Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 33
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #16
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,819, Level: 17
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    French Alps
    Posts
    196
    Points
    3,819
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    I will try with BubbleUPnP again, but the <empty list> issue also happens when using Twonky manager on PC to push a track to the NP3900 and then switching back to the Internet Radios using the "regular" remote control unit.

  2. #17
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,819, Level: 17
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    French Alps
    Posts
    196
    Points
    3,819
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by k1200rs View Post
    I will try with BubbleUPnP again, but the <empty list> issue also happens when using Twonky manager on PC to push a track to the NP3900 and then switching back to the Internet Radios using the "regular" remote control unit.

    SO, after 1 week of test, I would say that BubbleUPnP is a nice remote control AND DLNA player, probably a bit better than Twonky mobile but I know a new Twonky mobile is coming soon with many new functions.

    Anyway, as I observed with Twonky mobile, the NP3900 behavior is odd when switching from playing pushed tracks (from BubbleUPnP) to Internet Radios. Don't see much (happens once) the empty list issue, but I have got multiple times the NP3900 hanging when I select Internet radios whilst playing a pushed tracked from BubbleUPnP. So, different issue, but still not working well.
    Again, less (in fact none) problems with the NP2900...The NP3900 is supposed to be DLNA compliant and I am sure more and more people will want to control it from Tablets or Smart Phones.

  3. #18
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,385, Level: 13
    Level completed: 79%, Points required for next Level: 65
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    88
    Points
    2,385
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by k1200rs View Post
    Again, less (in fact none) problems with the NP2900...The NP3900 is supposed to be DLNA compliant and I am sure more and more people will want to control it from Tablets or Smart Phones.
    It's funny. I tried out the NP2900 and liked the look of the NP3900 so I bought the latter. I assumed that the newer model would work at least as well as the older one.

  4. #19
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,401, Level: 10
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 149
    Overall activity: 36.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    242
    Points
    1,401
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    As they said they are looking into it that will give hope

  5. #20
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,819, Level: 17
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    French Alps
    Posts
    196
    Points
    3,819
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by jdthood View Post
    It's funny. I tried out the NP2900 and liked the look of the NP3900 so I bought the latter. I assumed that the newer model would work at least as well as the older one.
    Indeed, I just tried all kind of funny testings, disconnected the server whilst it was playing a track, then switching back to Radios, etc. Not once the NP2900 failed, no hanging. Quite different for the NP3900...

  6. #21
    New Member
    Points: 679, Level: 6
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 71
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    2
    Points
    679
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have experienced each and every problem that has been discussed up till now with regard to the NP3900.
    Isn't it time Mr Philips admits that NP3900 and its software are a disaster and 'recalls' the apparatus. Should be easy, at least for those who registered. Apart from its looks, the apparatus is pretty useless and is totally erratic (I would like to add the alarm going off 'unannounced' every Tuesday without ever programming it as such).
    I hate to think how many hours have been wasted by all of us on this machine. The name Philips slowly starts to trigger allergic reactions in me....
    Last edited by np3900_victim; 02-04-2012 at 01:37 PM.

  7. #22
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,385, Level: 13
    Level completed: 79%, Points required for next Level: 65
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    88
    Points
    2,385
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    The NP3900 works reliably for me, playing from both NAS and Internet radio, now that I have connected it to my LAN via Ethernet and now that I only use the handheld infrared remote to control it. I guess I should consider myself lucky that it doesn't turn on spontaneously every Tuesday (... unlike my Samsung television which does turn itself on spontaneously twice a day unless I switch the source to something other than "TV" before switching it off -- bizarre.) That it can't be controlled reliably via the network is a disappointment. If Philips offered to swap my NP3900 for a NP2900 I'd take the deal, considering what k1200rs said above in #20.

  8. #23
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,819, Level: 17
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    French Alps
    Posts
    196
    Points
    3,819
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Will this ever be fixed? (Radio Empty List issue)

    I now think I will resell my NP3900 on eBay and buy either an old NP2900 or anything else that I can control through my Android remote control.

    Philips advertised everywhere that this device is DLNA and can be remotely controlled with a smartphone / tablet.
    Last edited by k1200rs; 02-22-2012 at 06:20 AM.

  9. #24
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,819, Level: 17
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    French Alps
    Posts
    196
    Points
    3,819
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Funny enough, I just discovered that on the new Philips web site, the NP3900/NP3500, etc are labelled:

    Wireless Hi-Fi system for Android™

    I wish...on that basis I should be able to be reimbursed.


    http://www.philips.co.uk/c/audio-sys...np3900_12/prd/
    Last edited by k1200rs; 02-22-2012 at 07:02 AM.

  10. #25
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,819, Level: 17
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    French Alps
    Posts
    196
    Points
    3,819
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    As a matter of curiosity, I just tried to control my NP3900 with the Philips MyRemote which is damned slow on my Tablet...I got the same Empty List issue.
    After some manipulations (You play few tracks, you go from one track to the other, you skip a track, etc.) when you click on Internet Radios, you get an Empty List and the only option is then to hard reboot the NP3900.

  11. #26
    New Member
    Points: 679, Level: 6
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 71
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    2
    Points
    679
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    top marks for 'initiative'; nil for performance

    Today, the BBC duly woke me up at 6:25 in the morning (as programmed for all weekdays), only to be followed within minutes by the loud alarm buzzer . I never set the alarm to 'buzzer'. The NP3900 software truly excels in grabbing the initiative! In the past it used to trigger the buzzer (without programming!) on Tuesdays. In my unrelenting futile efforts to find a remedy for the problem, I recently reset it to factory settings (again!) and today it chose to surprise us with a loud buzzing on Wednesdays rather than Tuesday.

    My verdict (and I hope Mr Philips reads this): 10 for initiative; 0 for performance.

    Do you really want to stick to Philips.. I admire your loyalty

  12. #27
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,819, Level: 17
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    French Alps
    Posts
    196
    Points
    3,819
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    np3900_victim, I believe / suggest you create another thread about this problem as this is not related to the Empty List radio issue and the Android control point.

    As a side note, it is great to see that the NP3900 takes initiatives and wakes you up randomly...it might in fact just be possessed by the evil? have you considered that option? I would rather ship the np3900 to the vatican vs. the Philips support.

  13. #28
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,819, Level: 17
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    French Alps
    Posts
    196
    Points
    3,819
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    I understand that the Streamium range is now advertised as Wireless Hi-Fi system for Android™

    That the Streamium NP3900 and NP3500 are supposedly DLNA certified

    And that Philips recommends the use of the Philips MyRemote application on Android to control the NP3x00 (which is Twonky based).


    I restate here that using the MyRemote Android application, after a series of actions (select different tracks, skip a track, select a different album) when you then select the Internet Radios you get an Empty List issue and you need to hard reboot the NP.

    Same results with BubbleUPNP, Twonky Mobile or Twonky Manager (on PC, when pushing tracks from Twonky Manager).

    So, the NP range is not DLNA compliant and has got a faulty behaviors when pushed tracks (from a control point or Twonky manager). It is not compliant with the specs published on Philips sites.

    This issue has been raised last year by jdthood. No feedback given so far (3 months) regarding when this will be fixed.

  14. #29
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi K1200rs,

    I have send you a personal message. Please check your inbox.

    Kind regards,
    Forum Mod

  15. #30
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,070, Level: 12
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 80
    Overall activity: 19.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    95
    Points
    2,070
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Hmm, I understand frustration. On the other hand all these devices in the market are with flaws.
    E.g. a Seagate NAS (Blackamor) needs besides a Professor title for setup, it makes PlugPlayer or TwonkyMobile freezing. Then just looking onto TwonkyMobile - NP3900 and MCI8080 shows the proper album artwork, but the APP on IOS shows a blank screen.

    Anyhow, coming back to the complaint here ...
    So, you play uPnP from a TwonkyMobile - still o.k.
    Then you take "MyRemote" and play a Internet radio station - that's half o.k. -- It only plays for 52 seconds. After some study, it was found that whenever the iPhone goes into sleep mode it triggers a stop of the Internet radio station ...

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. where is a list of radio stations available ?
    By sternecaugek in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-30-2011, 04:31 PM
  2. sa3mus16s playlist empty after power off/on
    By StefanSpadoni in forum Sound: GoGear SA3-series (2011)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 08:46 AM
  3. 32pfl3505h/12 channel list issue
    By Emanuele in forum TV: Installation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-02-2011, 09:16 AM
  4. Satellite Favorite Channel List issue with 58PFL9955H/12 Cinema 21:9
    By Karel van der Horst in forum TV: Software 2010 models
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-20-2011, 06:27 AM
  5. [Wish] Flip pages in USB view with |< and >| buttons
    By Toengel in forum Blu-ray: Share Your Wish List and Insights
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-28-2011, 04:15 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •