Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,102, Level: 8
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 48
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    40
    Points
    1,102
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    32pfl4606 channel default audio setting issue

    Hi,

    what i'm presenting below is a very annoying issue which obviously is a software bug: any channel (digital/analogic) has the worst available sound setting as default, that is for a digital channel between the dolby and "non-dolby" the latter is chosen, while for an analogic channel between stereo and mono the latter is chosen.
    the option to change between them is deeply buried in the settings->channels menu, and you have to do it for each channel!!!

    therefore, this is a very annoying issue...while the TV should automatically chose the best sound source for each channel, the user has to do it individually for each channel... imagine the trouble for a big number of channels > 100...and i don't even know if the setting is persistent.

    Philips Support Team, can you please fix this obvious issue in a new firmware release? or maybe there is a setting i've missed that covers this issue?

    BTW, the firmware i'm using is the latest available 2.18.

    thank you beforehand.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 15,994, Level: 38
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 456
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,632
    Points
    15,994
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    who decides which is "the best". Dolby does mean that there is more details in the sound but does that mean that it is better then "normal" stereo?
    For you personally, it seems so, for other it is not. So we leave it up to the User.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,102, Level: 8
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 48
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    40
    Points
    1,102
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Thomas,

    Thank you for the answer. I find your explanation reasonable for the digital sound option, but please note that I never encountered a receiver that chooses stereo rather than dolby as default...so Philips must stand out from the crowd in this regard .
    Then, once the user decides which is the best option, shouldn't the choice be persistent? It is currently not, it is always the default!

    How about the analog channel? You did not say anything about that...or there are users out there which find mono better then stereo?! Could be so, but then the option to chose from mono and stereo should not be buried in the menu and the option should be persistent (the persistency for analog sound option is something that i still have to check).

    Looking forward for your answers, and maybe you can check before i do the persistency of analog sound option..

    Regards,
    Mike

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 15,994, Level: 38
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 456
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,632
    Points
    15,994
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    like i said before, the only one who decides which is the best sound for the TV Show you watch right now is the User itself.
    We can and will not say that "this option is the best so we make it default". Why does it not save the settings, simple, at least for the providers i know, every single TV Show has its own Sound-feeling, depending on that feeling i decide if Stereo, Dolby or even mono is the right one.
    Experiencing Sound is a very personal thing, like experiencing Video.
    So we don't go there and say whats the best for you, you have to decide that on your own, not only one time but always.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,102, Level: 8
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 48
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    40
    Points
    1,102
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    hi Thomas,

    please do not make fun of the CUSTOMER!

    what you are trying to say in the last reply is that if i watch channel no. 1, set the audio option to my desire, then change to channel no.2 and back to no.1 i have to set the audio option again to my desire.

    "So we don't go there and say whats the best for you, you have to decide that on your own, not only one time but always."
    are you kidding or what???
    this setting has to be persistent, if not for all channels at least for the channel i set it for. this is the reason to have persistent settings: anytime the user needs to change an option is able to, but not be forced by the manufacturer when to do the actual change. right now, you are forcing me to change the option whenever i turn the tv on and/or change the channel!.

    please provide a reasonable answer or forward this to your firmware engineer for further actions.

    Thank you for understanding.

    Regards,
    Mike
    Last edited by panamea; 01-26-2012 at 01:40 PM. Reason: helpful explanation

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Points: 15,994, Level: 38
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 456
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,632
    Points
    15,994
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Mike,

    that you don't understand or accept the answer does not mean that the answer is not reasonable.
    You are not the only one who has a Philips TV so we take all the costumer needs into concideration on how we create our Television.
    Im fine with your Opinion that there should be a preset, on the other way we also have costumers who say the there should not.
    So, who gives you or someone else the right to decide whats good or bad for all Users?
    None should do that so we dont do that and leave the choice to you, while watching TV.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,102, Level: 8
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 48
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    40
    Points
    1,102
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thomas, i don't want to start to argue, but your answer was really foolish. To prove it was not, please provide 1 (one) example of a setting that the user makes and it is ok for the product (tv in this case) to discard it by itself upon restart (or channel change back&forward for that matter).

    How come the audio option is not persistent in this product, but the image settings are?!

    For your information, I am a embedded software engineer and really do understand the purpose of persistent user information in an embedded product.

    Thank you for understanding.

  8. #8
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,193, Level: 69
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 957
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,960
    Points
    50,193
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 168 Times in 150 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    I think you both are talking about some different things:

    1) choose the best audio stream (in terms of "quality)
    2) remember the setting of the choosen audio stream

    => 1)

    Thomas is right, that no one can really say, what's the best. It's a personal descision.

    => 2)

    panamea want an option that the TV safe the setting (the choosen audio stream). The TV seems not to remember the choosen setting. However, the TV remembers e.g. the image settings. Remember = restart TV and have the same setting as before restarting.

    Hope this helps in your discussion ;-)

    Toengel@Alex

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Points: 15,994, Level: 38
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 456
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,632
    Points
    15,994
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    panamea want an option that the TV safe the setting (the choosen audio stream). The TV seems not to remember the choosen setting. However, the TV remembers e.g. the image settings. Remember = restart TV and have the same setting as before restarting.
    Well, for Video we are talking about (depending on the TV you got) ~10-35 settings.
    For Audio we are talking about 2 Settings.

    Sorry but i really don't see a Point here .

    Again, I understand whats is requested but we also have a philosophy in creating our TVs and Menus, that "let the users decide".
    So simple answer is, no such an option, will not come.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,102, Level: 8
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 48
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    40
    Points
    1,102
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    hi again,

    i have further info on this issue (BUG) that will really help Philips decide if a fix is needed or not. i am simply asking you to pass this info further to your firmware engineering...

    analog channel, option is buried in the settings->channel settings->languare->mono/stereo : this isa persistent setting, as Toengel mentioned kept between TV restarts and even channel browsing (OK).

    digital channel, option is buried (less) in the options->audio language: this is not persistent at all, it is always the first option as default after channel browsing or TV restart (NOK).

    this is rather a basic setting than a complex feature...fixing it will help me decide if to keep this new TV set or return it to the shop.

    thank you for your support.

  11. #11
    Gold Member
    Points: 1,885, Level: 12
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 265
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    276
    Points
    1,885
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    i like to have no default audio option. there are lot of known problems on forward sound to hats, receivers whatever. that might does not bother you but it bothers me and other users so philips leave it like it is!

  12. #12
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,102, Level: 8
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 48
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    40
    Points
    1,102
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by a_Tom View Post
    i like to have no default audio option. there are lot of known problems on forward sound to hats, receivers whatever. that might does not bother you but it bothers me and other users so philips leave it like it is!
    no disrespect a_Tom, but you did not understand what this post is about, you must read the entire thread...it is not about the default audio option (having or not having), it is about the user audio option being always the default on digital channels....so currently yes, there is a default enforced

    my understanding is that you don't want a default option enforced, so you would support having a fix for this BUG.

  13. #13
    Gold Member
    Points: 1,885, Level: 12
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 265
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    276
    Points
    1,885
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    i would support having the audio options like they are now

    easy enough for you to understand?

  14. #14
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,102, Level: 8
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 48
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    40
    Points
    1,102
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by a_Tom View Post
    i would support having the audio options like they are now

    easy enough for you to understand?
    it is very clear that you would like to have no improvements in the current software, which is different statement than your original post...let's keep a polite behavior on the support forum, shall we?

    also, a fix for this BUG would not affect your default audio preference once you don't change it! so i see no point for your activity on this thread.

    btw...this is a support forum, therefore the place for people to ask support team for help; if you want to help the people with your knowledge, you are free to do so, but please do not break the rules of this forum which you must have read carefully when you joined.
    Last edited by panamea; 01-26-2012 at 04:00 PM. Reason: additional comment

  15. #15
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,102, Level: 8
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 48
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    40
    Points
    1,102
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    hey Philips Support Team, do you have any update on the issue of TV not keeping the digital audio language setting?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. 32pfl4606 settings
    By panamea in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-23-2012, 07:30 AM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-28-2011, 09:16 AM
  3. Philips engineers, please reply!!! Audio issue
    By max.sensi in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-09-2011, 04:11 PM
  4. 32pfl3505h/12 channel list issue
    By Emanuele in forum TV: Installation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-02-2011, 09:16 AM
  5. Satellite Favorite Channel List issue with 58PFL9955H/12 Cinema 21:9
    By Karel van der Horst in forum TV: Software 2010 models
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-20-2011, 06:27 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •