Internet?

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 781, Level: 7
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 169
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    7
    Points
    781
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Nope...the clock doesnt show either

  12. #12
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,385, Level: 13
    Level completed: 79%, Points required for next Level: 65
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    88
    Points
    2,385
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    We can continue discussing your Internet connection problem in the new thread you created:
    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...ervices-at-all
    Last edited by jdthood; 01-11-2012 at 08:47 AM. Reason: Continue in other thread

  13. #13
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,819, Level: 17
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    French Alps
    Posts
    196
    Points
    3,819
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Any news regarding the <This is an empty list> issue when we switch the NP3900 back to internet radios whilst pushing tracks to the NP3900?
    Last edited by k1200rs; 01-20-2012 at 05:06 AM.

  14. #14
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,385, Level: 13
    Level completed: 79%, Points required for next Level: 65
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    88
    Points
    2,385
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    (Cross reference: The cannot-return-to-Internet-radio-because-you-get-a-This-list-is-empty-message problem was also discussed in this earlier thread: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...han-the-NP2900 but we can carry on discussing it here.)

  15. #15
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,385, Level: 13
    Level completed: 79%, Points required for next Level: 65
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    88
    Points
    2,385
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    The author of the BubbleUPnP app on Android continues to improve his fine program. I just tried the most recent version, 1.2.2.3. Three times in succession I was able to use BubbleUPnP to play a track from NAS to NP3900 and then use the handheld remote to return to Internet Radio without getting the empty-list message. On the other hand NP3900 exhibited other flaky behavior and crashed once during this testing.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. where is a list of radio stations available ?
    By sternecaugek in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-30-2011, 04:31 PM
  2. sa3mus16s playlist empty after power off/on
    By StefanSpadoni in forum Sound: GoGear SA3-series (2011)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 08:46 AM
  3. 32pfl3505h/12 channel list issue
    By Emanuele in forum TV: Installation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-02-2011, 09:16 AM
  4. Satellite Favorite Channel List issue with 58PFL9955H/12 Cinema 21:9
    By Karel van der Horst in forum TV: Software 2010 models
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-20-2011, 06:27 AM
  5. [Wish] Flip pages in USB view with |< and >| buttons
    By Toengel in forum Blu-ray: Share Your Wish List and Insights
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-28-2011, 04:15 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •