Results 1 to 9 of 9
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 48, Level: 1
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 2
    Overall activity: 44.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    5
    Points
    48
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Resolution not supported problem

    Hi,
    I have a BDP 5500 connected to a Samsung TV which had worked fine for several years. It was not in use for the last 6 months or so. I tried to use it again but now I get resolution is not supported message on my TV. I connect other HDMI devices to the port that I use for my BDP 5500 and they work fine. I connnect my BDP 5500 to other ports on the TV but I get the same message. I can get video output through the yellow coaxial output with terrible resolution. The firmware version is 4.03. I downgraded to 4.02 but it did not solve the problem. What can be the problem here?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Points: 6,943, Level: 24
    Level completed: 79%, Points required for next Level: 107
    Overall activity: 57.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive1 year registered5000 Experience Points
    Philips - Christoffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    2,524
    Points
    6,943
    Level
    24
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 68 Times in 68 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hello fsenyuz,

    Welcome to the Philips Support forum, it’s good to have you here with us. That’s unfortunate to hear, let’s see if there is anything we can do about it. Could you please update the software to 4.03 again, I will not ask how you managed to downgrade the software. Kindly find version 4.03 here + instructions on how to update.
    Also, check if there is an update available for your TV, after you have updated both devices, please try again with a high speed HDMI cable.
    Looking forward to hearing from you.
    Have a nice day.

    Kind regards,
    Philips - Christoffer

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 48, Level: 1
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 2
    Overall activity: 44.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    5
    Points
    48
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Dear Christoffer,

    I upgraded both my bluray player and my TV to the latest firmware and made the connection with a high speed USB cable but I still get the message that the resolution is not supported.
    Any more suggestions?

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 48, Level: 1
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 2
    Overall activity: 44.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    5
    Points
    48
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Dear Christoffer,

    I upgraded both my bluray player and my TV to the latest firmware and made the connection with a high speed USB cable but I still get the message that the resolution is not supported.
    Any more suggestions?

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Points: 6,943, Level: 24
    Level completed: 79%, Points required for next Level: 107
    Overall activity: 57.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive1 year registered5000 Experience Points
    Philips - Christoffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    2,524
    Points
    6,943
    Level
    24
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 68 Times in 68 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hello fsenyuz,

    Thanks for letting me know. Please confirm that it's a high speed HDMI cable and not a USB cable that you are using.

    Kind regards,
    Philips - Christoffer

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 48, Level: 1
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 2
    Overall activity: 44.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    5
    Points
    48
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Dear Christoffer,

    Yes I confirm that it is a high speed HDMI cable. It is connected to HDMI output of BDP and HDMI1/DVI input of TV. I connect other HDMI devices with 1080P output to the same port of TV, they all work. I connect BDP to another TV that accepts 720p, doing the necessary video setup in my BDP, BDP does not work on the TV, either.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Points: 6,943, Level: 24
    Level completed: 79%, Points required for next Level: 107
    Overall activity: 57.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive1 year registered5000 Experience Points
    Philips - Christoffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    2,524
    Points
    6,943
    Level
    24
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 68 Times in 68 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi fsenyuz,

    Thanks for confirming that. It seems like you need to have the BDP looked at by a professional. Please reach out to your local Philips Support center, to hear how to proceed with this. You can find their contact details here, choose your country, scroll down and click on Contact Philips.
    Let me know if you have any other questions. Have a great day.

    Kind regards,
    Philips – Christoffer

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 48, Level: 1
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 2
    Overall activity: 44.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    5
    Points
    48
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    OK, I will do taht. Thanks for your kind support.

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Points: 6,943, Level: 24
    Level completed: 79%, Points required for next Level: 107
    Overall activity: 57.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive1 year registered5000 Experience Points
    Philips - Christoffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    2,524
    Points
    6,943
    Level
    24
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 68 Times in 68 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi fsenyuz,

    Thanks. I wish you the best of luck.
    I'll close this thread, but please feel free to open another one if you have further questions.
    Have a nice day.

    Kind regards,
    Philips - Christoffer

Similar Topics

  1. Experience thread Android Resolution Problem
    By MareleVlad in forum TV: Software 2015 models
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-02-2016, 05:01 PM
  2. Android Resolution Problem
    By MareleVlad in forum TV: Software 2016 models
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-02-2016, 04:57 PM
  3. HTS 5590 and resolution problem
    By datisdesign in forum Sound: Immersive Sound (5.1 system)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-24-2015, 11:36 AM
  4. Video resolution not supported error on my TV when trying to play it from USB key
    By Lzter in forum TV: Software 2013 models and older
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-17-2015, 04:01 PM
  5. Philips Bluray 2700/12 "Video Resolution Not Supported"
    By chillock in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-25-2011, 02:43 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •