Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast
Results 106 to 120 of 126
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #106
    New Member
    Points: 34, Level: 1
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 16
    Overall activity: 83.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    7
    Points
    34
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The latest software revision a nightmare. Apart from the audio sync issues, it also appears that a lot of Apps that were working without problems on the previous version, now suddenly are incompatible. I used to watch programs of Dutch TV via the NPO app, but that cannot be installed on the new version since it is incompatible. What are these guys doing?

    I also asked support for an old version, so I can restore my TV to a useful device, but they say they cannot provide that (they don't tell me why, they just say the TV cannot be downgraded). Has anybody ever had any luck with Philips in obtaining an older software version from them?

  2. #107
    New Member
    Points: 79, Level: 1
    Level completed: 29%, Points required for next Level: 71
    Overall activity: 57.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    9
    Points
    79
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Janswaal View Post
    The latest software revision a nightmare. Apart from the audio sync issues, it also appears that a lot of Apps that were working without problems on the previous version, now suddenly are incompatible. I used to watch programs of Dutch TV via the NPO app, but that cannot be installed on the new version since it is incompatible. What are these guys doing?

    I also asked support for an old version, so I can restore my TV to a useful device, but they say they cannot provide that (they don't tell me why, they just say the TV cannot be downgraded). Has anybody ever had any luck with Philips in obtaining an older software version from them?
    I have the npo app working fine on 55pus6501 with latest update. Maybe model related problem.

    As workaround you can also cast it from Phone/tablet or use it trough the kodi uitzending gemist (npo) plugin.
    Last edited by halloaap; 04-20-2017 at 04:26 PM.

  3. #108
    Bronze Member
    Points: 176, Level: 2
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 74
    Overall activity: 32.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    20
    Points
    176
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Kodi works on this firmware without a glitch, confirmed. Of course no audio passthrough.
    SPMC also works, no audio passthrough as well
    Last edited by s3030150; 04-20-2017 at 05:53 PM.

  4. #109
    New Member
    Points: 79, Level: 1
    Level completed: 29%, Points required for next Level: 71
    Overall activity: 57.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    9
    Points
    79
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by s3030150 View Post
    Kodi works on this firmware without a glitch, confirmed. Of course no audio passthrough
    Don't know if you already know, but you can get some multichannel sound by transcoding in kodi

    - Sync playback to display on (needed for 640kbps AC3, not for dts transcoding)
    - Number of channels 2.0
    - Output configuration: Best Match or Optimized
    - Allow Passtrough
    - Dolby Digital AC3 capable receiver
    - Enable Dolby Digital (AC3) Transcoding
    - Dolby Digital Plus E-AC3 Capable Receiver

    That at least gives some 5.1 instead of stereo.

  5. #110
    Bronze Member
    Points: 176, Level: 2
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 74
    Overall activity: 32.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    20
    Points
    176
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    oh thanks for this, I'll try it definitely!
    Is it for Kodi or SPMC? SPMC has an option to choose Android IEC or RAW Passthrough devices. But looking at the configuration it has not to be set to passthrough device, just the normal one I guess

  6. #111
    New Member
    Points: 79, Level: 1
    Level completed: 29%, Points required for next Level: 71
    Overall activity: 57.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    9
    Points
    79
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by s3030150 View Post
    oh thanks for this, I'll try it definitely!
    Is it for Kodi or SPMC? SPMC has an option to choose Android IEC or RAW Passthrough devices. But looking at the configuration it has not to be set to passthrough device, just the normal one I guess
    Settings are for kodi. Im not using spmc, don't know if it has the same options.
    Last edited by halloaap; 04-20-2017 at 06:10 PM.

  7. #112
    Bronze Member
    Points: 176, Level: 2
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 74
    Overall activity: 32.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    20
    Points
    176
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Okay, thanks. Btw give spmc a try, works better because it's optimized for android. Looks exactly the same , i find it running smoother than Kodi and has some android-specific settings which can help to have a better experience

  8. #113
    Bronze Member
    Points: 189, Level: 2
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 61
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    16
    Points
    189
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    49PUS6401.

    All 4 Chromecast screen "ready to cast" writing is cut off from the screen

    Itv Hub screen goes black at every advert until you pause the video and play again.

    Amazon Video keeps crashing and saying it can't play a video right now. Only works again after a Android restart.

    Netflix. After watching 4k content... You get bad v sync issues with the pictures of the content on Netflix. Maybe a memory cache issue?

    Would be nice if I got a response this time TPVision??

  9. #114
    Bronze Member
    Points: 189, Level: 2
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 61
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    16
    Points
    189
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    49PUS6401.

    All 4 Chromecast screen "ready to cast" writing is cut off from the screen

    Itv Hub screen goes black at every advert until you pause the video and play again.

    Amazon Video keeps crashing and saying it can't play a video right now. Only works again after a Android restart.

    Netflix. After watching 4k content... You get bad v sync issues with the pictures of the content on Netflix. Maybe a memory cache issue?

    Would be nice if I got a response this time TPVision??

  10. #115
    Bronze Member
    Points: 207, Level: 2
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 43
    Overall activity: 38.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!100 Experience Points31 days registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    18
    Points
    207
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    SPMC does indeed work, but you need to TRANSCODE the audio to AC3 (losing the bitrate/quality), due to Philips/Mediatek utilizing their own APIs, instead of Google standard APIs of Android.

    Same goes for video playback (!)
    This negates the idea of an ANDROID TV.

    What is more, after the new FW, SPMC drops SPDIF passthrough for one second every 3 to 5 minutes.
    Annoying as hell.

    KODI on the other hand runs like crap on the newest FW (video stutters a lot).
    Still no proper DTS passthrough, still no proper Android apis, still Mediatek not being able to run AC3 over 640 kbps.

    Philips support - when is the update coming? Any ETA for us folk, who paid good money for these TV sets?

  11. #116
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,137, Level: 8
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 13
    Overall activity: 32.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    10
    Points
    1,137
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    don't get me wrong, but we have to be realistic a little and look at these facts:
    - lowest price (by far) on market
    - features that surpass the competition
    - responsive dev team (compared to competition)
    - big evolution from one generation to the next

    If you want a tv set that's 100% perfect then maybe you should look at t price range that's 3-4 times higher. When you look at the big picture and see the cash flow you understand the struggle that's behind these products.

    Besides, nobody asks you to be a Philips client, go with the competition and see the real limitations that they have...
    Remember that it took Apple over 5 years to understand how to make a phone, LG and Samsung are still trying to make their tvs smart... still trying...

    So let's not hate and be happy rather with what Philips did, because they did a very good job.
    I owned the previous 2014 model (PUS7909) which was great, but with so many bugs, sooooooo many problems... now I have the new 2016 PUS6561 and I'm really happy with the progress.

  12. #117
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,137, Level: 8
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 13
    Overall activity: 32.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    10
    Points
    1,137
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    don't get me wrong, but we have to be realistic a little and look at these facts:
    - lowest price (by far) on market
    - features that surpass the competition
    - responsive dev team (compared to competition)
    - big evolution from one generation to the next

    If you want a tv set that's 100% perfect then maybe you should look at t price range that's 3-4 times higher. When you look at the big picture and see the cash flow you understand the struggle that's behind these products.

    Besides, nobody asks you to be a Philips client, go with the competition and see the real limitations that they have...
    Remember that it took Apple over 5 years to understand how to make a phone, LG and Samsung are still trying to make their tvs smart... still trying...

    So let's not hate and be happy rather with what Philips did, because they did a very good job.
    I owned the previous 2014 model (PUS7909) which was great, but with so many bugs, sooooooo many problems... now I have the new 2016 PUS6561 and I'm really happy with the progress.

  13. #118
    New Member
    Points: 34, Level: 1
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 16
    Overall activity: 83.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    7
    Points
    34
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by halloaap View Post
    I have the npo app working fine on 55pus6501 with latest update. Maybe model related problem.

    As workaround you can also cast it from Phone/tablet or use it trough the kodi uitzending gemist (npo) plugin.
    That is strange. I have a 43PUS6401 and there is no NPO app in the Play store. When I access the Play store from my tablet, it says that there is an NPO app, but it is not compatible with the TV device. In fact there seems to be a lot of apps not compatible with the device...

    Cast does not work from the Ipad tablet. The chromecast icon animates but no cast connection is established. A friend's android phone was able to cast, but I do not want to invite him over everytime I want to use the NPO app :-)

    Most annoying thing is everything was working quite well, until I applied this last update. I wish I had not been so stupid to update a working system (never again)

  14. #119
    New Member
    Points: 86, Level: 1
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 64
    Overall activity: 19.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6
    Points
    86
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by andyxpert View Post
    don't get me wrong, but we have to be realistic a little and look at these facts:
    - lowest price (by far) on market
    - features that surpass the competition
    - responsive dev team (compared to competition)
    - big evolution from one generation to the next

    If you want a tv set that's 100% perfect then maybe you should look at t price range that's 3-4 times higher. When you look at the big picture and see the cash flow you understand the struggle that's behind these products.

    Besides, nobody asks you to be a Philips client, go with the competition and see the real limitations that they have...
    Remember that it took Apple over 5 years to understand how to make a phone, LG and Samsung are still trying to make their tvs smart... still trying...

    So let's not hate and be happy rather with what Philips did, because they did a very good job.
    I owned the previous 2014 model (PUS7909) which was great, but with so many bugs, sooooooo many problems... now I have the new 2016 PUS6561 and I'm really happy with the progress.
    The problem here is the previous software version was fine. It had bugs, but nothing critical.

    The latest version is riddled with bugs and ruins the product.

    The most BASIC thing a television should do is displaying television and audio. This software update means that television stutters and is almost unwatchable at times.

    Price is no excuse for a cock-up.

  15. #120
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,137, Level: 8
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 13
    Overall activity: 32.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    10
    Points
    1,137
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Yeah, indeed... I just bought the tv and I updated it directly to this latest FW (which for me apparently is working flawlessly).
    However about the backwards compatibility problem, here are some aspects:
    - this last update (as i see online) brings some nice features such as HDR and better menus
    - also it upgrades from android 5 to 6 (which believe me, in the backend is a HUGE improvement)
    - the main functionality is still there, problems are with apps
    BECAUSE apps aren't aligned to new android standards

    Philips also is not fully aligned with android 6, actually Google made it so that all thirdparties have to re-work and re-adapt and re-code everything almost all the time... but hey, this is the problem with relying on 3rd party software/platforms.

    BUT ... do you want the tv NOT to have android ? Such as the existing "smart" os of philips tv sets that are not android ? Or you want that crazy samsung os ??

    So, as long as Philips relies on Android, we have to understand that for each big leap forward it's normal to have some smaller steps backwards.

    All i can advice is to:
    - factory-reset the tv on each update (to make sure you're running the updated software and not some older libraries)
    - wait before installing any update to see if it does make sense for you

Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Experience thread - QM163E_U_0.1.15.108 for 6401, 6581 and 7601
    By Philips - Mads in forum TV: Software 2016 models
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-23-2017, 11:44 AM
  2. 65PUS7101 boot loop after update QM163E_U_0.6.152.0
    By lothar in forum TV: Software 2016 models
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-28-2017, 08:08 PM
  3. Experience thread - QM163E_U_0.6.152.0 for 65X1 and 71X1
    By Philips - Mads in forum TV: Software 2016 models
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 03-17-2017, 08:49 AM
  4. Technical feedback - QM163E_U_0.6.152.0 for 65X1 and 71X1
    By Philips - Mads in forum TV : Software 2016 models (feedback template)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-07-2017, 02:18 PM
  5. Technical feedback - QM163E_U_0.1.15.108 for 6401, 6581 and 7601
    By Philips - Mads in forum TV : Software 2016 models (feedback template)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-31-2017, 09:09 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •