Results 1 to 8 of 8
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 802, Level: 7
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 148
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    7
    Points
    802
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Anyone succeeded in adding files to USB HD from Windows 7?

    Hi all,

    I yesterday purchased a 32PFL6606H/12 and trying to understand all the features.

    One thing i want to do is to put video files from my PC to the HD that I will use for USB recording.

    I know the file systems are different (the formated HD has EXT3) and that the HD is not accessible by normal means in Windows 7, but I know there are tools making the drive accessible on Win7.

    Since the HD is empty right now (just formatted an old 500 GB I had), I have nothing to lose in terms of content on the HD so I am willing to test a bit.

    So my overall questions branches out into serveral ones:
    - Anyone tried to add files to the "TV formatted" HD, for example an MP4 or MKV file?
    - Will the TV reckognize those files?
    - Are there any restrictions on folder structure/file namning/etc that I need to take into account to play the files?

    Please note that I am only trying to put files to the HD, not to "grab" recorded content on the HD.

    Grateful for any input!

    BR

  2. #2
    New Member
    Points: 1,285, Level: 9
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 65
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    9
    Points
    1,285
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Use a Linux installation, either from a live cd or from a virtual machine (or throw away Win7 and install Linux as your main OS ).
    Then you can mount both the windows disk and the usb disk and copy between them.
    Or you might try this software: http://www.fs-driver.org/ (don't know whether it is any good: I've never used it.)

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 802, Level: 7
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 148
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    7
    Points
    802
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Managed to put files on HD but cant read them in the USB menu

    Hi,

    Thanks for the input!

    Yesterday I managed to mount the drive, and copied a few mp4 files to the drive in different locations (to check if there were a specific folder the files needed to be in like the "PVR" folder)

    Unfortunately, the files are not listed when I go to the "browse USB" menu (or whatever it is called). Which makes me ask myself these questions:

    - Are the files in the wrong format or wrong fodler?
    - The TV does not count a EXT3 HD as a valid USB disk, thus does not look for video files on it?
    - There needs to be recordings on the disk (today it is empty -- except for the MP4s -- since everything is brand new) in order for TV to do a file listing?

    Anyone have any ideas on this?

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 15,555, Level: 37
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 95
    Overall activity: 79.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,607
    Points
    15,555
    Level
    37
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    Files to playback, which are not recorded via the TV can not be placed on the HDD which is designated for Recordings!
    They have to be on a different HDD.
    You can use a USB Hub with an own Power Supply to connect this 2nd HDD.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 802, Level: 7
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 148
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    7
    Points
    802
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for the input Thomas.

    I have another issue though, but will create a separate thread about it.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 780, Level: 7
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 170
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    UK Liverpool
    Posts
    7
    Points
    780
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I use a 4 port Hub from maplins, cost £9.99 and works a dream with dongle and mains powered HDD.

    Hub is a cerulian 4 port.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 756, Level: 7
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 194
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    3
    Points
    756
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I just bought the 40pfl6626t here in Finland, they advised to use the sd card(has sd card slot) I bought one but it is useless. The sd card is only to record ordered movies through nettv rental shops and can not be used for anything else.
    USB stick recording not possible as I saw in another thread.
    So not tried yet but might it be possible to create 2 partitions on de HDD disk if 1 partion for the tv recordings are about 250gb and another partition for other recorded movies from the pc for instance?

  8. #8
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    No, I think the disk needs to be formated from the TV, in order to be used for recordings. And I think you cannot have two partitions on the disk. The disk will be used exclussively by the TV...

Similar Topics

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-15-2012, 11:02 AM
  2. Sort files by name on USB device?
    By drunkenm in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-18-2012, 12:28 AM
  3. Playing MKV files on 47PFL7606T and adding subtitles
    By conelly in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-15-2011, 02:04 PM
  4. HD files no audio
    By scandisk in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-08-2011, 12:56 AM
  5. no playback of ARD/ZDF 720p HD recordings on disks or files
    By FSNAVI in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-16-2011, 10:22 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •