Results 1 to 6 of 6
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 50, Level: 1
    Level completed: 33%, Points required for next Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    3
    Points
    50
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Angry HELP!!! Philips B120

    Hi

    I have just bought a Phlips B120 Baby Monitor.

    I have already spent too much time trying to make it work.......read FAQs etc.

    Does it work with iPhone 6 or not???? - in the support page it mentions Iphone4 and 5 but somewhere else it mentions all models after....

    I reset the unit several times and moved 15cms to 30cms away from QR code like the youtube clip said to do.

    I thought I was buying a quality product by purchasing Philips.

    Anyone can help since they cannot?

    Mike

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Points: 18,584, Level: 41
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 366
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Katerina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    6,451
    Points
    18,584
    Level
    41
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 86 Times in 84 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hello Mike,

    I would like to start with a warm welcome to the Philips Support Forum. I am really happy to see you joined us here. So let’s jump right into this. I see you have tried oh so many things and I have two questions. What is the iOS of your iPhone 6? Have you tried the camera with a different device? Did it work with it? Just trying to establish some details to get the full picture.

    Looking forward to hearing from you again.
    Many regards,
    Philips - Katerina

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 50, Level: 1
    Level completed: 33%, Points required for next Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    3
    Points
    50
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Katerina,

    The iOS I have on my Iphone6 is version 10. I have tried using the app on my ipad also and even on a different non Apple tablet.

    I also tried to use the product on a different wifi network altogether - nothing is managing to show me the green spot - always blinks orange and doesnt sync.

    I am so dissapointed with Philips at the moment - need the product for my child asap

    Mike

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 50, Level: 1
    Level completed: 33%, Points required for next Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    3
    Points
    50
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Katerina,

    The iOS I have on my Iphone6 is version 10. I have tried using the app on my ipad also and even on a different non Apple tablet.

    I also tried to use the product on a different wifi network altogether - nothing is managing to show me the green spot - always blinks orange and doesnt sync.

    I am so dissapointed with Philips at the moment - need the product for my child asap

    Mike

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Points: 18,584, Level: 41
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 366
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Katerina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    6,451
    Points
    18,584
    Level
    41
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 86 Times in 84 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Mike,

    Please excuse my lateness in replying to you, I was out of the office. Hope you had a lovely Easter holiday. To me it sounds like your camera has some sort of internal fault in it as it never worked as it should and it cannot work with android or apple devices. This means it would be a fantastic idea if you could take it back to the dealer as you only just bought it.

    Many regards,
    Philips - Katerina

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Points: 18,584, Level: 41
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 366
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Katerina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    6,451
    Points
    18,584
    Level
    41
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 86 Times in 84 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hello!

    It has been pretty quiet here for some time and I will close this thread. Feel free to start a new thread or ask one of the moderators to reopen this one in case you have a similar issue.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Ė Katerina

Similar Topics

  1. Philips in-sight B120 end of life ?
    By smallbear in forum Apps: In.Sight Wireless Monitor and In.Sight App
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-16-2016, 09:10 AM
  2. B120 but which?
    By Harrywa in forum Apps: In.Sight Wireless Monitor and In.Sight App
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-14-2016, 08:17 AM
  3. B120 Firmware
    By photodan in forum Apps: In.Sight Wireless Monitor and In.Sight App
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-21-2015, 12:18 PM
  4. M100 & b120
    By hoaccess in forum Apps: In.Sight Wireless Monitor and In.Sight App
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-13-2015, 09:12 AM
  5. B120 / iphone
    By macdaddy in forum Apps: In.Sight Wireless Monitor and In.Sight App
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-24-2014, 10:40 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •