Results 1 to 6 of 6
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 771, Level: 7
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 179
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3
    Points
    771
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    40PFL9605D/78 Streaming takes to long to start

    Hello,

    I have a 40PFL9605D/78 led TV and I am trying to stream Internet video into it by using DLNA Mediatomb and ffmpeg to transcode on-the-fly. The source is a laptop, to which the TV connects through a Wi-Fi local network.

    Everything works fine, except that TV takes too long to start showing the video. When I connect to Mediatomb with a laptop (also through Wi-Fi), the video starts playing in less than 5 sec. With the TV, the video takes more than 1 minute to start. It seems that it takes too long to buffer, and I don't know how to adjust that.

    Does any one knows how could I improve the buffering time ?

    Thank you all,

    Flavio.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 13,966, Level: 35
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 84
    Overall activity: 47.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,485
    Points
    13,966
    Level
    35
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Flavio

    in this configuration you need to consider: your TV has limited codec Support. So if you use you Laptop with installed codec, Mediatomb does not need to transcode or can use different one.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 771, Level: 7
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 179
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3
    Points
    771
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Thomas,

    Thank you for your reply.

    The time the laptop takes to start playing the video also includes the transcoding time. The configuration works as follows:

    (VIDEO SERVER) ----> Internet ----> FFMPEG or MENCODER ----> MEDIATOMB ----> LAN CLIENTS

    So, if I use the same laptop or another laptop with VLC as client (connected to mediatomb, not directly to the video server itself), the video starts playing shortly. If I use the TV as client, it takes too long to start playing.

    I am currently transcoding on-the-fly to MPEG2, but I have also tried transcoding to other formats, with no improvement.

    I have also noticed that with laptops the video is continously played, but with the TV, I run out of buffer sometimes. For that reason, I think that there may be some problem with the TV Wi-Fi connection (too slow).

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 13,966, Level: 35
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 84
    Overall activity: 47.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,485
    Points
    13,966
    Level
    35
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    the TV uses 802.11g so make sure the Video files are not to big.
    To make sure you have a stable connection just use a wired one not Wifi.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 771, Level: 7
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 179
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3
    Points
    771
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Thomas,

    Thanks for you reply.

    In fact, the video is not a file by itself; it is a pipe. Mediatomb runs a script that reads a live stream from the internet, transcode it by using ffmpeg and save the transcoded stream into a pipe, which is then transmitted to the TV or to another laptop by mediatomb.

    When I use another notebook (notebook B, a Atom Netbook) to connect to mediatomb (that runs in notebook A), the video starts playing in a few seconds. There is no buffer underflow, even if notebook B is in a different room (and next to the TV). When I use the TV, it takes at least a minute to start playing and I get buffer underflows from time to time.

    So, I think it is not a problem with WiFi signal neither is a LAN overload, otherwise I would have problems with the netbook B too. My guess is that TV has some problem in buffering the video.

    Greetings,

    Flávio.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Points: 13,966, Level: 35
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 84
    Overall activity: 47.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,485
    Points
    13,966
    Level
    35
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    so you did test LAN?

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

Similar Topics

  1. 40PFL6606D/78 downgrade inicial software ?
    By Dudusat in forum TV: Software 2011 models
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-20-2011, 08:41 AM
  2. Has anyone used msn on TV 40PFL6606D/78
    By Dudusat in forum Smart TV: Apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-19-2011, 05:33 PM
  3. videociety, NetTV, Internet EPG - Logon too long
    By rainh in forum Smart TV: Apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-28-2011, 08:24 AM
  4. BDP7500B2/12 - Can't read Avatar Blu-Ray Long Version
    By ombre23 in forum Blu-ray: BDP7000 Series
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-03-2011, 07:37 AM
  5. Trailers at "Kino.de" take very long to start
    By bta in forum Smart TV: Apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-02-2011, 06:41 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •