Results 1 to 3 of 3
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,263, Level: 9
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    9
    Points
    1,263
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Question Soundbar HTS7140 only shows PCM for Dolby/DTS sound sources

    Hello,

    If have connected my Philips Soundbar (HTS7140) with HDMI ARC to my TV (Panasonic TXP50G30). Naturally, I used the ACR compatible HDMI interface on my TV.

    I also have connected several other devices to my TV, also with HDMI cables:

    - media player
    - XBOX 360
    - Digital TV HD decoder Cisco 8485DVB (Ziggo)

    When I play a BluRay movie with Dolby or DTS sound, I see the soundbar display stating Dolby or DTS for a short time, as expected. However, I never see this happening with my other external devices as mentioned above. When playing a game on my XBOX in which I can choose Dolby Digital in the game settings, I always see the soundbar stating "PCM". Some TV channels are broadcasted with Dolby audio, but here too: I always see the soundbar display stating "PCM" (the TV channels are decoded through the Cisco decoder as mentioned above).

    I would expect the soundbar to receive Dolby/DTS sound and to state that in the display. Is this a wrong expectation? When the display states "PCM", I assume it is just plain old stereo sound quality right?

    Would like to hear your experiences / comments about this!

    Kind regards,
    Arjan Hummel
    Last edited by humke; 01-22-2012 at 01:08 PM. Reason: Update title to better reflect problem

  2. #2
    Gold Member
    Points: 5,553, Level: 22
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 497
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    spain
    Posts
    287
    Points
    5,553
    Level
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    7
    As far as I see this is a ARC limitation.....

    Bye

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 1,263, Level: 9
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    9
    Points
    1,263
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Pacman View Post
    As far as I see this is a ARC limitation.....
    So this would mean the HTS always says "PCM" even though it is receiving (AND processing) a Dolby or DTS signal. This would make it hard to know what sound type one is listening to...

Similar Topics

  1. PCM on the digital output
    By carlosfm in forum TV Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-04-2011, 01:13 PM
  2. No sound from external soundbar/sub?
    By Toroto in forum TV Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-09-2011, 09:36 AM
  3. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 07-31-2011, 12:43 PM
  4. Internet browser keyboard shows 'undefined'
    By martijne in forum Smart TV: Apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-11-2010, 09:40 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •