Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,721, Level: 14
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 29
    Overall activity: 51.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience PointsVeteran

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    13
    Points
    2,721
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Unhappy BDP5600/55 not connecting to Internet

    Since yesterday I'm getting a "Couldn't connect to the internet. Check that the router is switched on and try again." whenever I try to go to Smart TV mode.

    But it does connect to Internet (Smart TV icon becomes active).
    I've checked and it has it's own IP address, and it says that it is connected to my home network. So the problem is not the connection I think.

    I don't know what can be going on. I have even reset everything and turned off and on many times.

    I have the latest firmware update for my Blu-Ray unit.

    I haven't tried the Ethernet connection as at this moment I don't have a cable for that purpose.

    Any ideas of what to do?
    Many thanks in advance for any help you could give me.
    Regards.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 358, Level: 4
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 92
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!250 Experience Points3 months registered

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    59
    Points
    358
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    1
    Hi Aluna,

    Welcome to the Philips Support Forum. We are glad you have found us here as we do our best to support our customers.
    It must be very frustrating not being able to connect your BDP5600 to your Smart TV anymore.
    The message you get is obviously not a correct behavior of the device so hold on, we will do our best to work around this.
    As a start please let ut know the following details:

    - your BDP5600 serial number. The serialnumber is around 14 digits and shall be stated on the bottom/backside of the unit.

    - check the Firmware version by pressing the little house button. Then select [Setup] >
    [Advanced] > [Version information], and last press OK. What numbers do you get on the screen? Let us know!

    We look forward to your reply to try and twist this issue around. Cant wait!
    During the meantime, we wish you a lovely day!

    Philips - Nicolle

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Philips - Nicole For This Useful Post:

    Aluna (08-07-2017)

  4. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,721, Level: 14
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 29
    Overall activity: 51.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience PointsVeteran

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    13
    Points
    2,721
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Nicolle. Thank you very much for your reply!
    Here is the information requested:

    1. Serial Number is KX1A1331614142
    2. Software Version: 2.31
    Ethernet 00:1C:50:91:2D:F2
    Ethernet Wi-Fi 00:1C:50:AD:FA:93

    Thank you in advance.
    Regards.
    Last edited by Aluna; 08-04-2017 at 04:32 PM.

  5. #4
    New Member
    Points: 14, Level: 1
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    2
    Points
    14
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Nicolle, I am also having the same issue with my 2.1 3D blue ray home theater(HTB7255D/98). Since two days, I'm getting this error "Couldn't connect to the internet. Check that the router is switched on and try again." when I choose smart TV mode. I tried even by connecting to the lan cable. Still the same problem. I tried factory resetting and clear memory. But nothing much helped. I use this mode to connect youtube for my baby.
    Any ideas of what to do?
    Many thanks in advance for any help you could give me.
    Regards.
    Ramu

  6. #5
    New Member
    Points: 14, Level: 1
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    2
    Points
    14
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Nicolle, I am also having the same issue with my 2.1 3D blue ray home theater(HTB7255D/98). Since two days, I'm getting this error "Couldn't connect to the internet. Check that the router is switched on and try again." when I choose smart TV mode. I tried even by connecting to the lan cable. Still the same problem. I tried factory resetting and clear memory. But nothing much helped. I use this mode to connect youtube for my baby.
    Any ideas of what to do?
    Many thanks in advance for any help you could give me.
    Regards.
    Ramu

  7. #6
    New Member
    Points: 12, Level: 1
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    1
    Points
    12
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Unhappy

    Hi Philips,

    Since yesterday I can not connect to the internet through my Blu-ray player Philips BDP5600, the following message appears:

    "Could not connect to Internet. Check that the router is switched on and try again."

    I successfully tested the same connection to other devices and it works fine with other devices.

    To get you started, follow the information about my blu-ray player Philips:
    Model: BDP5600/78
    Software version: 2.31
    Ethernet: 00:1C:50:B16:39
    WiFi: 6C: 5A:B5:A2:95:33

    Thank you in advance.

    Regards.

  8. #7
    New Member
    Points: 12, Level: 1
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    1
    Points
    12
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Nicole View Post
    Hi Aluna,

    Welcome to the Philips Support Forum. We are glad you have found us here as we do our best to support our customers.
    It must be very frustrating not being able to connect your BDP5600 to your Smart TV anymore.
    The message you get is obviously not a correct behavior of the device so hold on, we will do our best to work around this.
    As a start please let ut know the following details:

    - your BDP5600 serial number. The serialnumber is around 14 digits and shall be stated on the bottom/backside of the unit.

    - check the Firmware version by pressing the little house button. Then select [Setup] >
    [Advanced] > [Version information], and last press OK. What numbers do you get on the screen? Let us know!

    We look forward to your reply to try and twist this issue around. Cant wait!
    During the meantime, we wish you a lovely day!

    Philips - Nicolle
    Where is the solution????

  9. #8
    New Member
    Points: 1,844, Level: 11
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 6
    Overall activity: 19.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,844
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Me too!

    About a week ago I started getting the same message as above.
    Is the device trying to connect to some now incorrect web site? (I picked this idea out of another product's forum).
    Is this an IPV4 vs. IPV6 issue?
    Anyway, it's very frustrating not being able to fix this. Interestingly an older player (Samsung) has the same issue when connected to the local network, so maybe this problem isn't in the device itself - hmmm

    I can connect to other devices on my local network, for example watch a movie file from the NAS or other computer - just no Internet connection
    My details are:

    Model: BDP5600/12
    Software Version 2.31
    Serial #: KX1A1312217317

    I have tried resetting factory settings, changing the DNS to 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 and clearing memory. Both Wire and wireless give the same non-connect result.
    As above - the Smart TV icon is colourful and available, but selecting it leads to a "Could not connect to the Internet. Check that the router is switched on and try again." - Obviously the router works as I am typing this message...

    Help!
    Cam

  10. #9
    New Member
    Points: 1,844, Level: 11
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 6
    Overall activity: 19.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,844
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Seems to be working now.
    Hope everyone else is OK too.

    Cam

  11. #10
    New Member
    Points: 1,844, Level: 11
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 6
    Overall activity: 19.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,844
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Seems to be working now.
    Hope everyone else is OK too.

    Cam

  12. #11
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,721, Level: 14
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 29
    Overall activity: 51.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience PointsVeteran

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    13
    Points
    2,721
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Yes. Took a while but since yesterday night, everything is working again.
    I already thanked Nicole for her kind help.
    She is the best!

  13. #12
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,721, Level: 14
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 29
    Overall activity: 51.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience PointsVeteran

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    13
    Points
    2,721
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Yes. Took a while but since yesterday night, everything is working again.
    I already thanked Nicole for her kind help.
    She is the best!

  14. #13
    Moderator
    Points: 358, Level: 4
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 92
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!250 Experience Points3 months registered

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    59
    Points
    358
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    1
    Good day to you Aluna!

    I am so glad to read that we managed to solve the issue with your BDP5600. Lets hope it can continue this way and let you enjoy your movies again If you by any chance have any further queries you are more than welcome to join our new amazing and easy used Forum here:
    I wish you a lovely day!

    Kind regards,

    Philips – Nicolle

  15. #14
    Moderator
    Points: 358, Level: 4
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 92
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!250 Experience Points3 months registered

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    59
    Points
    358
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    1
    Hello Cam!

    Thanks for reaching out to us here at the Philips Support Forum. It really warms to read that you also managed to twist the issue around after all struggle with your BDP5600.
    Troubleshooting helps more than we think at times and you managed to perform everything all by yourself. Greetings for that
    Lets hope it stays this way and if you by any chance have any other queries, do not hesitate to get in touch with us here at our new amazing Forum.

    We wish you all the best!

    Kind regards,

    Philips - Nicolle

  16. #15
    Moderator
    Points: 358, Level: 4
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 92
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!250 Experience Points3 months registered

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    59
    Points
    358
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    1
    Hi Rui!

    First of all we thank you for sharing your issue here on the Philips Support Forum and also want to thank you for the long time waiting. Lets hope your patience wont need to lay for much longer.
    You have given us almost all details but we need a few more from you. Philips has now come out with a new Forum website where we will be glad to proceed this issue further with you.
    Please, let us invite you to our new Forum here where we would like you to reply to us the current state you are facing with your BDP5600 and also including in a private message:

    - which country you are situated in
    - which app does not work
    - an email address and phone number we can reach you on

    Hold on we will work on this issue for you and look forward to your reply

    Kindest regards,

    Philips - Nicolle

Similar Topics

  1. 39pfl3208 not connecting to internet
    By StijnVM in forum TV Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-24-2017, 09:54 PM
  2. Internet connecting for MC-i250/37
    By David Collins 0212 in forum Sound: Mini/Micro Audio System Product Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-21-2016, 10:46 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-27-2016, 01:09 PM
  4. Help connecting to internet
    By r_wolfe in forum Smart TV: Apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-01-2015, 06:44 AM
  5. connecting bdp3300 to pc and internet
    By JANVOS in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-18-2013, 10:14 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •