Results 1 to 3 of 3
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,640, Level: 11
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 210
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    59
    Points
    1,640
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4

    Philips botched the record TV feature. TV must be connected to net to record. Why?

    I've a 2011 32PFL7606H/12. One of the reasons I bought it was I was under the impression it could record broadcast TV to an attached USB Hard Drive - no strings attached.

    Well it can't not unless the TV is connected to the internet. That came as a big surprise and disappointment.

    After getting over my shock and disappointment, I've managed to pull myself together to ask why? Why does my TV have to connected to the internet to record TV to a USB drive?

    I can pause live TV without the internet connection, why do I need one to record? The pause and record function are technically identical.

    Could some one please tell me:
    • Does it have to be connected all the time or is it a one off thing?
    • How does the the internet requirement work? What information is uploaded and downloaded?
    • Is it high bandwidth?


    I have to say I feel really cheated by this "feature" and the way it wasn't made abundantly clear that an internet connection is rerquired for it. When I was buying the TV It was not obvious at all that I needed to connect my TV to the internet to record broadcast TV.
    It wasn't part of my plan to connect my tv to the internet. It's in a very difficult location and access to the internet where it is is out of the question.
    Last edited by mike tv; 04-23-2012 at 02:54 PM.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 18,903, Level: 41
    Level completed: 95%, Points required for next Level: 47
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,828
    Points
    18,903
    Level
    41
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 41 Times in 38 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi
    Does it have to be connected all the time or is it a one off thing?
    Internet Connection has to be established all the Time

    How does the the internet requirement work? What information is uploaded and downloaded?
    TV has to get Informations via IP-EPG also Informations regarding, which Shows are recorded have to be send. Regulations are the same as for NetTV content.

    Is it high bandwidth?
    No, we are talking about requirements, like DSL 2-6000. (higher is of course better, updates like pictures in IP-EPG will be faster)

    Regards
    Thomas

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,640, Level: 11
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 210
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    59
    Points
    1,640
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Thanks for the reply Thomas.

    Could you explain why record only works with the IP-EPG and not the "broadcast" EPG? All the necessary info is there in the broadcast EPG, day, time etc.


    Also why isn't there a simple manual timer setup menu where the user could manually enter a time and date [regardless of any EPG] to set the TV to record?

Similar Topics

  1. Using USB HDD to record TV and to watch .avi
    By groufo in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-19-2012, 08:43 AM
  2. No connection to internet
    By Constantin in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-22-2011, 05:14 PM
  3. USB HDD - Using one partition to record and one for own files
    By thomas81 in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-08-2011, 08:32 PM
  4. Recording without internet connection !?
    By stargate in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-08-2011, 11:27 AM
  5. Can't find internet connection
    By PineappleWax in forum Smart TV: Installation
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-24-2011, 10:05 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •