Results 1 to 6 of 6
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 749, Level: 6
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 1
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    2
    Points
    749
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Runs NP3500 only with NAS-Server

    Hi,
    I tried a Logitech Squeezebox Duet to get my mp3s from a NAS-Server on my stereo. It worked, but my PC (not NAS) had to be shut-on all the time, because a little server-programme was running all the time.
    So I returned the Squeezebox.

    I am thinking of buying a NP3500. But before I'll do that, I would like to know, if it can play the music from my NAS-Server via Router an DLNA all the time without having my PC switched on all the time.
    So comparably with my SMART-TV that also can do this without any PC.

    Regards

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,864, Level: 12
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 286
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Hongkong
    Posts
    100
    Points
    1,864
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Hi

    Yes. NP 3500 can stream from NAS without turning on yr PC. Pls note NP 3500 has no speakers. It only has digital out/line out. You need to connet to your music system. If you want sound system integrated then consider NP 3700/3900 or 3300.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 780, Level: 7
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 170
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    france
    Posts
    9
    Points
    780
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    Yes, this is what I'm doing now and it works quite fine (except FLAC specific bugs addressed in other topics

    I've had the same doubts and hesitated for a long time between Squeeze products and streamium ones, but I chose Streamium products in the end, mostly because it uses UPNP/DLNA standards, where logitech products only uses proprietary ( though open) protocols...

    From what I've read also, it turns out the DAC in Streamium products tend to be a bit better (except for the Logitech transporter, which is way out of my budget !), plus, the NP3500 I have offers a digital out (coaxial) line, which lets me use the high-end DAC I have on my AV Amp instead of the philips one.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 749, Level: 6
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 1
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    2
    Points
    749
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi, perfect !
    Thank you very much for your quick answers. Yes, I know the np3500 does not have speakers. I will connect it with my stereo.
    So I think I can buy one of these 3500....

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 708, Level: 6
    Level completed: 79%, Points required for next Level: 42
    Overall activity: 99.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredOverdrive500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chicago Illinois USA
    Posts
    12
    Points
    708
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Have you had success playing FLAC format files with your NP3500? I simply can't it get to work.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 780, Level: 7
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 170
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    france
    Posts
    9
    Points
    780
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Yes, but it doesn't support all FLAC files...

    It has to be ≤ 24bit, and it seems it doesn't like float Little-Endian files either (typically, a s32le FLAC file won't play, or at least, I wasn't able to).
    It won't play multi-channel files either (nor downmix them to stereo) for all 5.1 or 6.1 files I have tried.

    Check your files samples and encoding trying them on mplayer for instance:

    mplayer my_file.flac

    will give you the details you need.

Similar Topics

  1. np3500 issues
    By rtw2001 in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-06-2012, 03:00 PM
  2. cover art when playing from NAS via DLNA?
    By lebeno in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-23-2011, 04:04 PM
  3. NP3500 Break between titles while playing via DLNA?
    By smart in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-23-2011, 12:15 PM
  4. What about recording from TV to a HDD(via USB or NAS)?
    By msorin in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 06-30-2011, 01:17 PM
  5. NAS that suits the Philips BDP range
    By Andreas in forum Blu-ray: General and Others (MBD/PB Series)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-23-2011, 09:51 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •